We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean sounds, relaxing atmosphere, great food”
Review of Pousada Jambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Jambo
Ranked #2 of 11 Itacimirim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ocean sounds, relaxing atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We went to Jambo for a week-long visit with another couple. We had three kids with us, all under the age of 6. The pousada is not completely set up for kids (one of ours broke a ceramic fruit on the way in--kid-height, kid-attractive, and there is no play area for kids) but was friendly enough to them. We arrived on a Saturday, when the place was about half full, and by Sunday we were the only people there until Thursday night when people arrived for the long holiday weekend of October 12.

The rooms we stayed in (5 and 6 on lower floor) were fine, though small for the family with two kids. Bathroom is extremely small. Main complaints on the room: no screens so you cannot leave the windows open to hear the ocean (you can hear it anyway but not as well as you might) and get a breeze, and also the ceiling fan is not over the bed so we were forced to use air conditioning more than we would have if there had been a fan and screens. Rooms were clean and pleasant enough. Maybe if the pousada had been full these rooms next to the pool would be loud, but it was empty when we were there.

Pool is pretty small, if the pousada is full, I would imagine it's tight. But of course you have a huge ocean in front of you, the waves are small (great for kids), the sand lovely and there is enough shell hunting to keep little ones happy. Jambo is right on a public pathway to the ocean, and one day there were quite a few locals doing their own barbecue and party in the sand (the holiday) but it was not a problem at all. Loooong beach. Supposedly you can walk to Praia do Forte when the tide is low but we didn't make it all the way there. There are little beach "barracas" or huts for snacks going both directions...the ones to the "left" or north were closed during the week because there were not many people.

I did not find the owners very friendly or helpful, as I often find owners of small inns or pousadas. I asked the Brazilian wife owner for a recommendation of a capoeira teacher (friends who had been there before contracted one to teach their kids during their vacation) and she responded rudely that such things must be planned in advance but that she would check on it...yet she never got back to me or mentioned it again. She never once said good morning to us even though the two owners ate in the restaurant every day. The German husband owner was slightly friendlier, after a week in the pousada he gave us a free bottle of wine at the last night's dinner.

Food was very good in general, especially a gnocchi and a pasta with shrimp. The options for children are non-existent, and they tried to help by making plain pasta and beef but these frequently came with sauces or onions that the kids won't eat. I really got the feeling that this is a place that would disallow kids if it could.

Aside from all the small details that I mention as annoyances, the pousada is lovely, has great lounge chairs to watch the ocean, the kids LOVED the beach and pool and waves. And the pousada is really right on the ocean. You can hear the waves everywhere and all the time.

10 minutes from Praia do Forte, $40 reais cab ride. We left only once to see the turtles.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Might want to choose an upstairs room or one farther away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    89
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautiful pousada right at the beach. Very quiet place, beautiful beach and the pousada is very well kept, everything is clean, well organized and nicely decorated. We had a top floor room with view to the sea. The pousada has also a nice garden with a pool and comfortable chairs. Breakfast is great, there is a large buffet with different fruits, juices, pastries, bread and so on. The restaurant is alright and the staff generally very friendly. If you look for a quiet and beautiful hideaway this is the perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaniMadleina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our second time at this wonderful Pousada. heaven on earth and by the warm sea. staff so friendly and attentive, food and wine excellent brought to your room if you are too lazy to walk the few pace to the dining room! Iola and Arno attentive hosts with good sense of humour.
Very family and child friendly all in beautifuk gardens within 10 m of the beach and rolling surf.
A two hour beach walk with river crossing at low tide brings you to the bussling life of Praia do Forte and the turtle sanctuary.
We will be back. John and Sarah

Room Tip: ground floor in front garden numbers 11 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetFarmerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed there with my family between Chrystmas and New year and the place is wonderful. Just by the beach, very confortable, nice staffand excellent food. The bear is always cold. If you´re thinking in going to Bahia and you want to stay away from de Salvador corwd and the over priced Praia do Forte, this is the place. Try the restaurant at the hotel, it´s one of the best in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We didn't stay here but rather at a Pousada a little further north along the beach but I felt compelled to write a short not here as the lady who runs the place (Yolanda) was so friendly and showed us around even though we were only eating there for lunch.

The food we ate was great and the pousada is lovely. A spa room/massage/jacuzzi area, a nice small pool and very clean and comfortable looking rooms.

It is out of the way and the beach is practically empty but a great place for a quiet retreat.

Hope that they can get some more reviews here so that they can have more visitors!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purenrg4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itacimirim
0.7 mi away
Pousada da Espera
Pousada da Espera
#4 of 11 in Itacimirim
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Praia das Ondas
Pousada Praia das Ondas
#1 of 11 in Itacimirim
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Mares
Vila Gale Mares
#1 of 6 in Camacari
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
395 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
#1 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
3,814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Jardim Cambui
Pousada Jardim Cambui
#7 of 11 in Itacimirim
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Jambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Jambo

Property: Pousada Jambo
Address: Praia da Espera, Itacimirim, State of Bahia 42823-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacimirim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Itacimirim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Jambo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Jambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing