We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in the green and close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Cottage
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the green and close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Castara, which is a lovely fishing village on the northside of Tobago. It is ideal for a lazy holiday for people who love the country side. Sitting on the shady veranda overlooking the green, watching the birds, liming in the hamaca while reading an interesting book. The little pool at site is perfect to have a bath after dinner while watching the bats catching the moscitos! The masterbedroom is perfect to sleep well (with aircon, which is nice during hot days). There is a lot of privacy, we prefer!
The kitchen is well equipped for everybody who buys fish by the local fishermen (they have almost daily fresh catches). In the village is a nice cafe for breakfast (Chenos) and enjoyed having dinner at Marguerites restaurant (Sherwin prepares nice creole food). We will come again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taormina08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
405 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here a couple of years back and I just had to write a review as it was the most amazing place, Castara iself is beautiful and this stunning cottage sheltered in the rainforest is lush, very modern and spacious for great price, a lovely hot tub/swimming pool, outdoor seating, a hammock, massive seating area, the only killer is the small but steep hil up to it, but its well worth it, a 10 min walk to the gorgeous beach! Your'll feel like your in paradise, we were lucky enough to stay there when the owner Selvin was back in the Caribbean and staying in the adjoining cottage, he showed us the local places and took us into town and got us the best Roti to be found!

Selvin you probably dont remember us, it was a while back we met you, two English girls Kelly & Gemma, we had a black out when we were there (same time the big music festival was on cant remember what it was called), we loved your cottage and thanks for making Castara such a brill memory! Loved the roti!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

My wife and I have just returned to Scotland from a fantastic holiday in Castara,Tobago.
The Humming Bird Apartment at Hidden Cottage superb and great value and we were well looked after by the Douglas family who live locally.
The Village is small,with 2 superb beaches,shopping is limited but perfectly adequate for day to day needs.
Eating out:"The Coffee Shop" where Cheno provides good home cooked food.
Also the Friday Night BBQ at "Shirma's Cafe & Bar" is not to be missed where Mine Host "HAM" holds court.
Only one criticism is ADAMS resturant at the outskirts of the village which is massively overpriced and very poor value.
All in all ~ a great holiday amongst the friendly helpful people of Castara.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddiemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We spent 2 lovely relaxing weeks at hidden cottage, we stayed in the mot mot which had a lovely ballcony that ran all around it. We spent many happy hours in the hamock watching the exotic birds comming to feed of the bird table, it was probably the fault of this holliday that turned this party animal into a bird-watcher! From the moment we where picked up at the airport where we stoped on the way to get provisions to the moment we left we where very well looked after. There is a lovely decked aria next to the small pool to sun bathe or eat alfresco! most evenings we wondered down to the village to eat and have a few drinks, the locals are very friendly.
The pace of life is very slow and relaxed so if you want night clubs and lots of shops this is definatly not for you. If you want steel drums good food and company and a beautifull rainforest this is the place - go for it! We also went on a fantastic tour of the rainforest with a guy that lives just outside of castara but at the monent i just cant remember his name, he was very pashionate about what he did and made our day a memorable one.
I will definately go back to hidden cottage - soon i hope!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywooLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

great place especially if you go for the larger apartment called mot mot house.

good location just up a steep hill from the village but really, honestly not far and difficult walk to the village or beach, only the last 100 meters or so is steep plus they just tarmac'ed the road so much better walk uphill

great bedrooms, main bedroom has aircon which you need. good bathroom with great shower. could do with aircon in the living room / kitchen as the fans just pushed the hot air around.

great to sit around on the balcony's or by the pool.

great kitchen with all you need, massive american sized fridge.

could do with outside BBQ as I ended up building my own as wanted to cook some fresh fish on the BBQ.

overall really great place and the owner and his brother are excellent and also provided me with a hire car

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwellallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selv64, Owner at Hidden Cottage, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Hi
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at the Mot Mot Villa in Feb 2009, my parents have been coming here for four years in a row, that's how good it is !! Everything about the cottage is fantastic from the pool to the rooms. The cottage boasts a large veranda overlooking the beautiful rainforest to the rear. The pool although only small is great for soaking in after a long hot day on one of the two beaches in Castara or out and about sightseeing the rest of this beautiful island.

The rooms are light and airy and all have air-con which is a must in the climate. The Kitchen/Lounge area is well equipped with gas oven and hob. Fridge and freezer and also satellite TV. Rhonette the housekeeper is fantastic and changes the sheets every 3 days and will also do your washing. Whilst looking round Castara at other cottages to rent I don't think you'll find one better that Hidden Cottage.

The only down side to the cottage is that it's at the top of a large unpaved hill, so when it rains it does become a bit of a mission to climb !! So therefore unfortunately it's not disabled friendly.

Taking a look at the rest of the village it is a great place with a lovely large beach and also a more small secluded one. The bars and restaurants are all great and you can be sure to find a smiling face in every one. As for nightlife the main nights are Wednesday at the Boathouse, Friday at Shirma's Cafe/Bar and Saturday at D'Lime.

I personally look forward to returning to Castara and Hidden Cottage next year !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xluv2travelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selv64, Owner at Hidden Cottage, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Many thanks for you review just some update the hill have now been tarmac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Four of us stayed at the Mot Mot apt at Hidden Cottage Castara this summer and had a wonderful time. The cottage is clean and spacious, with a well-stocked kitchen and a huge porch perfect for watching birds, playing cards, and relaxing. The pool is nice for cooling off in on those hot hot August afternoons. Castara is small and peaceful with a beautiful beach and plenty of friendly people. The folks who look after the house were very helpful in setting up for us whatever activities we wanted to do. They arranged for someone to drive us to Sunday School in Buckoo Bay (a great sunday evening street festival), to the rainforest, and to take us out fishing one day. (We considered renting a car, but the tiny curvy roads and the left-side-of-the-street driving scared off us Americans.) Everyone was super friendly and we had a lot of fun. There's a newly opened grocery store on the beach in Castara. It's small but had everything we needed for our week-long stay. All-in-all this is a great place for a restful and fun vacation.

Helpful?
2 Thank KC_Capers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
0.2 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castara Retreats
Castara Retreats
#1 of 11 in Castara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sealevel Guesthouse
Sealevel Guesthouse
#7 of 11 in Castara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
13.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
10.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Cottage

Property: Hidden Cottage
Address: Castara Village St, Castara, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our apartments in Castara, Tobago. Hidden Cottage is situated in one of the most peaceful and beautiful villages in the Caribbean. Our hillside family villa (3 bedrooms, sleeps 10) and air conditioned studio apartment (sleeps 2/family) are set in the magnificent surroundings of the rainforest, yet just 3 minutes walk from the beach. This is an ideal location for those seeking an "off the beaten track" holiday who want to experience true Caribbean culture and of course nature in all its glory. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Cottage Tobago/Castara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing