We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to magical Castara retreats!”
Review of Castara Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castara Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd visit to magical Castara retreats!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The world is a big place, yet my boyfriend and I couldnt wait to return to Castara for the second time, and this time stay at Castara Retreats for the duration. The retreat has evolved in the two years since we last visited, but retains its magic and charm! It's the perfect place to unwind and relax in simple but beautifully appointed lodges (we stayed in Fishermans which is lovely and private with incredible views and a veranda). Changes include the terrace restaurant which has been beautifully crafted and serves lovely food and cocktails.
Porridge and Jeanelle (and Shaq!) as always go the extra mile to help and advise and make the holiday special. The team beyond - (the cleaning ladies who also do a laundry service) are lovely.
Will the bar man also extremely helpful and makes brilliant cocktails.
The wildlife is amazing. Insect repellent is a must.
We hope to return for a third time.

Room Tip: Fishermans is gorgeous and one of the most private - very romantic for two. Humingbird one is comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misfit1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
254
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ebeltoft, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Staying at Castara Retreats is like a beautiful dream. Hummingbird 2 with openair kitchen and sittingroom is perfect. The view is amazing and we loved to watch and feed all the different birds. MY favorite: The blue crowned mot mot. Snorkling, Swimming in the waterfall nearby, boattrip with Shaq ( Jeanells delicious food ), roadtrip with Jeanell, all the beautiful and kind people of Castara, what more can you wish for. We will come back.

Room Tip: We loved Hommingbird 2, but anyone will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bente5232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a wonderful week at Castara Retreats in early March. We stayed in the Birdsong lodge. The eco accommodation was perfect, very comfortable, and very well equipped. We had two terraces, which offered stunning views over the bay.
The manager of the lodges is Porridge, who does everything to help to see that you have a wonderful time during your stay, from collecting you from the airport, to arranging car hire, and providing wonderful boat trips to nearby beaches.
The fishing village of Castara is very unspoilt (not a hotel in sight), and characterful, and the local people very friendly. There are a few small shops, and some good but simple places to eat. The beach is great for swimming, snorkeling, and relaxing, and one also has very easy access to the rainforest.
If you want a comfortable, relaxed, and colourful Caribbean holiday this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a wonderful time in the Fisherman's Lodge at Castara Retreats. We had very high expectations of the retreat because of the other fabulous reviews on Facebook and the Telegraph review online and were not disappointed! We have travelled all round the world and have stayed in other (far more expensive) eco retreats, but Castara was by far the best for us. Particular highlights for us were (a) exceptional service: Porridge and Will made our stay fun and relaxing. They were at hand to help with anything, but respected our space and left us to have the kind of holiday that we wanted, (b) top standard accommodation: the accomodation was beautiful, high spec and very private. We particularly loved sitting on our private terrace watching the birds in the surrounding trees, sting rays in the sea and village slow down for the day and (c) location: this is second to none! We love a holiday where we feel part of the environment. We loved the local roosters (much better than the construction work that wakes us up every day in London), watching the fisherman go in and out and the hummingbirds and bats in the evening. We even had an agouti (a sort of large, long-legged guinea pig) that would join us for breakfast some days. We spent most of our days hanging out at the beach and snorkelling in the sea.

We had two dinners in the restaurant and it was fantastic - the ravioli is to die for! The food is cheaper in Castara so you should also try that. We thoroughly enjoyed breakast at Cheno's. We also ate dinner at Margarite's, the Almond Tree and the restaurant on the beach. All the food was of a pretty good standard but for me, Margarite's and the Almond Tree stood out.

My friends and colleagues have commented on how relaxed I am following the holiday and I have to say that it is all down to picking Castara Retreats as our holiday location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carib_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent a week in Hummingbird 2. What a wonderful time! Snorkeled every day, birding the rainforest with Newton, all day snorkel hosted by Shaq, hiked and swam the waterfall, birds IN our room. WOW. Porridge came by every day to make sure we were happy. Great guy. Food delicious (somewhat cheaper in village). We'll be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Both hummingbird rooms view the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Castara Retreats exceeded our expectations. The service was extraordinary, very personal and accommodating.We felt like we were staying in someones home. The setting and view are spectacular. Porridge greeted us and continued to make us feel like we were the only guests. Overall it was a perfect vacation and we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Firstly I have to acknowledge and congratulate Steve and Sue Felgate for constructing the concept of Castara Retreats in all its natural glory, and then pay much gratitude and thanks to Porridge and Jeanell and the extended team for bringing the concept to life.
We stayed in Hummingbird 1 from the 19th Feb- March 15th. Our trip had been booked for 11 months, so we had such high expectations based on the reviews which we had read on this forum. I was really grumpy when we arrived. long flight, etc, although Porridge was so cheerful, and lovely, I think I was looking for faults but I couldnt find any. Its true that you start a gradual process of unwinding; and over three days we melted into the moment, the moment of daily life of the village of Castara.
This process was facilitated by our team at Castera Retreats.
The boat trip with Shaq and Seon was AMAZING!!!! If you do nothing else you must go, even if you are boat sick, take a tablet. You will buzz of this for ages, just do it!!!

Room Tip: Hummingbird 1 was excellent value and had great space and privacy. If you were 2 couples you could r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeeleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
13.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
217 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
9.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castara Retreats

Property: Castara Retreats
Address: Northside Road | Castara, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castara Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castara Retreats is a small Tobago eco resort superbly located overlooking the Bay of Castara, with stunning views of the Caribbean and mountains. For those seeking holidays in Tobago the seven tropical hardwood accommodations are built to the highest standards and are set right above Castara beach in lush tropical gardens. Backed by the deep green of the oldest protected rainforest in the Western Hemisphere and framed by mango trees and bamboo, Castara Retreats offers Caribbean vacations in a lush tropical paradise where guests can relax and live in the landscape around them. The lodge accommodation offers 15 separately available areas, each with wonderful privacy and exclusive terraces, which can be rented individually by couples, or together for larger groups and families. The accommodation is specially designed to create open, spacious living areas that allow uninterrupted views of the beach and rainforest, cool sea breezes and the natural sights and sounds of the ocean, rainforest and village. Each lodge or apartment is constructed of red cedar, a local hardwood, and is from sustainable sources. The bedrooms, each with en suite showers and either queen size or twin beds all have full size mosquito nets on suspended wooden frames. The spacious living areas have panoramic views of the two beaches looking north-west and also to the coastline looking south-west, and stunning sunsets over the Caribbean. Each accommodation has the advantage of free Wi-Fi internet access. There is comfortable and stylish seating with both indoor and outdoor dining and all three areas are equipped to a very high standard for self-catering. We have recently completed open-decked Pavilion Bar and Restaurant - already receiving excellent ratings - perfect for a romantic dinner for two or for family groups and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castara Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castara Retreats Hotel Tobago
Castara Retreats Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing