We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Almond Tree Restaurant

D'Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: D'Almond Tree Restaurant is a simple, small and remote family owned restaurant situated directly on the beautiful beach of Castara.It can be found hidden between an almond tree and various other fruit trees.We offer a variety of local and Caribbean food for lunch and international/Caribbean food for dinner.Breakfast is done only by order.We are famously known within the village for Vera's delicious roti,which is served only for lunch. We are not licensed to sell alcohol , however we allow our customers to bring along there own for lunch and dinner.Come and dine with us and experience a simple, delicious and unforgettable meal.We are open from Monday- Saturday from 12:30 noon- 9:00pm. Closed on all Sundays.We also rent two apartments at affordable prices at our remote residence,which is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the beach. Apartments are self contained, with bathroom, kitchenette, that is ready to cook,toaster over, microwave,gas cooker, refrigerator hot/cold water, fans and a fantastic outside porch with a view of wildlife and nature.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Small family run restaurant on the main Castara beach. Opej for lunch and dinner. Food cooked fresh so you have to wait but have 2-3 well-prepared dishes daily and serve great chips as well! Not licensed. Really friendly and helpful staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your review Karen, we really appreciate it, Glad you enjoyed our food and hope to see you in the future, on your next visit to beautiful Castara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good roti”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

had rori for lunch twice, very good. very friendly waitress ihd fish one day and chicken the next. it comes with lentils in a source and squash there are chickens adjacent to it on the beach soft drinks are very reasonable it does not sel alcohol

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeCockcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thanks Mike, Glad you enjoyed our roti, we are famously know for the best roti in town.
We are not licensed to sell alcohol , but we allow our customers to bring in their own.Thanks again for your review!!!
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Castara. Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Maroushka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Lovely food and particularly good service from Maroushka, the proprietor's daughter, who is very friendly and informative and knows a thing or two about food! Fresh fish from the grill, lovely local salads, delicious roti. The location is perfect right on the beach. C&E x

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you Chis and Emma, It was a pleasure meeting you guys. I enjoyed cooking for you guys.
Thanks for supporting me almost everyday while you guys were staying in Castara. I really appreciate it. Miss you guys loadsssss. See you soon. Take care until we meet again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good value tasty food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

perfect setting for this unpretentious little cafe. good food good value in lovely Castara Bay. do not miss it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thanks Susan, glad you enjoyed our food, hope to see you in Castara soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have been regular visitors to Castara since 2005, and D'Almond Tree is our favourite spot for a relaxing meal and friendly chat with the owners, Vera and Christmas Fraser, and their daughter, Mariska. D"Almond Tree is an open-air restaurant located right on the beach. It is named for the huge and ancient almond tree that rises in front of the restaurant. The menu is simple, delicious and lovingly prepared. It always includes fresh fish -- literally the catch of the day -- grilled with a sprinkle of pepper and salt and maybe a squeeze of lime juice -- absolutely delicious! While the restaurant is not licensed, you are welcome to bring your own beer or wine.

We also often go for the lunchtime rotis, a Trinidad and Tobago specialty that involves vegetables, chick peas and sometimes chicken or mutton, in a spicy curry sauce, wrapped in a thin bread shell. Vera makes a fabulous hot sauce which adds that Trini zing ... of course, the hot sauce is not for the timid and is optional!

Sometimes, if you are fortunate, Vera makes a traditional Tobago breakfast ... don't miss this! We are heading back to Castara in a week, and as always, our first night will feature dinner at D'Almond Tree. Can hardly wait!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheP0wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Many thanks to the Powells :) i feel like i've known you guys forever. You guys have always showed us your love, support and kindness.
Many thanks to you guys and see you next week :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D'Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D'Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing