We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming restaurant serving delectable rotis”

D'Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: D'Almond Tree Restaurant is 100% locally owned.Situated adjacent to the beach in big bay Castara, we are open for dinner ONLY at 6:30pm from Monday to Saturday.No alcoholic beverages are sold.However we allow our guest to bring along there own wine or beer.
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our third visit to Castara, and D'Almond Tree continues to be one of our favourite places to eat. We enjoy this small and enchanting restaurant for its simplicity and the lovely warm welcome from Vera and Mariska. They serve a choice of tasty Caribbean dishes, our favourite being the lunchtime rotis of fresh fish, chicken or goat - delicious!
Mariska and Vera, it was lovely to see you again; sorry we didn't get a chance to say goodbye.
Our best wishes, Julian, Juliet, Lewis and Oscar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was such a pleasure seeing you guys again, after so many years, glad you guys still enjoy our food. Looking forward to seeing u all in the future, thanks again for all the support :) Cheers to u guys !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for D'Almond Tree Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a very rustic restaurant located on the beach itself. Looks a bit like a shed with seating. The view is lovely of castara bay. The food is simple but tasty - mostly rice, beg, beans, chicken or fish. Enough to satisfy our appetites after a long time in the water. Also produced a lovely vegetarian plate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was certainly a pleasure serving you guy, hope yo see u again. Cheers !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is an unassuming beach shack restaurant in laid back Castara. The first selling point for us was that it was open when it should be, most places are shut for lunch in Castara. We were welcomed warmly and genuinely by the lovely chef Mariska who runs this with her parents. She is a qualified chef and her finishing touches and fresh food cooked to order are proof of this. She made us rotis, with curried chicken, fantastic shark, chargrilled lamb all accompanied by fresh crunchy vegetables and salads, no complaints from two foodies ! The restaurant is not licensed but you can bring your own bottle of rum in if you desire, we didnt because we had a steep climb back to our villa and in 100 degrees with lots of foliage and iguanas and chickens running about, you need to be steady on your feet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank holidaybugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was certainly a pleasure serving you guy, hope yo see u again. Cheers !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Veera who owns the restaurant and cooks is a great lady! and the roti and fish she makes is amazing. Food in castara is generally expensive so don't expect it to be cheap because the place itself is a hut. if you try the food though it is well worth it.

1  Thank mayuntha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Glad to know we serve the best fish and roti in Castara, It was our pleasure , Hope to see you again on your next visit to Castara . Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have visited D'almond tree in the past, about 6 years ago, and loved it then. This time around it was even better, we had our 4 and a half year old son with us and he is usually a fussy eater, but he loved the fresh food served to us by Mariska.

The restaurant is in a truly beautiful setting, right on the beach in Big Bay, Castara. A idyllic, fishing village where the effects of tourism have not spoilt the neautiful landscape in any way. The restaurant is clean and airy. The service is great, and the food always freshly cooked to order. We ate there loads during our recent 2 weeks stay.

Our favourite dishes were always the catch of the day, (dolphin fish, white salmon) if you go at lunch time you have to try the superb rotis. Our son liked the chicken breast served with a yummy sweet sauce with rice or potato wedges. The portions are generous and served with fresh salad and there is a good choice of soft drinks.

We also took several members of the family with us on one visit and they all loved the food and atmosphere.

10/10 :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Hey Ali, it was a great pleasure feeding you guys on soooo many occasion, and of coarse taking care of my best buddy Gyl. Hope to see you guys in the future, many thanks for your support :)
Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D'Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to D'Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing