We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to stun you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Beach Villas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views to stun you!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Visited for a week for some R&R after a hectic Trinidad Carnival. The villa is lovely...very comfortable...had everything we could have wanted. Our house keeper was Betty Ann....delightful lady!... We did have an uninvited guest on a daily visit....a very large tree lizard....not iguana...not regular looking gecko...and not common garden lizard.... This one is a species all on its own!!! I'm terrified of the smallest ones so when I came face to face with this creature upstairs on my way to my room I was petrified! Four other people at the villa were also unable to go upstairs after glimpsing this reptile (baby dinosaur)... We had daily visits from "Larry" the lizard...yes we named him...but my brave brother in law from Uk was able to talk him into leaving through the window each time we saw him/her. Even my lizard fear didn't spoil this lovely vacation spot... Perfect location...the beach is steps away and visible from our patio. The place is well kept and the beach bar, very quaint...lovely piña coladas and rum punch. There is a pool by the bar, beach side, lovely but we never used it as the beach is always our first choice. The sound of the surf even while we had on air conditioners in our rooms at night worked to lull me off to a deep sleep each night.
It was a lovely change from a regular hotel... Will say that if lazing back in your "own home" while hearing the surf and seeing the sea is your idea of paradise...then this is it! We never rushed...we ate at different restaurants each day/night. The kitchen was ideal for a couple of our home cooked meals, and the BBQ pit was ready to use anytime. Again, very well appointed, just like a home, large very large...

Room Tip: We stayed at villa number 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tummypleaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    18
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed here several times in the last few years. I travel with my 2 young kids and the convenience of being in a villa on the beach can not be beat. Most Tobago villas are not on a beach and require driving to a beach. You can hear the waves from your villa. The setting is lush, lots of birds, the vegetation is beautiful, each villa has enough space around for privacy.

The staff is always very accommodating and friendly. Maid service every morning. The villas are well equipped especially the kitchen, full fridge, stove, blender, microwave. The rooms are comfortable and well kept, air-conditions and fans, all en suite bathrooms. The verandah is spacious.

The pool is on the beach and there is a drinks only beach bar. The beach is long and not overcrowded, you can take the lounge chairs on the beach. There are free kayaks so you can explore the coast, snorkelling on the eastern end is great.

There is security so its safe and the gate is closed at night.

Room Tip: There are 6 villas, Villas 1&2 are closest to the beach, and they go uphill from there, so we as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miranda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The villa was spacious with three bedrooms we were given a fruit basket on our arrival. The three bedrooms are all ensuite. There are fans and the bedrooms are airconditioned.The living areas are large the balcony runs the length of the villa, we were near to 2 cocoa trees, which attracted many birds, we were rewarded by the daily visit of the mot mots, who sometimes got the cheese we offered. The other birds were delightful to watch at the feeders. The kitchen is fully functional, we had our breakfast on the balcony every day. The villa was clean and there is daily service. The villa attendants are all friendly and work hard. The beach is nearby but was a bit rough as it is February, though we did swim. It is a nice walking beach, and not very busy. We could hear the waves from the villa.

Room Tip: The villas are the same, we stayed in one of the lower ones which are nearer to the beach, but the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family rented out all 6 villas for a family reunion. The setting with the lush, well-maintained grounds created the perfect atmosphere for us to relax and reconnect with each other. The villas are so open and spacious that they were perfect for playing cards well into the night and family dinners. And the en-suite bathrooms meant no waiting in line to take a shower. We simply had to walk across a quiet street, and we had the choice of hanging out at the beach or great pool area complete with fruity, refreshing drinks from the bar.

The villa attendants were very friendly, and made sure we were always well stocked with amazing fruits. Any special requests that we made were greeted with a "no problem" attitude.

Scott and Fiona in the front office were amazing. They made it easy to make arrangements from abroad. And once we arrived, everything was organized even better than we imagined. They arranged reasonably priced catered meals for about 35 people on 2 nights, and the food was so delicious that most of the family preferred those meals over the night we ate out. The poolside area was transformed every night with pretty table settings and background music.

All in all, it was a fabulous escape and the perfect location for our first ever family reunion. I will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing escape.

Room Tip: Some of the villas are at the top of a hill, so if you have problems walking, be sure to request a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the villas with 4 other people we had not met but were attending the same wedding. One might think this would make for awkward living conditions, but the bedrooms each had their own private bathroom and were laid out to give some privacy. Given the wedding activities planned, we did not hire our housekeeper Nadine to cook us meals that week. She did make a delicious meal to welcome us the first evening! She did a great job keeping the villa clean for us.
The staff is excellent! Sean was a bartender to the groom and bride's party poolside the evening before the wedding. Many of the wedding guests stayed at the hotel next door and they commented how nice it was at the Beach Villas. We can walk right from the villa to the pool and beach with only having to cross a street, whereas the hotel grounds don't make it look so easy. Sean also made many delicious pina coladas for us and our villa mates while we hung out at the pool one lazy sunny day and it was wonderful! We were there in May which may be outside of the busy season so we felt like we had the pool to ourselves. He also did not make a big deal that a few other wedding guests who were walking on the beach but staying at the big hotel next door came to our pool to hang out. I believe Sean is one of the owners or managers of the villas so we did have to knock on the door of the office to ask for another beverage at the bar but it was no big deal.
The beach gave us an incredible, once in a lifetime experience. It was certainly gorgeous in the day, but at night sea turtles come up to lay eggs. There is a turtle patrol to protect the turtles. We were walking back from a delicious dinner down the street and saw red flashlights. It was the turtle patrol and they pointed out a turtle laying her eggs! Incredible!
I usually stay at hotels or condo resorts on vacation and as my first villa experience, this was so comfortable and wonderful! I would definitely stay here again if I return to Tobago! The experience would also make me lean toward staying in a villa as opposed to a hotel again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the villa closest to the street so we could cross right over to the pool. The street i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goob880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I stayed at one of these beautiful Villas recently, it was fabulous! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the Villa was clean and spacious, the atmosphere was relaxing and the staff was friendly and pleasant. I will surely stay here again and recommend the PB Villas to anyone wanting a laid back, relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marissa_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My family has had a reunion here in 2010, and were so impressed that we came back in 2013. This place is fantastic. It is the true Tobago experience without the unnecessary frills of an overpriced and touristy resort. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the accommodations are perfect, and the beach is a 30 second walk from the pool which is a 30 second walk from the villa. An excellent vacation spot. I could stay here for weeks and be perfectly content!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caryn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#2 of 3 in Black Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Beach Villas

Property: Plantation Beach Villas
Address: Stonehaven Bay Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tobago's Caribbean coast, the 6 luxurious villas are nestled in a grove of tropical trees, on a gently sloping hillside overlooking the palm-fringed Grafton beach. The emphasis is on elegant comfort amidst the serenity of nature. Each villa is fitted with all the modern amenities. The Resort is ideal for a family holiday or intimate wedding, our 'family' of friendly staff and the ambiance and warmth we provide assures a taste of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Beach Villas Hotel Black Rock
Plantation Beach Villas Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing