We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Club Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Estoril(Sal Rei)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunas(Sal Rei)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Riu Touareg(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VOI Vila do Farol(Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
298
555
267
108
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
555
267
108
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamhalf boardwalking distanceboa vistaswimming poolsea viewsmall beachno stressrockswavescovesweetsskillspossibilitycombinationsportscapital
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here last year for a week of R&R and enjoyed it so much we returned again this year. We take half board so just have breakfast which is pretty good. Noticed this year there was a more plentiful supply of fresh fruit; last year when it ran out they just said no more available which was annoying but this year when I asked they just went to the kitchen to get more. So I guess there had probably been some complaints. We like the mixture of nationalities who stay and the size of the resort suits us prefectly as it's not too big. Often there are only about 6-10 other people round the pool so there is a sense of space and not overcrowding. The staff are so friendly and helpful. WE may even go back again next year.

Room Tip: Book a superior sea view room for best view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anchovy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The location of a hotel is very good, near airport. The beach is nice but very small, there are more beaches on the island that are much more atractive. We had standard room, but I didn`t like it. In general, rooms are clean, but fairly furnished and quite old. There are also villas wich have better location and are newly build, nice furnised.
Food is very simple, few types of meals were changing from day to day. I was expecting to have variety of fruit and vegetable but this is not the case. After 3 days I had enough of that kind of food selection... But there is no other choice of restaurant or somethnig... There are some restaurant at the village near the hotel, but you have to walk for 20min (which is not safe) or to take taxi. Another thing that I missed was beach servise, some beach bar, or service... The sunbeds on the beach have seen better days.
Tap water in the hotel is not safe for drinking, so to aviod any medical problems we were drinking only bottled water (it is possible to buy it in the hotel), not taking ice, washing theth with bottled water... There were many poeple suffering from diarrhea and other symptoms.
Staff is friendly but can`t speak english which is problem if you need some kind of help or advice. They speak italian and portugues. 90% of clients are italian tourists, so be prepared for this.

The island is very nice, but next time I would definitely choose different hotel with higher standard and more things to do.

Room Tip: Rooms does not have good standard, take villas.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSprague12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

With the wind blowing predominantly from the north-east this hotel is one of the most sheltered locations in the north of Boavista. The rooms are spacious, but the mattresses not made for sensitive backs. The staff is generally extremely friendly, and the atmosphere relaxed.

The beach down from the hotel is overrated, and had it not been for the neighbouring beach 100 meters south the bathing opportunities would have been non-existant. Prices in the bar are steep compared to Sal Rei, and it is highly recommended to travel into one of the supermarkets in Sal Rei to fill up the fridge in your room. If you like Italians this is the place to be, - but the relatively low number of guests compensates for a one sided influence from the Roman Empire.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Medium quality resort, it's not worth the declared 4 stars. Few variety in food for dinner and lunch. Good breakfast.
Just renewed staff do a great job without being too pushy. Great excursions, mention of honor to Cinthia and Arianna, for their patience. Very good the idea of professional photographers following you during the excursions taking impressive pictures: great job! Standing ovation for Adrian and Laura.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfrizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

After reading previous reviews in english and italian, we were not looking forward to our holiday at all. On arriving it was soon noticed by us that it was definately an italian run hotel at one point near the end of the holiday we were the only english couple there.
Location - Was great and we were able to go in the sea most days.
Hotel - Seen better days, could do with a face lift.
Room - Very large but sparcely furnished.
Restaurant - This was a eye opener, everything came with flies at breakfast and lunch but in the evening it was fine. I wouldn't write home about the food, as not up too much.
Towels/Sun beds - Both these need replacing, as towels threadbare and sunbeds collapse underneath you.
Staff - Very friendly, animation team tried hard with us but didn't really understand us as we don't speak italian and left you alone on beach.
Illness - We previously read about this on trip advisor and got told by the other english people on arrival. As we drunk bottle water all of the time, we didn't get infected.
Overall, thoroughly relaxing holiday, with half a day trip to Santa Monica beach booked for us by Diamond of Cape Verde Experience, who lives up to his name as a Diamond Geezer, he was even at the airport when we left and came over and said bye to us.
Would return, but wait at least another 10 - 15 years when the island is more developed, but not at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stearsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews