We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Heavenly Bay”
other travellers have booked this property
SeaScape!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SeaScape!
Balcony Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
SeaScape!
Balcony
Living area
Quuen bed
'Heavenly Bay'
'Heavenly Bay'
Castara
Full kitchen
The beach at 'Heavenly Bay'
Village veggi stand
Local Restaurant
Calm surf on 'Heavenly Bay'
View from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Erica H
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Heavenly Bay”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 days in October and everything about this place was magic. When we drove into the village we were greeted with warm smiles and people that were happy to help us with any and everything. We met Rolling and Laverne who showed us into our apartment, both of whom were very friendly and accommodating. The owner, David, was also very helpful and eager to please. He answered all phone calls and emails promptly and even let us extend our stay as we had fallen in love with SeaScape and Castara.

We stayed in WaveSong and our friends stayed in Sunset. The walk up to the house is shaded by beautiful fruit and flowering trees that help make it feel very secluded - like we were staying in our own tree house. The views are stunning and the apartments had everything we needed and then some. Clean towels, sheets, plenty of cutlery, dishes and cooking supplies, a comfortable bed, fan, new appliances, clean shower and toilet, comfortable seats and patio furniture, a hammock (!), bird feeders, etc. Laverne came halfway through our stay to change our our sheets and towels which was very nice of her to do!

We watched the beautiful sunsets every night from our balcony, cooked homemade meals from fish caught by the local fishermen and woke up every morning to roosters crowing and birds singing on the balcony. Our afternoons were spent snorkeling in the bay, relaxing on the beach and enjoying beers from Sharon at the Boathouse. Again, EVERYONE here is so kind and welcoming. We even made friends with a young student named Mikel who came and hung out on our balcony.

This apartment, this island, this village, these people, the food, the atmosphere, EVERYTHING about Castara and SeaScape was magic. It's a truly magnificent place and will always have a special place in our hearts. It was hard to leave but knowing we will be back made it easier.

I really can't believe that people would say anything negative about SeaScape. When we return to Castara we will absolutely stay here. The apartment made our stay very special. I supposed SeaScape and Tobago aren't for everyone, but if you like seclusion, romance, beautiful views and you don't mind sleeping with the windows open and under a mosquito net and falling asleep to the ocean waves breaking on the shore and waking up early to roosters crowing and birds chirping and coming into the kitchen to eat your fruit then you should probably find something else on a different island.

Many thanks to David, Laverne, Rolling, Sharon, the stingrays and the entire village of Castara!

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abssy2015
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful 10 days at Wavesong in Castara. We love the village, the people and the property, and when they say that Seascape/Wavesong is the best property in Castara we can fully endorse that view. We never ceased to tire of the view from our extensive balcony, perched right out over the beach and the waves, it could be possible to just sit there all day and watch the comings and goings of the fishing fleet, the visiting yachts, the antics of the assorted seabirds, dolphins, the explosions of the massive baitballs as they were attacked by tarpon, king fish, bonito and jacks, all clearly visible. You would however soon run short of the necessary bits of fruit or crumbs to feed the extensive birdlife that visit the balcony. We soon got into the rhythm of Wavesong, being up at dawn and most nights in bed by 10 pm. This is far from our usual routine, but one which was pleasantly relaxing. The village is rather more extensive than we had thought. Before arriving we didn't aim to use the cooking facilities in Wavesong, although they are more than adequate, but wondered if we would be restricted to just a couple of places to eat. Not so at all. We ate well, and don't be fooled by the unimposing exteriors to some places. Marguerites for example served us up with a monster lobster, photo attached, with trimmings and with an additional dish of really tasty dish of shrimps, all for under TT500. Just remember to bring your own beer. Castara Restreats is a little more refined and inclusive of wine we paid just a little more, with great service from Kenny who recognised us from just having seen us in the street a few days earlier. Sharon serves delicious food at the Boathouse. Sadly, this is mostly a lunch venue, but we did book a table for the Wednesday night drum routine which was a great night. The atmosphere was rocking, especially when the locals started to turn up, culminating in an amazing limbo session with the local champions taking part. We retired at midnight on the excuse that we had to meet Ali Baba on the beach at 6 am for a booked fishing excursion, but we were told that the party only wound down around 2 am. As for fishing, I must admit I did pack a travel rod (9 foot Shimano Beastmaster for those in the know) with the aim of chucking a few lures around. In hindsight, I wish I had brought a boat rod instead. We went out with Brian, aka Ali Baba for a 6 hour fishing excursion - $250 for the boat, with all the banter you can take from a hugely knowledgeable and likeable Brian. We had masses of fish. The evening time is better, and we ended up with jacks, barracuda, bonito, lizardfish and amberjacks. Brian assisted cleaning the fish and we therefore had more than enough for the next couple of nights' dinner, plus we made ourselves popular with neighbours by giving some away. For those who like serious angling, there is a lot out there. We had the aim of renting a car for a couple of days but Lavorne, our housekeeper took us on an all-day excursion around the northern part of the island, all for TT600 which really satiated our immediate curiosity about the island, while giving us a very personal insight into the culture and history of the places we visited. Plus, she knew all the best places to stop - breadfruit icecream at Charlotteville - yummy! Needless to say, we saw some beautiful sights. We shall save the car for our return visit. You can rent mask, snorkel and flippers (recommended) to see the amazing coral and fish life just beside the Bay. We invested in our own masks with prescription lenses and a whole new world opened up for us. We did see a turtle one day too. At Castara/Wavesong, we felt safe. We met some great characters. Yes, there are one or two unsmiling people, but you get those anywhere, but they were more than negated by the helpful, kind people, such as Lavorne and Rolling, our housekeepers, Hazel and Benghi who provide supplied us with freshly baked bread and fresh fruit, Porridge who lives nearby and is a great source of info, Graham, the ex-pat who lives next door. The list is endless. Any downsides to the property? You have to be prepared for the number of steps to access the property from the street. Outsize luggage is not a good idea. Be prepared for insects, but that is normal for the tropics. There are 4-5 very large stingrays that patrol Heavenly Bay. We were wary of them, and were given conflicting advice about how dangerous they can be, but we kept our distance anyway. Beyond that, we can just say that if you book Seascape, you will not look back. It is a first-rate property, with very obliging owners in the middle of paradise. We shall return, and we don't say that often. Enjoy!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abssy2015
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent a wonderful 10 days at Wavesong in Castara. We love the village, the people and the property, and when they say that Seascape/Wavesong is the best property in Castara we can fully endorse that view. We never ceased to tire of the view from our extensive balcony, perched right out over the beach and the waves, it could be possible to just sit there all day and watch the comings and goings of the fishing fleet, the visiting yachts, the antics of the assorted seabirds, dolphins, the explosions of the massive baitballs as they were attacked by tarpon, king fish, bonito and jacks, all clearly visible. You would however soon run short of the necessary bits of fruit or crumbs to feed the extensive birdlife that visit the balcony.

We soon got into the rhythm of Wavesong, being up at dawn and most nights in bed by 10 pm. This is far from our usual routine, but one which was pleasantly relaxing.

The village is rather more extensive than we had thought. Before arriving we didn't aim to use the cooking facilities in Wavesong, although they are more than adequate, but wondered if we would be restricted to just a couple of places to eat. Not so at all. We ate well, and don't be fooled by the unimposing exteriors to some places. Marguerites for example served us up with a monster lobster, photo attached, with trimmings and with an additional dish of really tasty dish of shrimps, all for under TT500. Just remember to bring your own beer. Castara Restreats is a little more refined and inclusive of wine we paid just a little more, with great service from Kenny who recognised us from just having seen us in the street a few days earlier. Sharon serves delicious food at the Boathouse. Sadly, this is mostly a lunch venue, but we did book a table for the Wednesday night drum routine which was a great night. The atmosphere was rocking, especially when the locals started to turn up, culminating in an amazing limbo session with the local champions taking part. We retired at midnight on the excuse that we had to meet Ali Baba on the beach at 6 am for a booked fishing excursion, but we were told that the party only wound down around 2 am.

As for fishing, I must admit I did pack a travel rod (9 foot Shimano Beastmaster for those in the know) with the aim of chucking a few lures around. In hindsight, I wish I had brought a boat rod instead. We went out with Brian, aka Ali Baba for a 6 hour fishing excursion - $250 for the boat, with all the banter you can take from a hugely knowledgeable and likeable Brian. We had masses of fish. The evening time is better, and we ended up with jacks, barracuda, bonito, lizardfish and amberjacks. Brian assisted cleaning the fish and we therefore had more than enough for the next couple of nights' dinner, plus we made ourselves popular with neighbours by giving some away. For those who like serious angling, there is a lot out there.

We had the aim of renting a car for a couple of days but Lavorne, our housekeeper took us on an all-day excursion around the northern part of the island, all for TT600 which really satiated our immediate curiosity about the island, while giving us a very personal insight into the culture and history of the places we visited. Plus, she knew all the best places to stop - breadfruit icecream at Charlotteville - yummy! Needless to say, we saw some beautiful sights. We shall save the car for our return visit.

You can rent mask, snorkel and flippers (recommended) to see the amazing coral and fish life just beside the Bay. We invested in our own masks with prescription lenses and a whole new world opened up for us. We did see a turtle one day too.

At Castara/Wavesong, we felt safe. We met some great characters. Yes, there are one or two unsmiling people, but you get those anywhere, but they were more than negated by the helpful, kind people, such as Lavrone and Rolling, our housekeepers, Hazel and Benghi who provide supplied us with freshly baked bread and fresh fruit, Porridge who lives nearby and is a great source of info, Graham, the ex-pat who lives next door. The list is endless.

Any downsides to the property? You have to be prepared for the number of steps to access the property from the street. Outsize luggage is not a good idea. Be prepared for insects, but that is normal for the tropics. There are 4-5 very large stingrays that patrol Heavenly Bay. We were wary of them, and were given conflicting advice about how dangerous they can be, but we kept our distance anyway.

Beyond that, we can just say that if you book Seascape, you will not look back. It is a first-rate property, with very obliging owners in the middle of paradise. We shall return, and we don't say that often. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denisejc1...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't fall for the other reviews, we did!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our first trip to Tobago, it was my partners 50th Birthday and naturally we wanted to stay somewhere special, Seascape looked perfect! Sadly it was not the special destination we expected. Don't be fooled by other reviews or the pictures, it's definitely not the newly crafted, comfortable high quality retreat described on the website.

Having stayed in both apartments, Seascape is in our opinion poorly maintained and overpriced, we paid over £110 a night, it was very poor value, we booked somewhere special but sadly never received it. Both apartments are tired and in need of much TLC, the pictures on the website were clearly not taken recently. On arrival we were greeted by a tired and poorly maintained grubby beach/tree house. We spent the first hour cleaning up so we could feel more comfortable, duly noticed by Rollings wife who said ‘thank you, we were the cleanest guests she ever had’. The showers were pretty awful; Rolling did his best and replaced the shower head upstairs, he was not able to remedy the downstairs in either apartment so we ended up descaling both the downstairs shower heads with lemon juice just to get a decent shower, future guests would thank us! The shutters were in poor condition, many of them inoperable or broken, some of the shutters actually fell out when we tried to adjust them, Rolling had to retrieve them from the drop to the beach. Handles were missing from cupboards and doors, the front door handle was broken and needs replacing. Poor lighting, many of the bulbs were either missing or not working. The bed sheets although clean were stained, the mosquito nets were very grubby, we couldn’t sleep upstairs for the first four nights as the mosquito net was too small for the bed. All the soft furnishings were very dirty and need replacing. Most of the kitchen equipment need replacing, they are old, rusty, and worn up. The fridge in Wavesong is on its last legs and struggles to keep anything cold. It is all the little things in life that make the difference, the welcome fresh fruit was missing too!

We chose the most expensive accommodation in Castara because we wanted to make our stay really special and celebrate my partners birthday in style, you are only 50 once! We thought if we paid more we would have a more enjoyable stay, even the reviews on trip adviser were a good sign, how wrong we were. At the time of booking we considered Lillibets at only $85/night, on reflection, not choosing Lillibets was a big mistake, it would have been much more comfortable and better value for money. It's also in a shady spot set back from the beach which means you can use the veranda during the day. Unfortunately although the views from Seascape are lovely, it's in full sun for most of the day which means you can't really use the veranda or have the shutters open until its the sun goes down and the mosquitoes come out!

We expressed our concerns to the owner David Bray, although he said "it is abundantly clear that the apartments were not up to snuff. For that, I am very sorry" he offered several excuses and gave us just £30 towards a meal at Castara Retreats, we felt this poor recompense for false advertising. Don’t be fooled, that way you won’t be disappointed!

Overall very disappointing, we have posted a few pictures too so you can see for yourself.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette...
Lake District, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A place to make perfect memories”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There's a notebook in Wavesong, written in by previous guests, that tells you many useful things, amongst which is the fact that many people return to this truly wonderful house.
From what we could see from our travels around the island, Castara itself is a very special place. The community is small, extremely friendly and full of larger than life characters. It's not a resort. It is populated by real, fascinating people.
The water and beaches are a dream and the surrounding forest spectacular.
The wildlife won't let you down. If I listed the birds, fish and plants that you are guaranteed to see, this would be a very long review.
What sets Wavesong apart from other rentals is its position, with the balcony overhanging the small but perfectly formed Heavenly Bay. The entire seaward wall opens up so that you could lie in bed and watch the moon sparkling on the water. Spend the afternoon surrounded by your friendly, multi-coloured birds on the balcony, watching the massive (also friendly) stingrays cruising below and the pelicans, frigate birds, cormorants and others helping themselves from the huge and clearly visible shoals of fish. Have a swim and see how quickly you lose count of how many beautiful fish (or squid, octopus, maybe even turtle) you've seen. Come back up the steps (careful not to slip on the mangoes, breadfruit and many other ludicrously abundant fruits that litter the pathways), have a shower, pour yourself a drink and watch the sun sink into the Caribbean. There may be dolphins playing in the red, pink, golden light. As the awe inspiring under-lighting fades, watch the fireflies flitting about in the twilight.
The bed is very comfortable and there is a fan large enough to keep you as cool as you like.
The big fridge can look after your food and booze and the kitchen is well equipped.
The couple who look after the place, Lavorne and Rolling, are people you'll be glad you met and David, the proprietor will be ready to help with any issues you may have.
As others have said, take earplugs. The waves are right under your balcony, the cockerels can't tell the time, the dogs find night times cooler, the wild turkeys deserve the bad reputation they have, despite being the national bird. Also, if any of the local kids have found it hard to get out of bed, the school bus will blare its horn at 6:00 in the morning.
Also, if you like a glass of wine, get as much as you can in duty free on your way in. It's hard to find a decent bottle anywhere in Tobago and it costs a lot.
One last thing, leave your camouflage pants at home; it's illegal in Tobago!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The abundance of remarkable things visible from our balcony.
Liked least: Shortage of decent wine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas131...
vienna
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our place in paradise”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at SeaScape and again we fell in love with the house and the fantastic view. We stayed in the Wavesong apartment for two weeks and it was a bit like coming home. It was just wonderful to wake up in the morning to the sounds of the waves and the birds, opening the shutters and enjoy the unbelievable view to the crystal clear sea. The balcony overlooks the bay and is a great place for breakfast or watch the sunset in the evening. The Castara reef is also a very good place for snorkelling. We saw many colourful tropical fish and we had the great good fortune also to swim with turtles - two times! This really is paradise. Out of the many islands we have travelled, we rarely felt so relaxed and happy than we did here. The rooms are very clean, tastefully furnished and spacious. The kitchen is really well equipped, there was nothing we needed that wasn't there. Bingi’s shop up the road provides everything for your daily needs. For us it’s the perfect place.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and a very relaxing spot”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at SeaScape thank you. The apartment had the best views of anywhere we've ever stayed before - just fabulous! We really liked Castara and felt it was definitely the best place to stay on the island. Rolling and his wife were extremely helpful - on the first morning we had a problem with no water but Rolling was there to fix it within about 30mins. So we would heartily recommend SeaScape (although maybe not for people with mobility issues!).

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing