We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodations Ever and Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Villas at Stonehaven
Ranked #2 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Accommodations Ever and Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 10 July 2005

Absolutely stunning villas and easily the best holiday accommodations I have ever stayed in. After Stonehaven I will never go back to any of the big resorts as I have learned a whole new way to vacation.

We went in the off-season, so the price for 6 adults and 2 children in one of these villas was only US$600/night. For that price you get a cramped standard room in a five-star hotel in Waikiki (Hawaii), but in Tobago at Stonehaven this meant a luxury 3700 sq. foot villa built on a hill with outstanding ocean views. They were desinged by some famous Swedish architect in a neo-colonial style and you can tell that everything here was chosen carefully for the quality and aesthetics not economy. Even with 8 people the villa did not at all feel cramped. There are 4 air conditioned bedrooms each with their own full bathroom (3 of them were some of the largest bathrooms I have ever seen), a full modern kitchen, a huge beautiful covered veranda with dining table, seating and reclining chairs, private infinity pool!, large living room with satellite TV, three balconies (two of which with full ocean views), individual maid service from 9am-2pm every day and a reception staff that catered to your every need. There are only 14 villas on the property and they have skillfully planned it so that each villa is located in a manner to maximize privacy with respect to the other villas. I feel the need to reiterate the stunning, unobstructed ocean views from the bedrooms, veranda and private pool. There is nothing quite like whiling away in a pool that seems to drop off forever while looking down and away at a never ending ocean. From almost every angle one had a panoramic view of some of the most calm sea I have ever witnessed. There were no white-caps, just a smooth, never-ending horizon of glass-like water. Every evening we dined on the outdoor veranda while watching a beautiful sunset and at night we were treated to a great view of the stars. Unlike in certain resort-filled areas, Tobago still has a relatively undeveloped tourist sector and Stonehaven is as quiet and tranquil as any rural community.

Perhaps the only small complaint I have is with the service. Though the service at reception was quite helpful, very friendly and efficient, I cannot say the same for the restaurant and the maid. The restaurant had quite a slow pace (which isn't actually a problem when on holiday in the Caribbean) but the servers were pretty aloof and barely cracked a smile. We did not find our maid particularly friendly either and really was the only thing I feel compelled to write truly negatively about. She seemed to grumble if we requested she cook for us even though its explicitly stated everywhere that this is part of her duties, would often not heed a request saying she was "busy" doing something else and worst of all we noticed some toiletries missing near the end of our stay.

All in all: unique and fabulous villas for the price of an average hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    28
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
56
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2005

This has to be THE nicest place on the island. My Fiance, now husband, and I rented a couple of the villas at Stonehaven as well as at Plantation Beach resort (just below Stonehave and where we held our wedding) and it was truly paradise. The general manager, Waciefa, is very competent as is the rest of the staff. The place is as beautiful as the pictures. The maid staff are excellent cooks and I recommend that you ask them to make some local dishes if you decide to dine in. I LOVED every single aspect of our time here. I am 100% sure that anyone will enjoy their visit to Tobago if they stay at Stonehaven

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relocating_to_tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2005

My family stayed in stonehaven villas last year and can only say good things. The staff were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. Our maid was one of the nicest people you could meet, after a few meetings we felt that she was part of the family, she was great with the our kids (10 and 12) she cooked better than any of the resturants. The manager of the complex was extremely helpful, any problems we had were dealt with immediately and completlly to our satisfaction. The food served in the resturant was excellant. One of the nicest touches was when the manager sent lunch to our villa when it had been raining all morning, this was totaly unexpected but greatly appreciated.
The complex offers complete privacy, the surroundings are remarkable, the villa is in our opinion perfection, and the staff are by far the most professional and friendly that we have ever come across.
we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank memyselfyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2003

The stonehaven villas is on some beautiful property. However, the management and service is not up to par. The staff, in general, seems inefficient. Be careful of their billing system, as they seem to overcharge the credit cards for several of their guests. Always get quotes in writing. The villas are beautiful on the first day, but maintenance seems to go downhill after the second and third day (especially regarding the pool). Too bad management cannot get their act together despite beauty of the villas.

Helpful?
4 Thank PS305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2003

A Peaceful elegant place. Each Villa with it ammenties are sure to satisfy anyone. Each villa is arranged so you have an unobstructed view of the ocean. The grounds are kept immaculate. The service is excellent. The staff could not be more frendly and helpful. The club house resturant 's chef will make you any meal that you could want, have it served on your private verranda in your villa or dine at the club house with its grand view of the carribean. My wife and I are returning for another 10 days of bliss.

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank qanda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
1.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Stonehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Stonehaven

Property: The Villas at Stonehaven
Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Stonehaven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views on the west coast of Tobago, The Villas at Stonehaven is one of the finest luxury resorts in the Caribbean. The resort is an exquisite collection of elegantly appointed three and four bedroom Villas set in ten acres of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Villa amenities include spacious indoor and outdoor living & dining areas; private infinity pool and spectacular ocean views. Your own daily personal housekeeper attends to your needs and will cook delicious meals on request. Villas are immaculately furnished and feature large air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suites, full kitchens, barbeque areas and ample dining and living space. The accommodation makes for the ideal choice for couples seeking a romantic retreat; families requiring a holiday home, or groups of friends wanting their own space and independence.By day, indulge in an in-room spa service, visit the nearby beach or explore the delights of Tobago. Evenings begin with a sun-downer complete with spectacular sunsets, to be enjoyed on your private terrace or mingling with other guests poolside at the Clubhouse bar and pool.The Pavilion Restaurant, open for lunch and dinner serves delicious Caribbean and Continental Cuisine and also offers room service.The unique setting of this luxurious boutique resort also provides an unforgettable venue for weddings, small conferences and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Villas at Stonehaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Stonehaven Hotel Black Rock
The Villas At Stonehaven Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing