We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Tobago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Stonehaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villas at Stonehaven
Ranked #2 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adirondacks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise in Tobago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the villas at Stonehaven and no one wanted to go home. We were on a windsurfing trip at Pigeon Point and fell in love with Tobago and the Villas. The villas are incredible, the outdoor living room, dining room and private infinity pool were all beautiful. The furnishings, well equipped kitchen, laundry, large bathrooms, linens, etc. were all fantastic. We had a rental car and shopped so we ate in all nights except for our arrival night when we ate at the restaurant. Our housekeeper was lovely, great advice about the island, she gave us shopping lists, and then prepared great local dishes for us. The villas are large, ours was actually four bedroom and four and 1/2 bath. The staff at the hotel is great. We were well cared for in this luxury home and its spoiled us for any other location. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peru-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    26
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
53
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

this is by far one of the most amazing locations, non touristy and the villa exceeded all expectations! As a luxury travel agent I have been to many spots around the world but a villa that is a house with its own infinity pool, sleeps 8+ with indoor and outdoor living rooms, several balconies and a full kitchen!!! We opted to cook our own meals, however for $20 a meal if you get the groceries they will cook for you! The staff arranged for a one day car rental within n hour and Tamika could not have been a better contact for everything. The only issue we had was with their internet being down but that's what data plans are for. Loved the place and cant wait to go back with more friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maray28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

First thing that strikes you, after the climb up the hill, are the views, framed nicely by the front door in our case. The great views mean you can see the weather rolling in either from the sea or from across the forest. Then comes the space in each villa, which would certainly take more than six people in comfort. The only slight downsides are that certain aspects are a little tired, e.g. the bathrooms and the kitchen. Couple of very nice restaurants within walking distance, along with two supermarkets and fresh fish at a fish market slightly further away. We didn't hire a car whilst staying at the villas but everything would be a lot easier if you hired one, as the walk to most of the villas can be taxing in the heat etc. As others have mentioned Ram is the main taxi driver on site, very good and not too expensive. Food at the restaurant on site was good and reasonably priced, although the atmosphere was a bit odd as so few people ate there when we were there. Space around the main pool only allowed for a few loungers, so do not expect to meet many others round the pool as you might at a hotel, most people either went out or stayed in their villas while we were there.. One final point is that the maid is in the villa for about five hours each day, so you will have plenty of time to get to know them - don't be afraid to ask as information is not always volunteered. All in all a very good trip.

Room Tip: Most villas appear to have sea views but some have better views than others, with those further up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

(06/2012)My now wife and I wanted the perfect beach wedding and wanted to do it in a unique place with the comforts of home . We arrived at the airport and were greeted by a driver who drove us to the Villa at Stone Haven. We were then greeted by the manager and Drinks!! (Very much needed after a long flight from the states). We were shown the hotel bar and lounge area and then escorted by the manager to the house. I'm honestly a very loud and outgoing person with something to say about everything, BUT when he opened the front door for us and then the back terrace doors I was speechless! The office and staff had even packed our refrigerator with food and drink as well as meat and fruit for breakfast. I can’t tell you how much that helped as I hadn't thought about not having food. My now wife and I decided not to get the wedding package offered at the villa because we wanted to me married on the beach but we did get the honeymoon package (more on that later). Our Villa was “Stonehave Villa 7”, and I made a video on YouTube if you want to see it, just search the quoted name above. The villa was amazing and very spacious with lots of amenities and the views…. Ahhh I miss the views!!! We meet our house keeper “Vernet” who was charming and so very friendly. We asked her tons of questions about the area and how to drive around and things we should see. She was very helpful and even though I was uncomfortable with the idea of a “housekeeper” because I’ve never had anyone pickup or clean up after me she made us very comfortable. She even introduced me to a red fruit that was growing in a tree near the pool (I wish I could tell you what it was called but it was great and easy to pick). The staff was friendly and the location was patrolled by a night watchman who walked the grounds every night. I felt very safe and secure at the villa and never once had an issue or any question that the house was secure. We did use the built in safe for extra money and our papers but besides a locked door we always felt comfortable and safe. We took advantage of the restaurant on site and had the meals sent to our villa and I’m glad we did. The food was great and well worth the convenience after a long day of beach and tours we didn't want to cook. When our 10 day trip was over we didn’t want to go and it was truly sad to say good bye to Vernet and all the friendly staff. We did get one more treat when we were leaving and found out we had forgotten about the Honeymoon package and hadn’t done any of the activities. The Office manager happily refunded us the money for the activities we didn’t do. My wife and I had been so embraced and were having such a wonderful time on the island that we both had forgotten about the hotel activities we had purchased. So the villa was amazing, the people were amazing and we got money back when we left!! I will be going back as soon as I possibly can and I hope this helps you make a decision to visit this wonderful island.

Room Tip: Villa #7 Views are amazing and even though the villas are close you feel secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMarketing, Director of Sales at The Villas at Stonehaven, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the fantastic review about your special time with us last year. We are delighted that you and your wife had a most memorable wedding and honeymoon with us and we hope that you will return at some point and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks very much for the youtube video, nothing compares to the real thing but we love it when our guests video our villas to bring them to life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived a little later than expected owing to a problem at Gatwick. We were taken straight to our villa and told we could check-in the next day. The villa was booked on a self-catering basis although the housekeeper would cook for us if required. We hoped to stop at the supermarket on the way from the airport but because we were late and tired we decided to wait until the following morning. Reception arranged for a taxi to take us to a supermarket which would stock brands/items that we would be familiar with and they were not wrong and prices were competitive. The taxi driver waited for us, took us back to the villa to unpack and then dropped us at a local bar where we had a nice brunch on the sea front. The taxi driver even came back to collect us a couple of hours later. The villa itself was perfect, air-conditioning in the bedrooms, very comfortable beds and fans to keep you cool elsewhere.There was a lovely terraced area where we spent most of our time, with swimming pool all with beautiful sea-views. The housekeeper came every day and was very thorough. One evening we used the barbecue and came home the next day to find it had been cleaned. The villa itself was very well stocked especially the kitchen equipment. If anything didn't work properly if was fixed immediately. We only ate once in the restaurant and although service a bit slow the food was good and not over priced. Happy hour at 5.30 was a great way to start off the evening, with cocktails on the bar terrace watching the sunset.
Niggles? just a couple we were led to believe that there would be a basket of fruit plus flowers in the villa upon arrival - there wasn't and we booked a four bedroom villa as we were told that there were some on site, having booked 10 months in advance we thought this would not be a problem. However, when the 4th bedroom door was opened it turned out to be a store room and the manager said there were no 4 bedroom villas at all . This meant our 12 year old daughter had to share a room with her aunt - not ideal. Also hair-dryers not ideal for long hair. Bring your own toiletries, robes and slippers as surprisingly these are not supplied.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMarketing, Director of Sales at The Villas at Stonehaven, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time write you review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope to welcome you back some day. We do have a limited number of villas that have a fourth bedroom, the bedroom is a single room with en-suite and we apologise if there was some misunderstanding concerning this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well what can I say that I did not say last year?
We very rarely go to the same holiday destination two years running, but we made an exception in the case of Tobago.
This year we were, after a week at the Grand Magdelena, see separate review, in a different villa , looked after by the incomparable Merle, although Lystra our friend from last year made a point of coming to visit us and say hello.
Every evening Marcel, the Head of Security makes a point of visiting each villa to check that everything is OK and having a quick chat with guests.
The ladies in the Pavilion Restaurent, and I hope they will forgive me for not taking down their names, but they will have to blame that on the excellent cocktails they produce, were friendly, helpful and remembered which drink you preferred without being prompted.
This time round it really did feel like coming home………..
Last year we did not hire a car but relied on taxis and did a round the island trip with Hans Philips, again someone we can recommend but this year we took the plunge and hired a jeep.
Stonehaven arranged this for us and the car was delivered and picked up from the villa so there was no effort on our part, the rates were favourable, the jeep ok and petrol very cheap.
I noticed in another review the comment that it only took an hour to get round the island, I did not know Lewis Hamilton was on holiday at the same time as us.
The island is very small, but the roads are narrow and twisty once you get away from Crown Point, in compensation the views are incredible and you can drive through the oldest nationalised rain forest in the world, how cool is that? However do be aware that road signs are rare and the road shown on the map does not always go where you think it is going to………but then that is all part of the fun.
When we left, which sadly came all too soon, it was hugs all round from our friends at Stonehaven and a return trip to the airport with Ram our faithful taxi driver.
The only thing left to do is contact our friend Jill at Golden Holidays to see if she can work her magic again next year…….. does that answer your question as to whether we would go back again?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMarketing, Director of Sales at The Villas at Stonehaven, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about us, we really do appreciate it. We are pleased that we have now established ourselves as a home away from home for you and certainly enjoyed welcoming you into our close knit Stonehaven family! We work closely with Golden Holidays in the UK and will assist Jill with any requirements you have for your next stay and trip to Tobago, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had my wedding and reception and rehearsal dinner at Stonehaven Villas. Denise Broomes and her team of well coordinated professionals delivered on every instance. They go above and beyond to ensure you're well looked after and with a finished product that always exceed expectations! It all seems as though the entire process was at a snap of a finger and did help me calm whatever nerves I had. The execution of the wedding went smoothly and the food was exceptional! The villas are excellent and do provide a wonderful sense of serenity and surrender. It's design and layout is classy and exudes maximum coolness and relaxation. Truly a very special place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMarketing, Director of Sales at The Villas at Stonehaven, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your time with us. Hosting weddings is something we really do cherish and we are so pleased that your special day with us was a truly memorable one and our staff delivered to your expectations. We hope to welcome you back for a future anniversary some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Stonehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Stonehaven

Property: The Villas at Stonehaven
Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Stonehaven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views on the west coast of Tobago, The Villas at Stonehaven is one of the finest luxury resorts in the Caribbean. The resort is an exquisite collection of elegantly appointed three and four bedroom Villas set in ten acres of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Villa amenities include spacious indoor and outdoor living & dining areas; private infinity pool and spectacular ocean views. Your own daily personal housekeeper attends to your needs and will cook delicious meals on request. Villas are immaculately furnished and feature large air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suites, full kitchens, barbeque areas and ample dining and living space. The accommodation makes for the ideal choice for couples seeking a romantic retreat; families requiring a holiday home, or groups of friends wanting their own space and independence.By day, indulge in an in-room spa service, visit the nearby beach or explore the delights of Tobago. Evenings begin with a sun-downer complete with spectacular sunsets, to be enjoyed on your private terrace or mingling with other guests poolside at the Clubhouse bar and pool.The Pavilion Restaurant, open for lunch and dinner serves delicious Caribbean and Continental Cuisine and also offers room service.The unique setting of this luxurious boutique resort also provides an unforgettable venue for weddings, small conferences and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your The Villas at Stonehaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Stonehaven Hotel Black Rock
The Villas At Stonehaven Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing