We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at Castara Retreats”
Review of Castara Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castara Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding at Castara Retreats”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

After several holidays in Castara we thought there couldn't be a better place in the world to get married. We chose Castara for our wedding as it is the idea location. It is picture perfect and such a beautiful back drop for the ceremony. The Retreats overlooks the beach and is by far our favourite view. The whole proceedings was totally stress free and we were able to spend a week in preparation for the friends and family arriving to celebrate. Porridge, Jeanell and the rest of the team played a massive part in making the whole experience totally enjoyable, relaxing, fun, romantic and overall perfect.

Our party also included children and they were well catered for. Our friends stayed in Coasthanger and they brought a blow up paddling pool for their 2 year old. Ideal to keep the little one happy and cool whilst the parents kept cool with a nice rum and coke.

Room Tip: Fisherman's Lodge has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jak_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
248
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertsfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have just returned form our 7th visit to Castara Retreats and are ready to go back there again!!
Since discovering Castara Retreats 7 years ago, my Husband & I have returned every year, sometimes on our own, sometimes with friends. The minute we get off the plane in Tobago we totally relax & all worries and stress are gone!
Castara Retreats is in a stunning location, overlooking Castara Bay. All the apartments/houses are well equipped and all have stunning views. We love the fact that the shutters can be left up so you have a lovely open living area to enjoy the birdsong & the views. This time we stayed in Fisherman's Lodge, but have also stayed in Rainforest & Birdsong. Every accommodation is fitted to the same high standards & are immaculately clean.
Porridge & his wife Jeanell & their team really are an asset to Castara Retreats and nothing is too much trouble for them to make the guests feel at home.
We were impressed by the new "honour system" to keep a record of trips, food & drink, airport collection, boat trips etc. Its much easier to just settle up with Porridge at the end of our stay, than worry about taking enough money with us wherever we go.
Don't miss the Friday Night BBQ in the wonderful new Pagoda. The Pagoda is a new addition this year and is a lovely place to sit & chill in the daytime in the shade and watch the fisherman on the beach or the many birds in the garden or just read a book! Every time we visit Castara Retreats, Steve & Sue had added something new - new furniture, iPod docks, new BBQ etc. They both work so hard on the upkeep of the place.
The other great addition this year is free Wifi in all the apartments - a great asset if you really have to use your laptop!! There is also a laptop you can borrow from Jeanell if you just need to use the internet & check in for your flights etc.
Castara itself is a lovely unspoilt village right on a beautiful beach which is safe for children and never crowded. The local Fisherman's Co-operative is the place to buy fresh fish daily, the local ladies bake wonderful bread in a clay oven on the beach every Wednesday & Saturday, there are a few good local restaurants and good selection of local shops to meet most of your needs. The locals are very friendly, so go into one of the bars & have a "lime" with them.
All in all Castara & Castara Retreats is the perfect place to chill & enjoy the Caribbean Sun!! We will be back there again next year!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynnUKhertsfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have spent our second holiday at Castara Retreats and absolutely loved our time there. Part of us wants to keep the place secret, to make sure that we can still go there when we want, but that's not really fair. The place, people and surroundings are so charming - we can only hope that it will never be spoilt by mass tourism. It is not a place for people who like 5 star all inclusive holidays with air con, but it IS for those who like luxurious self-catering accommodation in authentic tropical surroundings. Castara Retreats offers 6 different apartments which are extremely comfortable and have stunning views, set in a lovely tropical garden that comes with all the birdlife you can imagine. Getting up at 6 am and listening to the birdsong is an unforgettable experience and if you want more of this, then a trip to the rainforest will fill in the gaps with rare species such as white tailed sabrewing, blue backed manakin and the odd potoo.
Apart from being in a beautiful location, Castara Retreats has a great team looking after holidaymakers. Jeannell, Porridge and Sherwin could not be more welcoming and make your stay truly special. Boat trips, island trips, Friday barbeques under the new Pavillion overlooking the sea are only a few examples.
We feel very privileged to have spent time at Castara Retreats and will definitely be back.
Mike and Annette / London

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed in Birdsong last July with our 2 children of 14 and 10 years and loved it. we were a little disappointed on arrival to realise we were so close to the car park which had not been lear on th einternet but as soon as we were inside we realised it did not matter in the least. The appartment was beautiful with numerous balconies for all times of day, well provided with all we needed. The views were glorious and I could have spent all day in Castara but my youngest had to explore the whole of Tobago. So we went kayaking, swimming with horses (recommended), mountainbiking (a bit tame for the boys), birdwatching in the rainforest with Newton George (the highlight), snorkelling off Little Tobago (excellent) visiting other beaches and probably much more. Not enough time spent just at Castara and we only discovered the joys of sunset swimming late in the holiday. Due to some bad weather we couldn't go on a boat trip but that didn't really matter. Porridge and Jeanell were extremely helpful and we rented a car as and when we needed to which was really convenient. Many eating places in Castara were closed as it was July but we made use of both Marieta and Veronica to cook for us and their meals often did another day! Sleep quality is only labelled wiht 4 instead of 5 as the cockerels and dogs woke us in the mornings but to me that was the charm and I loved getting up at 6 or earlier and sitting on the balcony watching the birds at the feeders. the others just went back to sleep! If the cockerel didn't wake me I felt I had missed some of the day. The only bad experience of the whole holiday was on the last day at a vilage festival when the 'bread ladies' were so extremely rude and completely ignored me even though I was at the front of the queue. It was the rudest anyone has ever been to me even though she did not actually say anything and was obvious racial discrimination as she served the islanders around me. It sadly completely ruined the end of my holiday and has taken me this long to realise how much I did enjoy the holiday despite it. My advice is expect it to happen and do not make going to buy bread the highlight of your day. Better still send someone else! Everyone else we met was delightful. She was just a very rude old lady and you sometimes meet them in the UK too!

Room Tip: Birdsong was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0llygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Castara is a getaway we would recommend to anyone truly looking for a
retreat from the daily grind - an inviting community, a restorative
landscape, and a home just like the one we would have built for ourselves.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvyverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Five stars ­ I am reborn - this is simply the best holiday I have ever been on. Fantastic. The views from Coasthanger Castara Retreats as well as the village were memorable and exciting. I also felt our holiday benefited local people and had a minimal impact on the environment. One tip: take cash with you as the ATMs often do not work in small villages such as Castara. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Snorkelling is not the best in December but we have seen the trumpet fish as well as Quinn angel fish and some others that I do not know the names of just on the small beach. On other hand we have a photo record of at least 19 different bird species – many of them just around the Castara. Porridge, Jeanell and Sherwin are a great team. We loved food at Marguarite. The lobsters in particular. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Castara retreats is such a wonderful place. We stayed in Birdsong which was fabulous - built and equipped to the highest standards with 4 separate deck areas. The village itself is great in a sleepy and relaxing sort of way. You can shop for food, drink at one of the bars or eat out at one of the loc restaurants. Our favourite was the coffee shop for their bacon and egg breakfast. But the real difference is made by Porridge who looks after the place and the guests. He looked after us, invited us to one of his evenings limin' with friends and also to help him pull up fishing pots from around the coast. He was great fun and connected us to the place instantly. We hired a car from him for a day which was very convenient and cheap. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
13.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
215 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
606 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castara Retreats

Property: Castara Retreats
Address: Northside Road | Castara, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castara Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castara Retreats is a small Tobago eco resort superbly located overlooking the Bay of Castara, with stunning views of the Caribbean and mountains. For those seeking holidays in Tobago the seven tropical hardwood accommodations are built to the highest standards and are set right above Castara beach in lush tropical gardens. Backed by the deep green of the oldest protected rainforest in the Western Hemisphere and framed by mango trees and bamboo, Castara Retreats offers Caribbean vacations in a lush tropical paradise where guests can relax and live in the landscape around them. The lodge accommodation offers 15 separately available areas, each with wonderful privacy and exclusive terraces, which can be rented individually by couples, or together for larger groups and families. The accommodation is specially designed to create open, spacious living areas that allow uninterrupted views of the beach and rainforest, cool sea breezes and the natural sights and sounds of the ocean, rainforest and village. Each lodge or apartment is constructed of red cedar, a local hardwood, and is from sustainable sources. The bedrooms, each with en suite showers and either queen size or twin beds all have full size mosquito nets on suspended wooden frames. The spacious living areas have panoramic views of the two beaches looking north-west and also to the coastline looking south-west, and stunning sunsets over the Caribbean. Each accommodation has the advantage of free Wi-Fi internet access. There is comfortable and stylish seating with both indoor and outdoor dining and all three areas are equipped to a very high standard for self-catering. We have recently completed open-decked Pavilion Bar and Restaurant - already receiving excellent ratings - perfect for a romantic dinner for two or for family groups and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castara Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castara Retreats Hotel Tobago
Castara Retreats Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing