We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Heights
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$190
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
101
39
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
39
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner viewwalking distanceminute walkspacious apartmentpleasant prospectmount irvine beachmini martnest cottagetop floorconvenience storedecked areaself cateringrestaurants and barshome basesound of crashing wavessunset cocktailscomfortable accommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our stay at Sweet Nest at the beginning of June 2014 also included a stay within Warm Breezes which is reviewed separately.

Sweet Nest is a one bedroom cottage/villa within the grounds of Hibiscus Heights. Upon entering the cottage you will find a queen sized bed with side tables, a chest of drawers and a small wardrobe area. Just past the foot of the bed there is a latticed screen panel with a wicker convertible chair on the other side which opens up to a single bed. When not in use, it's a great place to cosy up and watch TV/read if you wish. There is a small four seater dining table and double patio doors which then lead out to a decked area complete with four seater patio set, two padded loungers, large sun parasol and a gas bbq. Part of the decked area is also afforded cover from any rain so you can still sit outside if the weather isn't so great.

The kitchen and bathroom are at the back of the cottage. The kitchen is small but functional with a fridge/freezer, gas cooker and work and storage space. There is also a blender, toaster and coffee percolator (the kettle is a good old fashioned gas stove type which whistles when the water boils), cool box and the usual cutlery, plates, bowls, glasses etc. The facilities are basic but we found we had everything that we needed and were able to cook up two different meals for a ''dinner party' with another couple.

The bathroom is spacious enough with a large tiled shower area and a small vanity unit.

The cottage has air conditioning, a flatscreen TV (we didn't make use of this) , safe and wifi access.

The only observation that I have is that the bathroom and kitchen could do with modernising. The bathroom in the shower area needs retiling and the kitchen work top and general work area could be slightly reconfigured to make better use of the space. The owners are fully aware of this and it is something that will happen over time. In the meantime it is totally functional/useable and is more about cosmetic appearance than anything so I wouldn't be put off renting Sweet Nest because of this. It's in a great area and although it doesn't have access to a pool (like Warm Breezes) you really are a few minutes stroll from nearby beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kooshkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the Warm Breezes apartment at Hibiscus Heights from the 4th June until the 11th - with 2 days during this period staying at Sweet Nest - which is another apartment on site. These are entirely different properties and experiences so they will be treated as separate reviews.

Warm Breezes is the top floor apartment at Hibiscus Heights. It has an open plan kitchen and living area with 3 double bedrooms, one of which is en suite. There is a separate bathroom and shower room and a swimming pool at the rear, which is for the use of Warm Breezes guests only. The kitchen is moderately well equipped, with a gas stove and a capacious fridge/freezer.

Only my wife and I were staying at the property, so we occupied the main bedroom. There were significant advantages to this as the bedroom has several doors, which can be opened on to the main balcony. The balcony runs the length of the perimeter of the apartment and has an extensive view of the Caribbean sea, and looks down towards the small commercial centre that is Pleasant Prospect in Mount Irvine.

This part of the coast is on the Caribbean sea side of the island and benefits from having access to a few restaurants and bars, a basic grocery store and fruit and vegetable stand, and being only a short (7 to 10 minute) walk from Stonehaven Beach. This location is perfect to use as a base to explore the Island, with Scarborough being only a 10 minute drive away, and the coast road that encircles Tobago is the main road, which is just down from the apartment.

Mike and Glory, the owners, are able to recommend an excellent car hire service. We would recommend that, if you're going to stay in a villa in Tobago, hire a car. There's a lot to see, and the nearest supermarket is in Scarborough, so a car would seem to be essential!

It was a pleasure to wake up to that view every morning, whilst contemplating some more pool time, simple relaxation or a visit to Argyle Falls or Fort George. We visited Pigeon Point, which is a local 'secure' beach (with a minimal entry cost), and spent a couple of days down at Stonehaven. The seating on the balcony at Warm Breezes meant that we were equally happy just sitting out and sweltering in the 30+ degree heat. If you'd come from Britain, where the weather is mostly cold and wet, this was a simple pleasure.

Glory and Mike were helpful, friendly and informative. They live on site and were always willing to offer advice and the benefit of their local knowledge. They can offer airport transportation, but make sure to check that they're available when you need them - they have lives too! I don't think that they could have been more accommodating for us.

Understanding that if, like us, you would be coming from a country where the roaming charges for your phone can be excessive (O2 texted me to say that it would £1.40/minute to make a call and £1.25 to receive one - plus 40p per text sent!), Mike and Glory provide a local mobile telephone with credit on it for you to use. It's the little touches like this that make all the difference.

There's daily housekeeping, with Ingrid working hard to keep things in order. All rooms have internet access (I measured the speed at over 7 megabits per second in Warm Breezes) and a flatscreen TV with Netflix already installed, though we didn't make use of this at all as we were too busy enjoying being in Tobago!

All in all, this was a perfect little trip in a great location, with helpful and considerate hosts on hand to assist when needed. We would recommend to others and would return.

Room Tip: Warm Breezes is the most expensive apartment, but it can accommodate 8 people, with the main bedroom accommodating only 2 guests and the remaining 2 rooms having a double and a single bed each. This makes it inexpensive at full occupancy. For us it was the best room at the site and well worth the money. Corner view is private and has a sea view, whilst Artist Studio is well proportioned and ideal for someone backpacking their way around the Island. These other rooms are also pretty cheap!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had a wonderful time here with my friends. The hosts, Glory and Mike did their best to ensure we were comfortable. The apartment provided all amenities for a most enjoyable stay. We indulged in reading (an assortment of books provided on shelf), cooking(kitchen was well stocked with necessary utensils e.t.c.), movie watching (Netflix)...a very restful and relaxing stay. Mike offered to pick us up at the airport as we encountered a delay with our flight and arrived close to midnight. We are most grateful for Glory and Mike's hospitality. Thank you!

My friends all agreed that we will be staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms can entertain only certain numbers of guests. Visit the Hibiscus Heights website for information on this. However, Glory offered to give me a tour of the building and all rooms were certainly an exciting aesthetic pleasure.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimmikaS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I found this place on the internet and I am happy to say that I am glad I did. I spent two nights at this place and although we were out most of the time, the spent here was comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the amenities were adequate for our brief stay. Yes, I would recommend this place to friends and family.
I will also return for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner suites with ocean view is refreshing on early mornings with loads of sunshine later.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shazad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ms. Glory is hospitable. Hotel is in a hub spot for accessibility to any amenity.
Please be reminded the pool is not for all guests. Read carefully of the accomodations of each room. Location is ideal, for those who are seeking reclusive, couple getaway, family outings etc. I would revisit whenever I am doing family vacations.

Room Tip: Pool is only for third floor renters. Carry extra blankets, and insect repellant. All rooms are GREAT.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews