We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof-Hotel Schmause Muhle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burgen
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is not on the main drag and thus is quiet and relaxing, with plenty of free parking. The rooms were pretty standard and breakfast was fine. We did eat one dinner in the restaurant and it was okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekkers1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions over the years with British groups, & have always found the staff to be very helpful, despite (when I stayed) a lack of English. The location is very pretty with a stream running down the side & good for a walking break.

Yes, the keys were handed out in the car park, but as the hotel is not all on the ground floor the manager would always look to see if any passengers were very elderly or had walking problems, & allocate rooms accordingly.

The food was basic but adequate, but if you wanted a different choice the answer would be to go down the hill into the village or get a taxi (as a special occasion) into Koblenz or Cochem.

I would be happy to stay here on a private break in the Mosel, as well as accompanying groups for work.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in April 2012. The first impression was good. A friendly and enthusiastic lady welcomed us, offered us a drink and immediately asked us if supper at 18.30h was okay. This is where the positive part unfortunately ended. Once we were shown our room, we noted we only got 1 room instead of the 2 we reserved. This problem was luckily solved in a couple of minutes. The next problem was the heating. Every room in the hotel was ice-cold. We had to sit in our rooms with our coats on, waiting for the heating to do its job, which took a very long time.
Once mealtime was there, we went to the restaurant, which was freezing cold too. Bringing us 1 Coke and 2 beers took the lady 40 (!!) minutes. Than we began to understand why they wanted us to eat at 18.30h. Only of us had finished his soup when the main course was already served. The same story was repeated with the ice-cream. In 35 minutes we had eaten. Not really a relaxing meal.. The cook had already left after the main course was server, which left us alone with the waitress for the rest of the meal. The soup was pretty good, the main course was horrible and the dessert was just a slice of cake normally eaten around Christmas.
Except of the noise the heating made, the night went pretty well.
The next morning, another lady (the 3th one already) offered us our packed lunch for the day. The package contained a drink that was already 3 months due. For the rest the lunch was sufficient.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. There must be nicer places around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This hotel represents excellent value for money. If you decide not to take the half-board package there are other facilities availble within walking distance, even for people with walking problems, as most of this is on the flat. All of Europe is quite expensive now, but the Mosel Valley is certainly much cheaper than a lot of France. A pint of Bitberger in the Hotel is around 3 euros 80 cents. There is also a bar on a boat which has a pirate theme within a leisurely 10 minute walk where you can get a stubby for not much more than a Euro. The Schmause Muhle is an excellent base to take a tour of the Rhine and the Mosel, and if you travel with Phoenix, I can heartily reccomend their tours, which take in amongst other places, Koblenz, Cochem and Rudesheim. There will be something for everyone and a good opportunity to sample the outstanding local wines. The only thing I would recommend, is that you pack a couple of Andrex rolls, as the hotel toilet rolls, made from recycled paper, are not designed for pampered British posteriors, and are about as comfortable as the old government issued shiny bog-paper. So be kind to your bums.

Room Tip: Bring a bog roll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5strings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The hotel was clean. the food was basic but nice and plenty of it.The travelling time was pretty horrendous but the stay was good.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Stayed at the Muhle Dec 2010. Read with some concern some of the reviews but no probs as hotel was clean and warm, would not bother with half board option as food was basic, would strongly recommend walking less than 5 mins down the hill by the bus stop to BISTRO INFOTEK where you will receive a warm welcome from Heinz and his wife Karla, with good well priced food and drink which is cheaper than the hotel with lovely music and a warm atmosphere.We travelled with Phoenix travel to visit the German christmas markets and i have to say it was value for money.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank englishman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Set in a great location a collection of different buildings that have appeal. The food was basic but cooked well and there was plenty. The staff were helpful,and some are right to say that they don't understand English but it is the Mosel valley Germany. Carman the manager who did speak a little English was nice. Let's not forget you only get what you pay for and for it's price it's a bargain.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beropol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgen
1.5 mi away
Hotel Moselkern
Hotel Moselkern
#1 of 2 in Moselkern
34 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pension Marienhof
Pension Marienhof
#4 of 4 in Kobern-Gondorf
10 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Schmausemuehle
Hotel Schmausemuehle
#1 of 2 in Gondershausen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mosellandhotel Waldeck
2.6 mi away
Moselstern Parkhotel Krahennest
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Peifer
Hotel-Restaurant Peifer
#1 of 3 in Brodenbach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof-Hotel Schmause Muhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof-Hotel Schmause Muhle

Address: Baybachstr. 50, 56332 Burgen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Burgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burgen
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof-Hotel Schmause Muhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hotel Schmause Muhle
Gasthof Hotel Burgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing