We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castara Return”
Review of Castara Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castara Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Returning for a second visit to a place where everything was perfect the first time, is always a bit of a dangerous thing to do, so it was with some trepidation that I returned to Castara Retreats.
Not only was I returning but, on my recommendation, nine of my friends were coming with me! Great potential for great disaster. However, I need not have worried as all the people, the location, the sights and smells that went to make this place so magical last year, remain in place. There are, of course, one or two changes, as no business can stand still, in the shape of a couple of new accommodations and the restaurant, but they don't impinge on the overall feel of the place in any negative way.
I think, for me, the best innovation in the past year has been the grab handle on the Sunarise. This means that entry to the boat is much easier than the previous year, when it was very much harder to climb aboard without complete, absolute loss of dignity, giving a passable impression of a beached seal!
Castara Retreats remains a small oasis of calm in an increasingly mad, frantic world. My shoulders drop about 6 inches as soon as I enter the property and it manages to mend my soul for another year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane-cosmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Castara Retreats
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a week at Castara staying in ‘Rainforest’. I cannot speak highly enough of the location and the friendliness of the local people.
The Village is undeveloped and unspoilt and there are ample opportunities to interact with the local community.
The Castara Team, headed locally by Porridge, are extremely helpful and help make the holiday a wonderful experience.
Highlights:
• A guided trip to the rainforest.
• A boat trip comprising wonderful views, fishing, snorkelling over the coral, and finally a barbecue on a deserted beach (with plenty of rum punch!).
• Just waking up and seeing that wonderful views of the bay and watching the colourful local birdlife.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second visit to Castara Retreats and once again we were`nt disappointed.We stayed in the studio and loved every minute.The team were great as usual and the restaurant is an added bonus.We had a wonderful relaxing holiday and can`t wait to return.Just go / you wont be disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: The studio is perfect for two people
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A little late with this review - but better late than never. My wife and I spent 6 days in the studio room in late August/early September. We totally recommend this room for two people. the view is great, and having the ac in the bedroom for night was nice.
The staff at the hotel were amazing - porridge and Janelle (sp) and Kenny and his wife in the kitchen were happy to provide any info you wanted and help set things up.
The village is tiny, and the hours of most restaurants are hit and miss (esp at lunch) - we suggest going down to djs and buying some pasta or rice etc just in case. Then you can grab some fresh fish from the guys down at the water and enjoy.
If you are looking for a low key, real Caribbean break - find your way here and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I are in the middle of our week long stay at Castara Retreats and we couldn't be happier with our accommodations or our hosts, Porridge and his family. We are staying in Fisherman's Lodge which is perfect for us. The interior has a lovely bedroom, living room, modern kitchen, and bathroom. Both the living room and the bedroom have large open "windows" (no glass - but wooden shutters can be closed over the openings) looking out on a gorgeous view of the ocean and village. We leave the bedroom window open all night - love the breeze and the sound of the waves. We also have a large covered deck and another uncovered deck, both looking out at the ocean. The location is perfect but Porridge and his family really make Castara Retreats special. Porridge stops by at least twice a day to check on us and see if we need anything - from arranging a tour to scaring up a needle and thread - he sincerely wants to make sure the guests are happy. Yesterday we went on a 4 hour snorkeling and fishing tour with his son Shaq, who was wonderful. He knew all the best spots and made sure we had a great time. Tomorrow we are going with Jeanelle, his wife on a tour of the island. We have been so content here that this will be the first time that we will have ventured outside of Castara! We love to travel and have been to many incredible places in the world and I have to say, Castara is one of the best!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

At one time or another, we’ve stayed at most of the Caribbean resorts, but somehow have overlooked Tobago as a destination. This time we finally visited there. We found a wonderful accommodation at Castara Retreats, overlooking the small fishing village of Castara, about half way up the northwest side of the island. It was everything we were looking for and our time there was truly a relaxing pleasure. Castara Retreats is locally managed by Porridge and Jeanell, and offers seven separate holiday accommodations, each with one or two bedrooms and bath, sitting area, kitchen, and porches and decks to enjoy the beautiful scenery. A full restaurant and bar is available, offering nightly three course meals. This restaurant is run by Kenny and offers dining to soft music and beautiful views of the bay and the sunsets. For those who enjoy fishing, snorkeling, motor trips around the island, bird watching or whatever is your preference, just ask Porridge or Jeanell and they will arrange it for you. Traveling into the village is a short walk down the hill, where one can enjoy swimming or sunning on the beach. The village has shops, where you can buy any essentials you might have forgot as well as food supplies if you enjoy your own cooking. There are also restaurants, where you can taste and enjoy the local cuisine and meet other vacationers. We spent ten days at Castara retreats and very much look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We found the staff at Castara retreats, extremely pleasant and helpful as were the locals in the village. The nearby shops were not stocked as well as we had hoped; possibly because it was the rainy season and there were not so many tourists; but with the number of restaurants open including the one on the Retreat this was not a problem... we ate out each day!
Highly recommended was the boat trip with Porridge and Seon which included snorkelling at two different beaches either side of Castara followed by an excellent lunch.
Also highly recommended is the restaurant on the site run by Kenny with food cooked by his wife Patricia and her co worker. It was well presented and cooked and delivered to our table by Kenny with a big smile. If you like Pina Coladas then Kenny's your man!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0j072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
13.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Castara
217 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
626 reviews
7.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castara Retreats

Address: Northside Road | Castara, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Castara
Price Range: £90 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castara Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castara Retreats is a small Tobago eco resort superbly located overlooking the Bay of Castara, with stunning views of the Caribbean and mountains. For those seeking holidays in Tobago the seven tropical hardwood accommodations are built to the highest standards and are set right above Castara beach in lush tropical gardens. Backed by the deep green of the oldest protected rainforest in the Western Hemisphere and framed by mango trees and bamboo, Castara Retreats offers Caribbean vacations in a lush tropical paradise where guests can relax and live in the landscape around them. The lodge accommodation offers 15 separately available areas, each with wonderful privacy and exclusive terraces, which can be rented individually by couples, or together for larger groups and families. The accommodation is specially designed to create open, spacious living areas that allow uninterrupted views of the beach and rainforest, cool sea breezes and the natural sights and sounds of the ocean, rainforest and village. Each lodge or apartment is constructed of red cedar, a local hardwood, and is from sustainable sources. The bedrooms, each with en suite showers and either queen size or twin beds all have full size mosquito nets on suspended wooden frames. The spacious living areas have panoramic views of the two beaches looking north-west and also to the coastline looking south-west, and stunning sunsets over the Caribbean. Each accommodation has the advantage of free Wi-Fi internet access. There is comfortable and stylish seating with both indoor and outdoor dining and all three areas are equipped to a very high standard for self-catering. We have recently completed open-decked Pavilion Bar and Restaurant - already receiving excellent ratings - perfect for a romantic dinner for two or for family groups and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castara Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castara Retreats Hotel Tobago
Castara Retreats Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing