We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carpe Diem Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$188
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/05
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
118
21
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
21
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen roomfruit batslaid backtropical birdsconstant streammosquito nets and fanslovely villageguest houseview from the balconylocal dogssun settingboathouse bardifficult placecaribbean lifeshort walk down the hillcomfy bedtwo weeks
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Expect a little piece of paradise. We felt right at home in the clean and welcoming apartment. Chris and Yvonne are really helpful and lovely. The apartment was bigger than we had imagined, well thought out and the location is perfect; with rainforest and beaches what more can you want! Feeding the exotic birds and fruit bats and watching the sunsets became our favourite past time.
We loved the fishing village of Castara, people are friendly and the food is brilliant. We didn't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS11022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinandtonicSurrey, Owner at Carpe Diem Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

So glad you enjoyed our piece of Paradise so much...........we look forward to seeing you again one day, it just gets better and better but harder to leave !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just got back to cold, wet, grey UK - a whole world away from Carpe Diem. What a great place, everyone so friendly; Chris & Yvonne were great hosts, always on hand if you wanted them and BBQ on their deck watching the sun go down. I can only echo what everyone else says and will definitely be returning. I loved the fact that Castara exists for the locals and we just join in with them, drumming, beach bonfire, steel panning or just chilling and chatting. We had a jeep for a few days but only because the sea was a bit rough for snorkelling. The rain forest is just amazing and the vibracy of the colours in both the greenery and the flowers - ginger, heliconium, orchids, bougainvillea - stunning. Will definitely be returning to Carpe Diem and remember to open the side window in the kitchen to get more of a through breeze at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinandtonicSurrey, Owner at Carpe Diem Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

So Maggie when are we going to see you again ? It only gets better, trust me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The most important thing is the way that Chris and Eyvonne make you so very welcome. From the moment you arrive they are so full of local information . Carpe Diem is right in the rainforest but only a minutes walk away from the beaches and restaurants in Castara . Fantastic sights and sounds , good food , fantastic views and lovely people .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinandtonicSurrey, Owner at Carpe Diem Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

The great part of our "job" is sharing our experiences and knowledge of Castara and it's people and trying to let our guests know and understand why it is we chose to live here.
Always the hardest part is saying goodbye when they have to leave !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back up from the road, you are already in the rain forest, with all the bird life benefits that brings - the whole spectrum will come to the feeders just feet away, including fruit bats, and the seascape and sunset complete the panorama from the balcony, yet the beach itself is very close.

We didn't spend much time here nor cook at all, but only because our friends were holding court and hosting us in their bigger rented apartment, but Chris & Yvonne were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout, including a very early bag drop; lending us something; help with a flat tyre, and helping look for my "lost" watch (which I found in my suitcase back home - whoops, sorry!) When they're not running the rooms, you'll see them out in the same bars and restaurants as you, and this is one of Castara's charms: locals (native or otherwise) and tourists have a good interaction.

Our room was clean and the water hot, and we were given a complete replacement set of bedding and towels after 2 days. It was a little breeze-less up there, so we did need to position the two fans very close to the bed and keep the doors onto the verandah open, but there was no problem, security or otherwise, with that.

We saw some of the other places we'd considered booking in the Carpe Diem price range, and were really glad we had chosen Carpe Diem over these - all in all, a great value-for-money place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BazLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We found just what we needed at Carpe Diem! A very comfortable, clean, peaceful and beautiful residence in the fascinating village of Castara. It has splendid views over the bay and is an ideal location for watching the birds of the rainforest feeding and singing in the morning, and giant frigates wheeling and arcing over the sea. Chris and Yvonne were very hospitable, helpful and generous with their time and local knowledge. They gave us an intriguing insight into the local community and were very helpful about flora and fauna. We would definately stay there again as we had tried many other guest houses and this was one of the best. Thanks again Chris and Yvonne!
C & E

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews