We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grafton Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel has a very good location for families that want to be able to enjoy a good swimming beach and a pool without the hassle of driving to one or the other. The price to stay at this hotel however does not equate the facities or the service being provided here. There are hotels with the same and some with better facilities than Grafton at a much cheaper price. The service is fair except for the bartender who worked the swim-up bar, she definitely needed some training in customer service. The variety of food was ok, nothing spectacular, but they did not replenish items. The major problem though was that management openly allowed foreigners different pool privileges which was difficult to explain to my children!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinispirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

just spent a fabulous week at this hotel, which we were not expecting after reading some of the terrible reviews. Upon arrival the operations manager Alpha took our cases and personally escorted us to our room, gave us the relevant info regarding dining and left us to settle in. The customer service at this hotel was quite honestly first class, all members of staff greeted us with a warm welcome.
Dining was mainly a la carte for lunch and dinner, myself being a vegetarian, the chefs were totally amazing with some of the dishes they created for me. I tend to struggle with dining when on holiday, but this was probably the best food I have been served on a holiday. My partner was equally impressed with the dining experience as he loves seafood, and always enjoyed the catch of the day! Breakfast was buffet style, scrambled eggs, sausage&bacon, beans, toast, cereal,and lots of fresh fruit.
There are lots of positive things about this hotel, great staff, excellent food and dining service was just first class. The views of the ocean are breathtaking & make for a perfect ambience. We have been to Tobago before and stayed at a very expensive overrated hotel& I can honestly say Grafton Beach Hotel were far superior on many points.
However there are a few negatives such as the rooms need to be refurbished, which will be underway in winter 2013. Also the pool and beach areas are in need of some parasols and some new sun loungers, because it can get very hot in the sun. Apart from these issues this could potentially be a a returning holiday for us.
I also had no problem at all with the wifi which is available in all the public areas of the hotel, as I like to keep up to pace with news from home.
So there you go folks, I have tried to give a basic but honest review of my time spent at this hotel. I had a fabulous but restful stay here and would have no problem returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 320 has fantastic ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missfi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our stay at Grafton was unpleasant and unfortunately negatively affected our memories of Tobago. That's the power of hotels, they can make or break your travel experience.

When we arrive in Tobago, our rooms weren't ready and we had to wait in the outdoor lobby for hours. You would think that management would offer us free cocktails or even a glass of water while we waited in the sun for our room. When our room was finally ready, we had to lug our heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs as there were no elevators of bellhops to assist.

The rooms were sub par, dingy and outdated. I was repulsed at the fact I had to spend three nights here. The tub had permanent stains (no shower mat was provided), iron board was ripped and the balcony door could not close properly thus letting in ants and mosquitoes.

As soon as we put our stuff down, we went downstairs to have the front office call us a cab (as they instructed in the welcome letter provided). The staff was absolutely horrible. They didn't have a list of taxi companies we could use and the office phone could not dial out certain numbers. We had walk around the lobby until we got internet access (shotty wifi) to purchase skype credits for we could make phone calls.

The only positive reviews I have for this hotel is that the views of the water were beautiful and it was right next door to the Seahorse Inn Restaurant & Bar where we had an excellent candle light dinner the last night.

Other than that, I would strongly recommend avoiding at all costs. The rooms are disgusting, staff sub-par and the actual location of the hotel is far from main attractions - so if you don't have a rental this can be very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Avoid Grafton. If you want to stay in this area, try Le Grand Courlan or the Seahorse Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yve003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Breakfast was Buffet so you choose how much you eat and what you eat. Kids Pool and Adult pools. Squash Courts and Beach Areas. Restaurant on beach forefront. Mini mart and fast food outlets were within walking distance as well as other villas. Came for Republic Holiday in September 2012 last year. Got Taxi Service to go back to the port on time...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tra25vel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I must say, before going to this resort I read several reviews and was very doubtful but seeing is believing.I was totally impressed by the ambience ,service ,accomodation and hospitality of this resort.Samantha the hostess at the restaurant was very friendly and helpful.Everywhere you can see the true wonder and magnificence of nature.I am truly Grateful for such an experience gained for myself and my family at Grafton and in Tobago as well.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the children's pool as well as Stonehaven bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cutiemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Firstly the flight was late we arrived 10pm and the transportation was horrible it took us half and hour to get a taxi and they charged us $100 to go to the hotel,apparently it costed that much because of how late it was and how far the hotel was but the driver was very helpful.When we arrived the clerk told us there was only one room available so we took it for $939 or something plus late fees which cost $200 so the price was fine.The clerk was very kind and helpful i can't remember her name though,anyway the room was way too far and it only had wifi in the lobby area also because we got the last room it was the poorly kept room.The television didn't work so you couldn't see anything and the phone had no cord.There was also no entertainment it just had the pool the beach and thats it,the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very polite and pleasant we were treated very well my only complain was the room and the lack of activities.But i wouldn't urge anyone from not going there, if you want a relaxing time and friendly staff at a good price you should definitely visit. But if you want more excitement visit the hotel next door Le Grand Courlan

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaliesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When checking in we had to wait 35mins before being shown to our room. . This was much too long, especially considering that we had a cranky baby under 1 year old with us. All guests checking in were told that they had to check with housekeeping to make sure the rooms were available. Huh? Isn't that the reason that check out is at noon and check in is at 3pm- to ensure that all rooms would be clean and ready? This check should be done before a guest arrives.

We were offered fruit punch while we waited- not sure if this is usually done or it was because of the long wait The room we had was small but clean- with a nice view of a pool. We had not requested a crib for the baby as we brought our own- however a couple hours after check in housekeeping brought one for us which we of course turned away. If we had needed it- well we would have had to wait for it.

The beach is within walking distance at the base of the hotel. The pools were nice and the grounds well maintained. Housekeeping was very good as well.

For the price it was ok but cannot see myself going back any time soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
253 reviews
3.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing