We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic place in heavenly location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augerine Guest House
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very basic place in heavenly location”
Reviewed 30 March 2011

OK so the location is stunning in the middle of Beau Vallon beach. But i've got to review the Augerine... and it is a stretch to say that it is any more than basic. The room was clean and he bed was fairly comfortable but that's about it. The breakfast was stale toast a glass of juice and a coffee! The bathroom shower was a dribble and a drip rather than a satisfying way to clean myself. The bathroom itself wasn't decorated - unfinished unplastered walls and it was so hot that we had to run back the bedroom or risk passing out after a few minutes. Fine for 2 nights but please don't stay here expecting anything more than basic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcasebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    78
    50
    26
    16
See reviews for
38
146
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My family of 3 (23, 20 and 15 year), my partner and I decided on the Augerine after some prompt, friendly and very helpful email correspondence with the owners of the hotel.
The hotel is a delight - it is next to a large hotel and, on a couple of evenings, the music from their live bands did drift over to us. The hotel is right on the beach and loungers are provided to take onto the beach. We went for Christmas and the weather was 27 - 30 in the day and 27 in the evening, although we did have a couple of rainy days at the beginning of our holiday which I believe is to be expected at this time of year.
The rooms were simple, spotless with good sized bathrooms. The rooms had air conditioning which worked well and, on the one occasion my son's gave up, it was fixed that day after mentioning it in the morning.
It was lovely to eat in the hotel too - the Creole buffet was fresh and delicious with a choice of local fish, curries, rice and salads. The wine list was limited but adequate.
The restaurant is a delight - the pictures tell the story - an upside down tree with the roots extending to make the ceiling, lined with palm fronds with sand on the floor - really relaxing. We did, on occasion, walk up the beach to some other restaurants, but found we need not have bothered!
Breakfast is included, but was a little monotonous with fruit, toast and eggs being served every day - there was bacon and sausage included on Christmas Day which was a nice touch!
The service is friendly and informal and you feel part of a community, rather than a nameless guest. Our hostess helped us with local tour operators and we had a fabulous day on the island of Moyenne as well as a private hire of a boat to go fishing.
Jet skiing and diving was easy to organise at the hotel next door which kept the younger members of the party happy.
The hotel is around 15 minutes out of Mahe - we used the local buses to get in and out of town which were ridiculously cheap and even ran on Christmas Day!
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation if you want to experience a little of the life in the Seychelles. If you find the large 'all inclusive' resorts more your cup of tea, then this hotel probably isn't for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My wife and I arrived at Augerine around 09:00 following an overnight flight from Paris and we were immediately taken through for breakfast as our room wasn't quite ready (I wasn't expecting it to be available until noon!). We had one of teh suites on the top floor - elegant and spacious with a great bathroom and thoroughly effective airconditioning. Nice lottle touches were everywhere and we stayed put for dinner on our first night. This was great value (for the area) and was really flavoursome Creole home cooking, well presented and efficiently served. All the staff and management (family owned/run) were approachable and friendly, even suggesting restaurants that we should try and it might have been a perfect stay as the hotel is ideally situated for all Beau Vallon's attractions.

HOWEVER, in the evenings we were sometimes driven off the balcony by the sheer volume of noise emanating from the Berjaya next door which had nightly "entertainment" which comprised a Bavarian Oompah band or alternatively a cheesy cover band belting out bile inducing Euro-pop.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maltinmehipflask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel wasn't as good as we had expected. The rooms were average and the service was average too. Location was a huge plus though as its located right on the Beau Vallon beach and you can just walk to multiple restaurants.

The hotel's own restaurant has a good feel to it and the food quality is also pretty decent. Do explore other restaurants though as they are just walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Augerine was a pleasant hotel but unfortunately not impressive. It has a nice enough large room with a nice balcony and was very close to a good beach. However, it was much more basic than I was expecting. In hindsight, probably would have been better to stay at Berjaya or Coral Strand which are located next door either side.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordemais, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Auregine is probably the most authentic hotel in this touristic area. Close acess to the beach. The Beauvallon beach would a very nice beach if jetski would not be available for renting. So the charm of the beach is gone when jetskis are on...
It is nice to have a beach walk.
Hotel is quite charming compared to the next door mass tourism Berjaya hotal...The
restaurant is nice... You can find food easily along the beach for lunch time.
We reserved standard room but they put us on the Colibri suite which was a plus!
Hotel is close to Victoria by local bus.
Overall nice but would not stay more than 2 nights in this area.

Chuong & Karine

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxNumero11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at this small, family run hotel the last week of February. We had booked a standard room, but due to a mix up on bookings, we were upgraded to a "junior suite". This was on the top , 2nd floor, so 35 steps, but more breeze than lower floors and a good sized balcony looking down the garden to the sea, which is only about 50m away. Our "junior suite" comprise a huge bed/sitting room, very comforable bed, plenty of storage, a large comforable settee, armchair, coffee table, large fridge and balcony furniture. Huge bathroom with corner bath and wet-room type shower. There was effective airconditioning. We did not get to see a standard room, but from the garden, we presume they were similar, but smaller? The room rate we paid (€150 as standard room rate) included a good breakfast, with eggs cooked to order. We ate at the hotel several evenings, no menu choice, but a very good buffet and sweet, and at €20 each, represented good value. The location is excellent, just 50m to a silver sand beach and 28C sea. Nearby, along the beach are all sorts of attractions, paragliding, dinghys, diving snorkelling and fishing trips. The hotel is family run, and everybody was very helpful and cheerful. Would we stay again, yes definately, but you do need to book well in advance!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyprus_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.1 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
122 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augerine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augerine Guest House

Property: Augerine Guest House
Address: P.O. Box 936, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Augerine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augerine Guest House Hotel Beau Vallon
Augerine Hotel Beau Vallon
Augerine Guest House Seychelles/Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing