We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, hospitable & delightful”
Casa Lucia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Lucia
Casa Lucia with BBQ terrace in background Stunning sea view from new BBQ terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Casa Lucia
Casa Lucia with BBQ terrace in background
Stunning sea view from new BBQ terrace
Separate BBQ terrace
Comfortable mattresses and quality fittings
Beds made up as singles or doubles with Egyptian cotton bed linen
Sq metre walk in shower with sea view
Porcelain tiles and quality fittings
Light airy kitchen leading to terrace
A glimpse of the garden and beyond
Local wine and fruits on your table
A perfect place to enjoy a good book
Anyone for afternoon tea?
New private BBQ terrace
Relax with a glass of wine whilst cooking that steak
Sunset from Casa Lucia
Yet another sunset
Local grape harvest
Tazacorte beach and fish restaurants, a half hour drive away
A nearby deserted beach
View from the Cumbrecita
The Milky Way, photo taken from the terrace by a visiting amateur astronomer
North American Nebula, taken from the terrace by a visiting amateur astronomer
View from the summit of La Palma
Come and visit us soon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puntagorda, La Palma, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David H
Hastings
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil, hospitable & delightful”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

If you want peace, quiet & tranquility, this is the place for you. Very comfortable & the hosts/owners, Rob & Hazel are brilliant, always available if you need them but leave you to your own devices if that's what you prefer. Dine on avocados & coriander from the garden, sit and admire the legendary La Palma sunsets, sip the local wine & just enjoy the view across the Atlantic.. Thoroughly recommended by us for anyone seeking a quiet holiday for two.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, functional, relaxing and completely delightful”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

When my partner discovered La Palma as the destination for our holiday this year, we new it would be an incredible experience. Little did we know how perfectly Rob & Hazel's beautiful home & relaxed, friendly hospitality at ''Casa Lucia'' would compliment the entire adventure with an exclamation mark!
Casa Lucia nestles confidently aside the beautiful hills of the dramatic island of La Palma. The view from inside and indeed, from the wonderful patio is absolutely one to die for. We were fortunate to have caught almost every sunset during our stay from the tiled terrace outside the kitchen, I can honestly say that there may be few other places on the island with such an amazing view. Casa Lucia is also in a perfect location on the island to access some of the most notable places to visit.
The apartment itself is fully equipped with everything you will need to enjoy your stay. I do love to cook and after we raided the local farmers market on our first Saturday, I spent the week creating delicious meals in the light & airy kitchen which had everything we needed.
I used to part-own and manage 5 large vacation rental properties in the States. I feel that experience gives me an inkling for what one would expect to find in a well presented rental property. Casa Lucia definitely ticked all of the boxes.
It is elegant, simple, functional, equipped, comfortable, pretty, relaxing and its commanding position high above the wonderful town of Puntagorda fills each breath with serenity.
The locals are friendly & helpful though they speak very little English, so please try to at least arm yourself with a few Spanish basics or a phrasebook to ask for assistance if you should need it. There are many local shops such as Spar & even a pharmacy which can fulfill most of your holiday needs and the restaurants & bars are also a true treat of authentic Palmerian dishes.
As for Rob and Hazel, the owners of Casa Lucia, you will be hard pushed to find better or more accomodating hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable, welcome and relaxed, it was like visiting people we already knew. They showed us around then left us to it, but were nearby if we needed them for anything. They generously shared the fruits of their beautiful hand-tended gardens with us, we were treated as their guests rather than customers of a business. They are most warm and friendly.
We have the best memories of our holiday this year, even now we will find ourselves daydreaming that we are somewhere on La Palma enjoying one of our many adventures. We keep a postcard of Casa Lucia in our kitchen where we see it daily, it makes us stop, take a deep breath and smile.
We will be back next year and I'm sure countless times after that too. Would definitely recommend a car and a sense of adventure to enjoy the hairpin bends and dramatic landscape of the beautiful Island. If you have any doubts about where to stay while visiting the incredible island of La Palma - cancel them! Casa Lucia is the place to fully compliment your wonderful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts, the view, the location.
Liked least: That we only booked a week instead of two.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John44760
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a patio!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and it has two outstanding features. The owners, Hazel and Rob, who live adjacent to the property are a delight to deal with. They could not have been more welcoming and attentive to our needs. The second feature is the enormous patio, with loungers, table and umbrella, which has an outstanding location with views over the village and to the west coast. We are walkers and the Puntagorda is very well placed for access to the heights of the island around the edge of the caldera. The property is relatively compact but perfectly adequate. The only things that you might expect which are missing (this was of no consequence to us) are a TV and oven. With free Wifi of course one has complete access to the BBC. We recommend Vega Norte wines - local vineyard and the local microbrewery beer - Rob will tell you about it.. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viaggio20...
North East Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Panoramic ocean and mountain views, peaceful location, perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Lucia is in the most wonderful location, on La Palma's north western coast, about 700m above sea level, with uninterrupted views across the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the lower slopes of the wooded mountains to the east, and spread out on the hillsides the settlement of Puntagorda with its church, small holdings and colour washed houses. The unpolluted skies make for stunning star gazing from the terrace. Standing on the terrace for the first time is truly a 'WOW!!!' moment.
Hazel and Rob Gardner are the most welcoming, and discrete, of hosts. Casa Lucia is attached to their own home and yet is appropriately private. Hazel gave us lots of pre and post booking advice, booking was easy, and everything was exactly as described. Immaculately clean, the rooms have well thought out furnishings and lots of storage space: a wardrobe with hangers (!), plenty of drawers, bathroom cabinet, and Rob stored our cases in the converted 'bodega' under their terrace! We were grateful for the extra blankets, hot water bottles and gas heater on the last few nights in March: the coldest on record! Plenty of kitchen equipment to cook meals, sometimes using the tasty vegetables provided from Rob's 'huerta' (kitchen garden!). On the one day it poured with rain, we were kept indoors: with a wi fi connection and lots of information booklets, books and CD player it was an opportunity to really relax and make plans for our holiday.
But the terrace with loungers, table and chairs is really the place to be: listening to the birds, watching the falcons, breathing the flower and herb scented air, soaking up the sun and the amazing scenery. I was really glad I had brought binoculars!!
it is definitely a semi rural location, yet within 10 to 20 minutes walking distance are well stocked shops, cafes, restaurants and bars frequented by locals and visitors alike: the walk back up the 1 in 5 lane ensures you get the exercise to counteract your indulgence in café cortado condensada (like an espresso with condensed milk!) and sugary cakes.
We did not hire a car, and used the bus (stops near to the shops) to explore further south and north. Distance between places is less important than time as the roads have to negotiate the steep mountain sides and deep ravines, which make for interesting journeys! Local and longer walks nearly all involve slopes, so be prepared for strenuous exertion: the path down to the Puerto Puntagorda doesn't look far on the map but it is a long way down with no level stretches and I don't think I would have made it all the way back if we hadn't hitched a ride for the last few kilometres!
Thank you, Hazel and Rob, for making our stay at Casa Lucia such a wonderful, relaxing, and peaceful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace!!
Liked least: Having to return home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveview
Vernon, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Fine Find!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Palma is a beautiful rugged island with lush foliage, less touristy than most of the other Canary Islands. We chose this rural mountainside cottage, and were delighted by the view, quietness and access to a small village. The hosts, Rob and Hazel, were most kind, generous and informative. The cottage had its own semi-private patio and eating area in a lovely garden, and a newly constructed wood-fired BBQ with sink and dining area, a short walk from the cottage.
The cottage was well equipped, compact, cosy, comfortable and clean, with under-counter fridge and counter-top range. We found the beds very comfortable in the separate bedroom and an adjacent modern large bathroom with good size shower. Plush robes were provided, much appreciated as we arrived during a February cool spell. The portable gas heater was a bonus. Excellent free wi-fi. It was a very good location to access the island. All-in-all, a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well maintained cottage and property with great view and outdoor patio, eating and lounging area. Wonderful hosts.
Liked least: Kitchen/dining/lounge area rather small but well appointed. More aware of this in the cool weather. Otherwise, we would have rated it a 4.5 out of 5.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrieann...
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Lucia was exactly what we wanted as a holiday cottage on our first visit to La Palma. We spent 10 days here and were welcomed by Rob and Hazel, our hosts, whose house in Puntagorda is attached to the cottage. Casa Lucia was well equipped, very clean and comfortable with a private patio and a separate private BBQ area. The village was an hour and a half drive from the airport, has three small well equipped supermarkets, a coffee and cake shop, a farmers market every Saturday and Sunday and plenty of choices of places to eat out. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, relaxed village life and easy access to good walks on the Caldera Taburiente
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our holiday....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linfturn
chichester uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked Casa Lucia on the strength of the excellent reviews it received on Trip Advisor but to be honest, we were disappointed. On the plus side, Hazel was always helpful about answering any queries we had prior to our arrival,Puntagorda is very pleasant - not touristy but with enough, restaurants, supermarkets etc within easy reach. The views from the terrace were very beautiful and if you are into hiking, there seemed to be many paths nearby which are well signposted. La Palma is a lovely island and we would happily return in the future. However, this apartment is not for us. Some of the reasons for this are that for the first few days of our stay Hazel and Rob were in the UK at a wedding which we knew about and didn't really mind. But in retrospect it would have been better if they had been there to give us a bit of personal initial information about what was where etc. Also, although the apartment is of a reasonable size, the sitting area was quite small and a bit cheerless. This may not matter on warm evenings but while we were there it got dark quite early and the temperature dropped. This meant that you had to be inside in the evening unless you went out for dinner. There was a freestanding gas fire which kept the chill off but it was very cold in the bedroom and bathroom. Luckily there were hot water bottles which warmed the sheets up before we jumped into bed! We felt that with a bit of thought the apartment could be made a lot more comfortable. So although Hazel and Rob were very pleasant when we did ask them something, we just didn't feel relaxed and were quite relieved to move on.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. This is one of two reviews we received on the same day. As an owner it is a little perplexing as the reviews are very different.

We have tried to make Casa Lucia an enjoyable place to spend a holiday, regularly updating and improving facilities. (Last year we added a pergola with BBQ).

Therefore we were bemused when you stated that the apartment seating area was “cheerless" and could be improved with a little more thought. To date none of our guests have ever alluded to these comments. All our feedback so far has been very positive, especially from our returning guests. However we appreciate your feedback and will give it some thought.

We are sorry that you found the apartment too cold for you. Had you mentioned the fact that you found the portable heater insufficient, we would have gladly provided you with an additional one.

We are pleased that you found Puntagorda a very pleasant village. We find it a wonderful place to live, but occasionally we do have to leave the island, usually when we have family commitments.

We hope that if you do decide to return to La Palma, you will have a very enjoyable holiday and find accommodation more to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing