We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, view, and atmosphere”

Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open daily from 11am-10pm. For reservations call 766-1010. Castara Retreats Scenic Restaurant with spectacular views of the beach and ocean, on our terraced pavilion deck. We offer a range of home-made foods from fresh fish and quality steak to hand-made ravioli and interesting vegetarian options. We offer a choice of inventive starters including fishcakes, salads and chilled soups, and popular desserts such as chocolate mousse and passionfruit cheesecake. We have a range of cocktails, cold beers, fine wines, Italian coffees, and home-made juices. Our restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation for good food and a warm welcome where guests can take a break, eat and drink, take in the spectacular views and sunsets and observe the wonderful hummingbirds as they display on our feeders.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, view, and atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The food is delicious with excellent fish, grilled perfectly and served with green beans in French dressing. Simple, and locally sourced. Home made tortellini to start. I'm not a pudding person but could not resist sharing my wife's chocolate mousse, made from the single estate chocolate from beans produced at the Tobago Cocoa Plantation. Lovely views across the bay when we arrived at sunset time and was spoiled for choice of freshly made cocktails, home made juices, or a cold beer. After dark we looked onto the up-lit gardens below the restaurant terrace. Nice chats and exchanges too with other diners in this friendly and intimate corner of Castara. Great value with mains at £10 and starters and puddings at £5 or less. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george_g_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyCastara, Manager at Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for visiting us, we are very happy that you not only enjoyed the meal but the whole dinning experience. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    66
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“caribbean/italian food”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

quite different menu to the other restaurants in castara. menu alternates alternate days, fish, pasta, chicken provencal, aubergine salad, escaviche are some examples of the menu excellently cooked and presented by patrizia who is from venezuela and of italian extraction, her husband kenny is very friendly and runs front of house, quite small ans as we were staying in the apartments very convenient and food in a different class from tho other restaurants in the village

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyCastara, Manager at Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Very pleased that you felt comfortable dinning with us. it was a pleasure for us and hope we cross paths again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The restaurant at Castara Retreats has apparently only just opened and hence we would suggest it remains for now a best kept secret. Put it this way, when we booked to stay there we didn't know there was any form of bar or kitchen. Very small ( seat max 15 as a guess?) on an open wooden veranda with the sound track of the waves in the distance, the vibe is very chilled, very friendly and really quite intimate.
The food is just great. A simple but varied menu with beautifully cooked fresh fish, fresh pasta and chicken, goat etc with a definate emphasis on fresh local produce.
If your staying in Castara then pop up for an evening. If your actually staying in the Retreats then maybe you should eat the first night in the village because once you've eaten in the Retreats restaurant you won't want to go elsewhere. Or do as we did, eat in the village for lunch and at the retreats in the evening!
This is just a great place..... Just perfect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyCastara, Manager at Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for dinning with us, we were delighted to have been able to be part of making your vacation "just perfect"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Black Rock, Tobago
 

Been to Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing