We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 day stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Le Grand Courlan is a spa hotel located on Grafton beach in the vicinity of Black Rock in Tobago. The rooms are outdated and in dire need of an upgrade. However they are clean, which is genuinely my number one concern. It took us ages to get service at the front desk but we weren't too bothered by that, as we had just bought lunch and were munching as we waited. When we got to the room, our keys would not work, but that was resolved fairly quickly. The bed was comfortable and spacious. Lots of room to roll around! The room was also a good size. We had a pool view room, which was fine.

The hotel is generally deserted so there was no crowd really by the pool or beach. The pool area is ok, average size, but nice to swim in, good depth. Grafton beach can be kind of rough, but when it isn't it is one of my favourite beaches in Tobago. The beach is really wide, with a lot of sand to sit and relax in.

One night, we went to the front desk and got the board game scrabble to play, and also went downstairs to the recreational area, and spent our time playing pool. It was incredibly quiet, except for very soft music coming from some on the wall speakers, but it was midnight, and really nice to have the place to ourselves.

Overall room: 5/10
Beach: 7/10
Pool: 6/10
Facilities: 5/10

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    129
    59
    56
    49
See reviews for
46
168
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel has a sister hotel next door, The Grafton, where you can choose to eat if you wish. Similarly, those staying at the Grafton can use the gym and spa at the Courlan. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, private balcony, steps leading down to a public beach which is quite stunning. Gym is complimentary, Spa is pricey. Breakfast buffet has a wide choice, lunch and dinner was quite challenging as I'm vegetarian and did not enjoy finding a piece of fish in my vegetables or ham on my pizza. If you're not vegetarian, great hotel choice. Nice pool and bar, free wifi in public areas, grocery store a 10 minute walk away. Easy to arrange tours to other parts of Tobago, heritage sites, glass bottom boat trips. Overall, lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went to this hotel back in july 2009 for our honeymoon. Had high expectations, none of them was fulfilled. Lots of renovation and construction activity going on during our stay. Pointless to say this was affecting our vacation in a negative way.

Rooms were dirty, spa treatments totally ridiculous, food poor in quality and scarce, drinks boring, no evening entertaining on site etc. The list is never ending.

I would never recommend anyone to visit this hotel. Recent reviews suggest the hotel still faces many of the same problems we experienced. Filed a complaint with the travel agency and got a refund of approx 10% as a compensation. Such an amount is nowhere near enough to compensate a ruined honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EirikSolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Black Rock hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Absolutely amazing service!
This hotel took us in on short notice the day before we were supposed to leave for our trip after another hotel double-booked the first night of our stay. We got there after a miserable trip on the ferry from Trinidad (whatever you do, don't take the ferry!), and the staff was very warm & welcoming.
The room itself was pretty basic, though clean and nice enough. More importantly, it had a balcony and view of the sea, and was a 2 minute walk to the beach!
The pool was nice and had a swim up bar with a friendly wait staff.
That said, the only down side was the food in the restaurant was horrible. The desert was one of the worst I've ever eaten (strawberry cheesecake was undercooked cheesecake with strawberry jam), and the vegetarian pasta was literally the worst dish I have eaten (macaroni with frozen veg & ketchup. Not joking).

Go, but don't eat the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43323Globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

It's a decent hotel, but not worthy the four stars that our travelling agent described it as. We got our trip cheap as a last minute trip, so our expectations were not very high, especially not after reading the reviews, which I think was good for us. Other people were more disappointed and had obviously expected much more.

The pool is nice and the bar ok, when the bartender feels like being there (the service is very Tobagonian, you never know what to expect). It took a week to fix our broken safe and waiting time for food, which is decent but not much more, was sometimes over an hour.

Rooms are ok, the view to the ocean was nice to wake up to. The spa is a standard spa, but wouldn't call it luxurious. The gym is dirty, but has the standard training equipment.

All in all, a hotel with possibilities but it has a long way to go. If you want to go for a trip somewhere around the island, Ellis tours is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samuelericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Dont book this hotel or you will regret it deeply. Nothing works, Mould in the rooms, broken lamps and leaking water. The curtains dirty and falling down so you can not close them proparly. After telling the reception this every day for the first week I gave up. Noone fixes anything. Most of the staff (with a few exeptions) have no training and are not at all interested in working, Service and competance compleatly absent. Rooms dirty and broken, mini bar not working and empty, restaurants and bars closed, water bottles not includes in allinclusive, meny of the only restaurang open very limited and the quallity of cooking sometimes so poor that you can not eat the food. Sometimes there was a buffet instead, but it was over cooked and keept over heated. The breakfast very limited also for a so called 4 star hotel. No egg station, no plain youghurt, sometimes fruit sometimes not, sometiomes food and breakfast food was finished after 08,30. The managment neither listen to all the complaints from guests they got during the years and neither to the few good and proffesional staf that they kept.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatinaMorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Where do I even begin? We arrived around 11pm and were checked-in and shown to our room. As we explored the room, we noticed the adjoining door to the neighboring room was unlocked and we were able to access the room. Although it was unoccupied, this was a HUGE SAFETY CONCERN!
The following morning we went for breakfast and were very disappointed in the service and selection of food. No egg station or omelet bar, and the bread was on its last few ends. We ended up eating mostly toast and potatoes. When we asked for ketchup, we were told the hotel had none. Later that afternoon, I went to the pool bar (where the bartender was hardly there) and ordered a drink off their menu. I was told they did not have the ingredients to make it, and was sent to the upstairs restaurant bar. From there, I was again sent to the beach bar. Finally, I got my drink! That evening, the A/C stopped working, and we requested for someone to come and fix it while we were out for dinner. Upon our return around 12am, of course no one had fixed it. You can't call the front desk, as no one answers the phone, so we walked to the front desk and found no one there. There was a sign that directed us to use the phone to call an extension, and we did. After about 10 minutes of no one showing up, and another guest coming to the front desk to make a complaint about another issue, we called again. It took about 20 minutes for the night manager to come and although he apologized, it certainly wasn't enough. He came to the room, took a look, called the maintenance guy, and then decided to put us in the adjoining room for the night. The A/C was fixed the following day.

Other Cons:
-wifi is limited to the lobby and was down for about a day
-service in every part of this hotel is horrible, from the restaurant to the pool bar to the front desk
-room was dusty and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned or wiped down
-no remote for the old TV
-no water sports available
-from other guests, we were told that 2 of 3 restaurants were closed due to construction, although after the breakfast fiasco, we never ate there again

Pros:
-nice complex and pool area
-close to the beach and it was nice that the beach wasn't too busy, except for the people using it who were staying in the area
-lovely restaurant off the resort called Sea Horse with exceptional service and great food (although it is a little pricy and reservations are required)

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for the price that was paid. It was a trip that you had to try to make the best of and the customer service was some of the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort

Property: Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Address: Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Courlan Hotel Black Rock
Le Grand Courlan Resort And Spa
Hotel Le Grand Courlan
Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing