We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Holiday, Great Value, Fabulous Location,Good Food and god service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Washington Engaland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday, Great Value, Fabulous Location,Good Food and god service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Grafton Beach Resort at Black Rock, Tobago. As with a number of recent reviewers we booked this all inclusive holiday through Tropical Sky vis Travelzoo. I did read mixed reviews before travelling, some negative, but this didn't put me off deciding at the last minute to book the second week and I am so glad we did.
The location is stunning , the hotel is situated, next door to its sister hotel on a hillside over looking the beautiful Stonehaven Bay. The hotel steps through the garden lead directly down to the Beach Bar and Beach. The rooms are well equipped, with free safe and fridge, ice bucket, flat screen TV and ours even had an iron and ironing board ( not that I used them). From the balcony and bed you could see right across the bay, not only the beach and sea but lovely to watch the sunsets and fishermen pulling in the nets. Although a little bit tired in furniture and decor, the room was immaculately cleaned each day by friendly staff, they brought everything you asked for quickly and there was no extra or hidden charges.

Most of the staff at Grafton are wonderful; friendly with excellent customer service and always willing to help. In particular Damien, Nyomi all usually in the main bars, restaurant or swim up pool bar. Sheryl in the restaurant/Kitchen was very good, insisting that we were served an al a carte meal and drinks when we arrived back from a walk over an hour after the restaurant closed, ( mind its also her good customer care that means I am now on a diet and back at the gym). I also would like to mention the man in the bar, who patiently stayed awake each night to serve drinks and cocktails to the 4 of us when everyone else had gone to bed or out turtle watching. ( sorry I don't know his name but he makes the best cocktails in Tobago).

No problem with the food, yes the staple buffet always included two meat dihes, a meat and in the first week vegetarian as well as vegetables, rice, salad and pasta. There was always homemade soups, salads and sides as well as home made desserts and ice cream. Despite low guest numbers in the second week there was plenty of choice, and we also had al a carte menus and BBQs.

The Beach is wonderful, especially a late night walk down to see the turtles, we were looking to see them on at least three occasions and once watched the whole process of the turtles coming up the beach, digging a hole, laying her eggs and finally returning.

I had read there was no WiFi, but not only was it always working in the reception and pool I got a clear free uninterrupted signal in my room throughout the stay.

Regarding trips we shared a friends jeep hire from Sheppys in week one and hired a car the next week with the help of the Hotel reception. Both these cost around £35.00/£38.00 per day and petrol is presently 25p a litre. Well worth going around the island, in particular English Mans Bay, Bloody Bay, Charlotteville and the Rain Forrest/Waterfall. We were lucky to have some special events taking place during our stay including the Dragon Boat Racing Event from Pigeon Point, The Rainbow Warriors Triathlon, The Charlotteville Fishermen's Festival. We also visited Sunday School for a lively night of local Music and dancing.
I really enjoyed this holiday with its lovely blend of relaxation,fun , friendly people and good staff. Tropical Sky are a really good travel company and so helpful, from booking the initial rooms to dealing quickly with my very late request for a second week and my daft questions before travelling. I would definately recommend this holiday.
One last word, if you like dogs and intend to book the Grafton, please look after my little canine friend Rosie. I think she originally had a home nearby, but has chosen to be a beach dog, spending much of her time sneaking into the hotel with her many friends, she joined in the sunbathing, barbeques, entertainment and loves jumping the waves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Curlycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    149
    90
    45
    76
See reviews for
103
111
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is located right on the water. Beach is fairly clean and the water is wonderful. Food in the hotel resturant was actually much better then many of the local resturants, it is just a little more pricey. You can purchase an all inclusive plan if you desire to stay close to the hotel, as we wanted to expole as much of this beutiful Island as possible, we chose the breakfast only plan. Hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful and managed to solve all of our minor problems as quickly as possible. The hotel itself is pretty old and could use a little spruceing up and a little maintance but it suitted our needs perfectly. Phone service is limited and internet is available only in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: units on the beach side are a little older but closed o the water and the beach resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a wonderful week away at the Grafton Beach. While I would not criticise those who rated the hotel less well our experience was excellent. The hotel isn't the newest on the island but from our perspective it was well kept and maintained with rooms cleaned every day by 2 friendly cheerful girls, reception staff were also friendly and helpful. We also couldn't fault any of the people looking after the restaurant and bar, with Nyomi the most noticeable - her cheerfulness, huge permanent smile and willingness to want to help stood out.

While I understand the points some made about the food, although there were daily "staples" such as a rice dish, mixed vegetables, meat & fish we found them with sufficient variation in the way they were presented with different sauces, accompaniments, etc. We also had the occasional a la carte menu & a BBQ in the beach bar.

The pool and beach were both very good. The sunken pool bar was where Nyomi usually served and the Buccaneer Bar on the beach meant you could a drink wherever you swam. The beach was also one where turtles came to lay eggs and their young hatched although the bigger beach a mile or so along at Black Rock was where a number of guides took guests, usually late at night to see the turtles.

I enquired before we left and understood that there was no wifi in the hotel but when we arrived we found that there was a very welcome free unsecured signal in the reception/lobby/bar area which stretched to some of the rooms. It was very handy for emails, facebook, skype and banking!

We booked through Tropical Sky and although their rep tried to reserve some trips for us she could not make the arrangements at the price she originally offered because it was low season and the numbers weren't enough to make the trips viable. However we managed to get these organised with Ellis Tours, who was able to be much more accommodating. Ellis was usually in the hotel in the morning.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would happily go back again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 218 which was just about in range of the wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel after first visiting last September. I won't repeat from my last review on this hotel except to update my previous review.

This time round, management are clearly visible throughout the day & evening, and keen to ensure you are having a good stay. Any requests or problems are dealt with swiftly.

Poolside, guests have plenty of new, more comfortable loungers together with parasols which were not available when last I visited, these are vital in such a hot blistering climate! So we'll done for these simple improvements.

Still on the negative, yes rooms are a bit tired, but hey, for what we paid & the fact this is a 3 star hotel, didn't affect our fab holiday one bit!

Also some of the younger members of bar staff at the beach bar appear to be devoid of what would resemble a smile or indeed any acknowledgement that you are indeed a guest at this hotel. We did not let this spoil our holiday, and always greeted them with a smile and an example of what good manners should be!!

Finally, would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Tobago. Excellent value for money & lots of improvements since last September. Go enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missfi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks Travelzoo (tropical sun) all inclusive holiday with my husband. Firstly to endorse previous reviews this is a great deal and the upgrade to premium economy on a half empty Monarch airline flight well worth it too.
The hotel is set on a fabulous beach and the chance to see turtles (both adult and babies at this time of year) make it a great experience.
The hotel staff are largely very helpful and keen to please and whilst perhaps the choice of food is more limited than at some all inclusives its very well cooked and the focus is on local specialities which is much better than just bland international cuisine. There is a good choice of drinks at the bar included in the all inclusive and the beach bar (which is included in the all inclusive package) is a good place to chill with fantastic views. Enjoyed the general manager's reception with bar-b-que and entertainment which was held at the beach bar.
Although bedrooms could benefit from some redecoration the important items like cleanliness, clean sheets and towels and good air conditioning are all up to scratch.
Tobago is a wonderful island and worth a bit of exploring. Can recommend Ellis's tours.
We would certainly return to Tobago and this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea views a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Partner and I spent 2 weeks here in June. Monarch flight with upgrade to Premier was superb. Food better than BA on long-haul!

We stayed at this hotel 20 years ago. Much changed and enlarged. Very quiet time and few guests - it was more like a house party. No complaints although loungers and parasols on beach would be nice. Hotel provides tea and coffee making in room as well as pool towels but doesn't advertise this. No charge for room safe.

Staff generally very good - one or two smiles from some of the beach bar staff would not go amiss. Reception staff very helpful and made several tel. calls for me as unable to make from room. This was a Tropical Sky offer via Travelzoo and excellent value for money. Included a room upgrade to Oceanview, bottle of rum and fruit bowl. 30kg luggage and free transfer.

Room Tip: Would recommend an Oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladieswhotravel102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Grafton Beach Resort for 10 days. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros
• Right next to a secluded beach and a nice swimming area
• A pool that overlooks the ocean
• Very good drinks
• Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The customer service is very good.

Cons
• Hotel isn't in great shape at all. Clogged drains, old showers/toilets/sinks, and a somewhat dilapidated building in parts.
• Food was decent, but I definitely expected more variety.
• Lunch options at the Bucaneer Cafe on the beach are VERY limited. You'd think there would be more Caribbean food and less traditional fare. Burgers and paninis aren't exactly authentic island food!

All in all, it was an average experience. Between 3 and 3.5 stars. I wouldn't stay there again, but only because it is a bit too far away from the more active areas for scuba diving, jet skiing, snorkeling, etc. That's not a bad reflection on the hotel or the services, but just a fact that I didn't realize before I booked my stay. However, if you just want a resort that's quiet with a nice beach and isn't close to the more active areas, and offers excellent customer service, this isn't a bad choice at a all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikitaProkhorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Property: Grafton Beach Resort
Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing