We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is bliss!”
other travellers have booked this property
SeaScape!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SeaScape!
Balcony Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
SeaScape!
Balcony
Living area
Quuen bed
'Heavenly Bay'
'Heavenly Bay'
Castara
Full kitchen
The beach at 'Heavenly Bay'
Village veggi stand
Local Restaurant
Calm surf on 'Heavenly Bay'
View from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This place is bliss!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful stay here at Seascape. We loved Castara, and whilst it was great to travel round the island by car or boat, it was always lovely to come home to Seascape. The location is unbeatable, with wonderful views of the bay, and we spent many a happy hour just sitting on the balcony, admiring the view, listening to the waves, watching the incredible sunsets and the comings and goings on the water.

We stayed in both apartments, and loved the upstairs room and bathroom with the sea view in Sunset. The Wavesong balcony was probably our favourite spot. Both apartments are really nicely furnished, with lovely stylish touches like bedside lamps and colourful towels, and the kitchens are well equipped.

Booking was a doddle, and the owner David Bray, was really responsive and helpful. Rolling and Laverne looked after us really well whilst we were there, and were a pleasure to deal with. The local people were really friendly, and there are good places to eat, with the local Boathouse or many other places in the bigger bay, such as Castara Retreats or the Coffee Shop.

We loved it, and we'll be back!

Victoria, London

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStodi
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a sublime location. SeaScape might possibly offer THE best location in Castara. The balconies hang over the beach below with unobstructed views of the Bay, and at night you enjoy the peaceful sound of waves crashing against the shore. However, it is built high enough into the hillside that you also enjoy privacy and seclusion.

My husband and I stayed in the Sunset apartment, which is the larger two-bedroom unit. We of course chose to sleep in the upstairs bedroom that opens onto the balcony, and the ensuite bathroom has windows in the shower that overlook the sea. You couldn't sleep closer to the water unless you were on the sandy beach! Although the main level does not have a balcony, the entire ocean-facing wall has shutters that open up and it makes you feel as though you are in an outdoor space.

The apartment was extremely clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was fully stocked with cookware and utensils. We stopped at the supermarket on the way from the airport, and then realized once we arrived how many local restaurants and eateries there are.

Castara is a charming and peaceful village, full of friendly people, and you can arrange all sorts of activities through local guides.

Overall, I highly recommend SeaScape in Castara!!

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cally S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seascape, Castara, Tobago”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Seascape, Heavenly Bay. Both aptly named. We stayed in both apartments built in a wooden haiku style just metres above the beach........giving uninterrupted views over the ocean.....from all bedrooms. Watching the sun on the water in the morning and at dusk were highlights. As was sleeping to the sound of surf rolling on to the beach.

The way the louvred doors opened to the view of the bay and distant headlands was an unending pleasure as was watching the colourful birds on the balcony in the morning. Beds were extremely comfortable and the showers were capacious with great pressure and temperature.

We were looked after by on the spot team Rollin' and Laverne really comfortably and they managed to answer just about any question we had, including how to get takeaway supper minutes after our arrival!

In terms of human noise eg. Music, chat in the street below we found Sunset much quieter than Wavesong although the sound of the waves was a little louder. The sounds of nature and life are all around, complete with vigourous birdsong and crowing cockerels. We found it charming but it's not always quiet.

The relaxed village vibe and the friendly interaction between visitors and inhabitants felt special and we liked it a lot but secluded it is not.

But for an incredibly beautiful place with an unaffected natural feel it's really hard to beat.

Cally and Alan

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoungerLo...
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a really well appointed accommodation set above Castara bay. It has everything you could need in the way of kitchen equipment, toiletries etc; a nice balcony overlooking the bay where exotic birds come if you put out some bread; a comfortable bed with mosquito net and nice furniture. It is very secluded with a magnificent view.
A few words of warning though. There are about 50 steps up to the apartment and to get to the larger beach that has most of the facilities and where you would want to sit during the day, there is another precipitous climb, so anyone who is not pretty fit or has any mobility issues this is not the place for you. Also, the mosquitos are fierce so you must use lots of spray and the coils (provided) and it is a 'country' place so you will be wakened by cockerels at about 3.30am and there are a few dogs around that like to bark during the night.
We were unlucky as the weather was terrible when we were there with a huge storm one night and rain sweeping in most of the time. Because of the construction of the building we couldn't sleep due to the noise and had to leave 2 nights into our stay.
The lady who took us to the resort via the supermarket was very friendly and nice but was not very informative about Castara, forgot to ask if we wanted beach towels so we didn't get any (why are they not just in the apartment?), and only told us about a much-needed short cut to the other beach because we asked. We didn't see her or her husband again and she still owes me $10 change from the cost of the pick-up!
I'm sure that if the weather is beautiful this is a lovely place to stay, but there are a couple of issues the owner needs to look at.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Personal service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_nomad_wa...
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Fantastic location, blissful simplicity”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at the Wavesong apartment in August and had a truly amazing time. The location is the best in Castara (which is a small village away from the crowds). We started and ended each day on the beautiful balcony that overhangs a small beach, Heavenly Bay. The beach itself is a 2 minute walk away. The apartment is tropical chic -- simple but comfortably furnished, with thoughtful details, like binoculars (for birdwatching), flashlights (for night walks for dinner) and a radio (for relaxed evenings post-beach). Maybe consider bringing a mosquito net -- the one over the bed is too short and the sandflies can be vicious at night! The location is also great for exploring the northern end of the island, including Englishman's bay, which is a short drive away. Our host was very friendly and full of suggestions for places to try and events around the island. The highlight of our stay was the fisherman's fete on castara beach -- the annual party for the fishermen on the island. A very local experience!

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizAkit
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for.... Paradise”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

WaveSong was exactly what we were looking for. Secluded location, located in a small fishing community and right amongst the locals. We had many highlights during our vacation and this was one of them. It exceeded our expecations in many ways and made our vacation memorable.

We stayed at Seascape's 1 bedroom unit (WaveSong) for 14 days (June 10-24). Our booking experience with David Bray (owner) was hassel free. David responded quickly to my emails and was able to provide excellent pointers for Castara and Tobago as a whole. This is one of the many reasons why I chose Seascape.

Rollins, the local Manager at Seascape collected us from Charlotteville, John and I feel quite at easy and very relaxed during our drive. Rollins is quite skilled driving on the left hand side on very narrow roads winding up and down hills. He also pointed out restaurants, shops, fruit stands, where to purchase fish, local points of interest, etc. along th way.

The steps leading up to WaveSong was daunting at first. But let me tell you, entering the apartment definitely makes up for the jaunt. I kept saying that I would count the steps the entire two weeks we were there, but guess what. I never did. John and I totally enjoyed our location and all the ammenities it had to offer. There are also several fruit trees in the garden.

All the reviews I read on WaveSong is quite accurate. After leaving Charlotteville, Tobago (stayed here 9 days) we had two essential requirements for Seascape; a pot and mosquito net. John headed straight to the kitchen (more than 4 litres) and I headed to the bedroom We both were in luck. The kitchen was very well stocked with utensiles, pots, pans, cutlery, etc. There was shampoo, conditioner, soap supplies (hotel sizes). Towels, and linen were changed every 3-4 days. Laverne, the housekeeper was very friendly and was always willing to answer our many questions. A nice touch of fresh fruit, cold water and Carib were waiting for us. Thanks David!!

WaveSong overlooks Heavenly Bay. Both John and I felt (rather selfish of me), that this was the best accommodation on Heavenly Bay. It had the most amazing view of the ocean, you wake up every morning to the sound of the waves and birds (can see the ocean from your bed). Personally, the best view!! Many varities of birds visited the balcony and we were fortunate to see the Mot Mot Bird on several occassions. If you're lucky you can also view the stingrays close to shore from the balcony.

Heavenly Bay is a short walk (3 mins), Boathouse restaurant is located here and has a varied menu with reasonable prices. Visit on a Wed night for local entertainment. There are fruit stands, local "oven" (fresh bread and local pastries every Wed and Sat), several other restaurants and shops in the village. Castara is a small vising community, fresh fish daily at the main beach. The locals are very welcoming, take the time to chat with them. There are several tours you can choose from, just ask around. We took the public bus to Scarbrough on 3 occassions.

David and his two son's stayed at Windsong while we were there (2 bdr unit). We had many enjoyable visits playing cards, limin' on the beach, John sending the boys on a wild goose chase or two or just sampling each other's food. Your boys denititely made a great impression. I won't be suprised if Lincoln becomes a politician one day... We'll definitely have to have BBQ pork chops and squid some day soon! Spending time with you guys definitely made our trip very memorable.

David. John and I are planning our return trip already. Thank you for everything and hope to see you and the boys soon. John and Liz

PS. John is still talking about retiring in Tobago....

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bing2008
Besigheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
“Amazing site”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had our honey moon at that site and it was brilliant.

Dream view, nice designed bungalow, service orientated employees. Just perfect!

A small and original village on the Island Tobago. The restaurant from Sharon is just a few steps away and the best restaurant in the village.

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.