We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Almond Tree Restaurant

D'Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: D'Almond Tree Restaurant is a simple, small and remote family owned restaurant situated directly on the beautiful beach of Castara.It can be found hidden between an almond tree and various other fruit trees.We offer a variety of local and Caribbean food for lunch and international/Caribbean food for dinner.Breakfast is done only by order.We are famously known within the village for Vera's delicious roti,which is served only for lunch. We are not licensed to sell alcohol , however we allow our customers to bring along there own for lunch and dinner.Come and dine with us and experience a simple, delicious and unforgettable meal.We are open from Monday- Saturday from 12:30 noon- 9:00pm. Closed on all Sundays.We also rent two apartments at affordable prices at our remote residence,which is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the beach. Apartments are self contained, with bathroom, kitchenette, that is ready to cook,toaster over, microwave,gas cooker, refrigerator hot/cold water, fans and a fantastic outside porch with a view of wildlife and nature.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Have eaten here a few times now and in my opinion the best place to eat in Castara. Mariska and her parents are always very friendly and welcoming and the food simply devine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Livvy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
We are very happy you had a perfect experience, see you on your next visit to beautiful Castara!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

relaxed atmosphere with good service and great tasting food, friendly staff and varied menu. Good value for money

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are truely happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience here with us at d'almond tree. We do hope you visit us once more on your next visit to Castara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had several fresh and extremely tasty meals here......such as delicous grilled kingfish caught that day and inventive savoury rices and salads.

The location is right on the bay...the larger one.....and is hard to beat.

The restaurant was renovated recently and gives a groovy, fun and colourful vibe with a multi coloured floor and Caribbean Blue woodwork.

Service was charming and intelligent with no pushiness.

Reasonable pricing and a really pleasant all round experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi there , we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your experience with us at d' almond tree, it was truely a pleasure serving you freshly cooked food on a daily basis.
We do look for forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for your review. Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very busy here, but excellent food, you need to to take your own booze coz they dont have a licence. They take about 30 mins to serve everything fresh made. Ver, very reasonable price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KeeleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for visiting us at D'Almond Tree, we are tremendously happy that you enjoyed eating with us. Thank you for patiently waiting, as you stated, it is very busy on a daily basis, and we try our best to work as brisk as possible, since we cook all our food freshly each day.
We do hope you will join us again on your next stop to Castara. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elshout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent, not expensive food, nice view, warm and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

During our stay we discovered this lovely restaurant, with very satisfying good food and superb friendly waitress, very good quality and very tasty food, especially the shrimps were super!! and not expensive.
When we come back at castara we will go back to this lovely place again for sure!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed our food and service. We know that we are doing many thing correctly, when we see so many return customers and new customers. We will continue to serve great good, and have wonderful customer service.
Thank you again , and we do look foward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D'Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D'Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing