We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villas at Stonehaven
Ranked #2 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in Tobago. Stonehaven Villas far exceeded our expectations, particularly having read some of the negative reviews! The villas are beautifully appointed with lovely views of the ocean. They are extremely well equipped and our housekeeper could not have done more for us. She was very willing and carried out her duties cheerfully and with good humour. She made delicious coconut bread for us and a couple of times prepared evening meals for us, so all we had to do was heat them up. We found the whole experience extremely relaxing and would not hesitate to recommend Stonehaven.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgowar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2009

I’ve stayed here twice, and I can’t wait to return. You have your own 3 bedroom villa with stunning views, last time we shared with friends and had a fabulous time. Each villa has its own pool and the main pool is also stunning. Our housekeeper even cooked for us, which was great. There is a beach just a short walk away, but it’s best to rent a car and do a tour of the island. The food at the restaurant is pretty good. I just love this place because I can unwind and relax in absolutely gorgeous surroundings. Highly recommended – you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandgirlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

The hotel (more accurately, villa in a gated community) provided a wonderfully relaxing and peaceful holiday. In previous years at this time we have stayed at Petit St. Vincent or Malhiouana (Anguilla) and decided this year to explore Tobago. We are glad we did!! As stated in other reviews, the villas (we were in #11) are spacious (3 BR, 3.5 baths, fully outfitted kitchen, living room, and huge verandah with private infinity pool) and are spaced such that the only ambient noise is the sound of the ocean. Our goal was to relax and be lazy and the villa gave the perfect vehicle to achieve what we wanted. We did go to the beach several days (easy 15 minute walk to a clean beach about 1 mile in length) and also to the bird sanctuary adjacent to the property (15 minute walk, though there are lots of birds around the villas). There are restaurants off-property, but the restaurant on-property was excellent so there was no need to exert the energy to locate alternatives. The restaurant is closed Mondays, but with the kitchen facilities it was easy enough to prepare our own meal (the hotel will fill a supermarket order -- including beer or wine -- for you at cost plus 15% or you can stop at a supermarket (which we did the day we took an island tour by taxi)).

For those who like solitude and a quiet spot, this is the perfect sanctuary. It is an ideal place to unwind and to just be. Free Wifi is available throughout the property so you can maintain contact with the outside world if you want. Also, it is worth noting that the cost of the villas is considerably less than properties providing a comparable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We had a wonderful 2 weeks, very relaxing in a superb environment. The Villa was huge and had everything we wanted. There are lovely restaurants nearby such as the Fish Pot or The Seahorse. On the other hand you can stay in and use the fully stocked kitchen or BBQ by the swimming pool.
You must bear in mind the whole complex is on a very steep slope, so if you have difficulty walking, you will have to have a car, even to get to the clubhouse / reception. The slope can be a drag, but because of it, you get fully unspoilt views of the sea below, sitting on your balcony it is glorious.
This is not a party island, but if want a very civilised and relaxing holiday this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The Villas at Stoneheaven are a most wonderful slice of paradise! 6 of us stayed there for 5 nights in November 2009. We would all go back again.

I highly recommend the villas for group travel as each room has a private bathroom. There are 3 proper/formal bedrooms with private bathrooms and an additional singles bedroom also with private bathroom. A common half bath is available off of the living room.

The private infinity pools are wonderful but it can not be secluded for the safety of children. Locking the villa doors to keep children from being outside is the only way to block their access to the pool.

Some of the villa ammenities include, outdoor 10 person dining table, BBQ grill, private infinity pool, daily morning maid service (cleaning and cooking breakfast), washer/dryer, free internet, restaurant room service, gated community with active security monitoring, hidden villa safe for valuable storage, chef's kitchen (requires stocking but has most- not all- cooking tools), short drive to beach, ocean views from all terraces.

The beach requires a 15 minute walk down a steep hill or a quick 5 min drive. Another beach, Pigeon Point, is about 20 minutes away.

There is an alternate villa resort at the bottom of the hill just across the street from the beach. For those who require immediate beach access this community might be a better option (I don't know the name). From the outside the villas looked as nice as but not as private as Stonehaven.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassidyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Stop searching! If you are looking for a gorgeous place to stay in Tobago and wish for style, luxury, comfort, privacy, personal service, beautiful surroundings, stunning views and value for money – look no further. The Stonehaven Villas is THE place to book your stay in Tobago! Having just returned from an 8 nights’ stay at the villas, we can only give it our very best recommendation.

We are seasoned and very demanding travellers having stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, so we do have a solid frame of references. Pictures in a brochure are generally one thing – reality most often another one – hence we were more than pleasantly surprised when entering our very own “villa” as it was even more beautiful than the pictures let you imagine. The architecture is lovely – French Colonial – pale rose and grey with genuine dark wood features and including a house length furnished covered and tiled terrace. Matching furnishing and décor in fine mahogany with puffy silken cushions. Like an old Plantation House. And name the word space… - it’s huge and in all honesty way too much for just two people like my husband and I – but we loved it. Each villa is similar in structure and holds beds and utensils for min. 8 persons. None the less than four bedrooms, three of which spacious “master rooms” with adjoining combined dressing- and bathrooms and one smaller one with own toilet/shower. On top of it a 5th toilet is to be found by the entrance. The master bedrooms on first floor opens up to private covered balconies while the third master bedroom opens up to the grand terrace on the main floor. Hence a tough decision for us to choose where to sleep as each room is individually decorated – but the final decision placed us in a top one providing a beautiful view of the ocean right from your bed… On the ground floor you find likewise a classy lounge with cozy furniture, a writing desk and bar chairs to the adjacent open kitchen. And what a kitchen! Bigger and better equipped than any of my own ones. And with all thinkable utensils: Coffee brewer, toaster, fruit processor, micro oven, full stove, American refrigerator/freezer and as an extra feature a special fridge for the wine with ice-machine. And nicely hidden behind lovely wooden panelling a washer and dryer are discretely placed. Pots, pans, plates, cups and silverwear for loads of people – absolutely nothing was missing – even a picnic cooler was to be found in one of the many cupboards! To welcome us a huge bowl of fresh tropical fruits - nicely decorated with a flower arrangement - was awaiting on the kitchen table.

The huge covered terrace/porch – in the entire length of the house – is the “heart” of the house. Beautifully furnished with a fine dining table for 6-8 in genuine mahogany, sofa arrangement with golden puffy cushions and pillows as well as 2 lounge chairs to slouch in – all on a beautiful dark wooded floor. And then I haven’t even mentioned the adjacent spacious open deck furnished with light summer furniture – yet a dining table with chairs plus 4 sun beds – and your very own infinity swimmingpool! Pots with flowers and green plants everywhere, and the entire villa surrounded by a beautifully laid out garden – park style – with loads of colourful bushes, flowers, palm trees and tropical vegetation. A true beautiful paradise with the stunning view of the blue ocean as the backdrop. Who can wish for more? We were swept away when first time we entered that terrace and deck. (Please see the attached photos). And all this for just the two of us! Coming home from our daily activities, it was such a pleasure kicking the shoes off and sit down in our own privacy and enjoy a relaxing drink or meal in these terrific surroundings – not the least our nightcap overlooking the bright turquoise lit swimmingpool. Often we didn’t even leave the house for the entire day as slouching in the sun, reading a good book, enjoying a light lunch brought to us from the restaurant and cooling off with occasional dips in the pool and taking in the beauty of the garden and ocean was an even better alternative to the touring and visits to beaches and the true concept of a holiday day.

Needless to say the entire house was spotlessly clean as well as furnishing and utensils all in top order. The place is looked very well after. Gardeners were observed each day pruning the bushes and watering the plants and the pool was maintained with leaves removed etc. Included in the price is likewise a personal maid, who is available for 5 hrs. each day, and whose task is to look after place and do the daily laundry of linen, towels etc. as well as being of any other service to you. Our maid met the first morning at 09:00am on the dot ready for her duties and asking if she should prepare us a nice breakfast. She was friendly and accommodating. After a couple of days she noticed, that we hadn’t eaten much of the fruits – and hence coming home from an outing one morning, she had prepared lovely fruitsmoothies for us of the fruits starting to come to an end. Telling her that we didn’t know all of the foreign fruits and how to deal with them, she did immediately offer to peel them for us and put them in the refrigerator for us to nip off. Very nice. Coming from a part of the world where servants is a word in past tense, we did, however, not make full use of her assistance, which no doubt she has been puzzled about. We told her, however, that we did very much appreciate her services, but we would be all OK if she did just do the cleaning and washing. Others may have truly enjoyed this service – not at least families, for whom she can likewise babysit or prepare meals for at an extra small amount.

The staff we met were all very friendly and accommodating – from top to bottom. We were picked up in the airport by the Villas own friendly driver Rahm (included in price), serviced in the house most friendly by our maid Girly. Paul fixed us sundowners with pleasure each night and we were most courteously greeted by the general manager Duane Kenny, who looked to all of our needs personally. Duane came to our villa the first day to go over with us our sightseeing plans for the stay, offering his suggestions and good pieces of advise and helped us with the booking of a car. He was like a long-time-no-see friend having ample time to sit down for a relaxing talk and did even invite us to join him and his family for a day on the beach – as well as did private calls to help us obtain seats on an overbooked catamaran trip – with success to follow. And each time we caught glimpses of each other he stopped and took the time to chat with us and ask to our needs and whether or not we had enjoyed his suggestions. So we can only say, that we got the best of attention from all the staff.

The Stonehaven Villas consist of 14 similar villas spread out in a huge park-like garden on the steep slope of a hill rising from the coastal road and hence providing each villa with breathtaking views of the ocean. The garden is a delight with its beautiful, beautiful flowers, trees and bushes and once you enter the gate (24 hours guarded) it is like coming from one world to another – like entering a quiet Paradise. The complex comprises further a Club House with a lovely lounge, bar and even bigger infinity pool as well as a restaurant. No doubt the very best view of the ocean is provided from the terrace of the Club House, and this is, therefore, likewise the place where the guests in the villas meet up for sundowners. The restaurant – The Pavilion – offers good, tasty and plentiful food at reasonable prices compared to the Tobago level. We had dinner there one evening – and in all fairness – the only finger we can put at Stonehaven Villas may be the décor and atmosphere of their restaurant. It could do with a “lift” and a bit more elegantly laid tables. But it was OK, but we preferred to send for room-service instead and enjoyed the good food in the elegant surroundings of our own villa. Should one wish to dine elsewhere there are several opportunities. Nearby you find the little very local restaurant “The Fish Pot” as well as one of the most recognized restaurants on Tobago, namely “The Sea Horse”. The latter is a “must” if you are looking for a fine dining experience to the sounds of the lapping waters. And it isn’t even expensive compared to similar sort of meals in our part of the world – we spent less than USD 80 per person for a 3-course meal with some glasses of wine and one of the courses being Lobster Termidore.

The only drawback of The Stonehaven Villas – if one can talk of a drawback at all.. - is the lacking location right on a beach. You have the most wonderful views of the ocean and you are only minutes away from Stonehaven Bay – by car. It is possible to walk to the beach – but a detour is needed and you walk partly along a very busy road. It took us approx. 20 minutes one-way – so it isn’t something you just do with the towel under your arm. Of course you can get there – and to many other beaches, restaurants, sights – by means of a taxi. What a lot of people do. The rates are, however, pretty high: Approx. USD 12 to a nearby restaurant/beach one-way. Hence, we find it a much better idea to rent a car. With a car of your own, you can be at many a nearby beach or restaurant in no time – and in spite of the driving in the left side and some rather awesome local driving habits – you do really feel free as a bird to explore the island and plan your day in easy pace. We used the rental car for touring the island as well, which is no problem at all if only you are carefully watching out yourself and make sure to be back before it gets dark. We did miss our route from time to time, but there are no long distances and you’ll soon be back on track. Hence with a car of your own, you are more than perfect at Stonehaven Villas. The Villas will help you with the rental. We went for a small car at the rate of USD 50 per day.

Guess this pretty much wraps it all up. As you may gather from the above, my husband and I did thoroughly enjoy our stay at Stonehaven Villas and would be more than happy to return one day. I can add that we did drop in at a few other ****hotels/resorts on the island to see what we could have experienced at these alternatives (Bacolet Beach Resort and Coco Reef) – and no way we would have exchanged our Paradise at Stonehaven Villas with any of these places. And we were happy not the least to learn that – in spite of being just the two of us in a 3.700 sq feet villa – we paid less than for a regular double room at i.e. the Coco Reef.

PS: By the way: We counted four flat screen TVs - a huge one of which placed in the lounge likewise featuring a full music- and DVD station. This info as a follow-up to one of the below input telling of old TVs and non existing DVD-player.

Kind regards

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I have just returned from a trip to Tobago and a delightful stay at Stonehaven villas. These colonial villas are simply beautiful and in a lovely setting on the hillside overlooking the Caribbean sea. They are peaceful and the perfect place to unwind. They are spacious and have all facilities that you would have at home plus a 50ft verandah and a plunge pool. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I read one review which said that the staff were miserable and the service poor. I have been to many Caribbean islands and found the people of Tobago much more reserve than other places. Tobago is rather like going back in time.It is very unspolit and the people are generally shy. Once they get talking to you they become full of smiles and very friendly. So give Tobago a chance ......!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELLOKITTY2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.9 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Stonehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Stonehaven

Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Price Range: £218 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Stonehaven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views on the west coast of Tobago, The Villas at Stonehaven is one of the finest luxury resorts in the Caribbean. The resort is an exquisite collection of elegantly appointed three and four bedroom Villas set in ten acres of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Villa amenities include spacious indoor and outdoor living & dining areas; private infinity pool and spectacular ocean views. Your own daily personal housekeeper attends to your needs and will cook delicious meals on request. Villas are immaculately furnished and feature large air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suites, full kitchens, barbeque areas and ample dining and living space. The accommodation makes for the ideal choice for couples seeking a romantic retreat; families requiring a holiday home, or groups of friends wanting their own space and independence.By day, indulge in an in-room spa service, visit the nearby beach or explore the delights of Tobago. Evenings begin with a sun-downer complete with spectacular sunsets, to be enjoyed on your private terrace or mingling with other guests poolside at the Clubhouse bar and pool.The Pavilion Restaurant, open for lunch and dinner serves delicious Caribbean and Continental Cuisine and also offers room service.The unique setting of this luxurious boutique resort also provides an unforgettable venue for weddings, small conferences and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Villas at Stonehaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Stonehaven Hotel Black Rock
The Villas At Stonehaven Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing