We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read on and take note !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Read on and take note !”
Reviewed 22 October 2007

After reading some of the previous comments about the Berjaya, I was hesitant about staying at this hotel. Quite frankly the comments do reflect the overall hotel experience.
The hotel is rundown and in need of a makeover to bring it in to the modern day. I was lucky to stay in one of the garden chalets and not stuck in the main block which was truly horrendous. Flaking paint, no balconies, views of the car-park and very narrow passageways, including an extremely dangerous spiral staircase.
However, the chalets, larger than the main block, are far from adequate. The furniture requires an update, as the wardrobes were broken, the mini fridge was old and on its last legs and the two armchairs showing much wear and tear. The bathroom was truly disgusting. Broken shower head which sprayed water everywhere except the bath, missing fittings and mould on most of the tiles and drying cord. House keeping do not seem to be able to keep on top of this, either due to lack of cleaning supplies or enthusiasm. Towels were changed infrequently and in the times they were, a full set was never available. On one occasion, I had to call house keeping four times, even then after 24 hours no extra towels arrived.

The main hotel areas are not much better, showing signs of aged wear and tear. The sun loungers for the beach are a throwback to the seventies keeping you in a permanent reclined position, however, the ones around the pool area, despite being covered in old dried in sun cream are comfortable along with modern sun umbrellas.

The service is appalling. The staff are rude and table service is very slow, even when there are four full tables and five staff members.
Food is not great at the hotel. Breakfast is buffet style served in the main Parrot restaurant and on every occasion a full menu was never available. In addition, staff were un-attentive and impolite.
Two other restaurants exist which serve a selection of Chinese or pizza style cuisine, neither of which are that great and expensive.
Room service is available and on the occasion I used it the food was delivered promptly but beware, tea and coffee in the room is not free even though its conveniently supplied next to the kettle.

Overall, this hotel may boast the best beaches compared to the Meridian or Hilton but I would not recommend this to anyone in light of the service and accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    557
    425
    175
    152
See reviews for
397
858
82
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

The hotel is dated and the staff cooking the hot breakfast very unfriendly. Also most days at breakfast the bacon etc ran out.

If you want to stay at this hotel upgrade to the chalets which are situated in the tropical garden and have their own balconies, which are nice as most people sit and have a few sundowners before heading off for supper.

Meals and drinks in the hoel are very expensive and not very good. There are corner shops not far from the hotel where the water, beers and cold drinks are much cheaper and you can put them in your fridge in the room.

There are also good local restaurants which are about a 20 minute walk down the beach. These serve great food and the prices are reasonable.

Try "The Boathouse" for a superb Creole buffet and Baobab Pizzeria for great pizzas and an unbelievable setting right on the beach.

The pool area is fine and the beach is wonderful. Didn't try the gym so can't comment on that.

If you spend most of your time on the beach and don't eat or drink too much at the hotel you should have a wonderful time as the island itself is spectacular and comes highly recommended,

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank marcusCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Just dreadful.

The problem with the Seychelles is that you are stuck with 3 star properties like this one or have to pay a fortune for the 5* star ones with decent service. There's nothing inbetween.

Here for work for 3 weeks. Checked in - surly staff. As reported elsewhere in this forum - distracted is a good word also. First room I was given I did a 360 and walked out. Revolting. The main hotel corridors are like a (bad) student dormitory and are unclean. The room was ancient in furnishings, not clean and the bathroom just disgusting with mould. I then upgraded to a higher class of room (the chalets) which was set aside from the main hotel. A step up from the horrors encountered in the main hotel building but still problems with cleanliness and no separate shower stall from the bath.

Made the mistake of ordering room service on the first night - incredibly rude service down the phone - and the food was revolting. Breakfast is inadequate - stale bread, nothing tropical on display (apart from mango juice) and I didnt touch the cooked stuff. Staff again non-smiling, distracted, wish you werent here attitude. Is it really so expensive to engage staff in customer service training? Surely the (many) defects in this hotel could be covered up somewhat by a slick service operation?

Facilities? Gym is ancient, buildings obviously not renovated since opening in 1974, swimming pool havent tried it, beach very nice though and direct access from hotel.

Why stay here i hear you ask? Well the company wouldnt fork out $800+ a night for a 5* next door (Meridien Fishermans Cove) which we are now all eating at (& other restaurants) and that is absolutely superb. What I really felt sorry was those folks who were actually having to pay out of their own pocket for this hotel, at least I was here on business.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Staff service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank strongvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beau Vallon hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

I read most of the reviews about Berjaya which were not very good but still booked a room there.
The hotel is not the best one in Seychelles of course. but one needs to keep in mind that if you pay for a 3 star hotel the max. service you can get will be 3 star...If you are happy to pay more then there are much better hotels like Hilton Northolme or maybe Banyan tree....? I think Beryaja rooms were not bad..the only complaint i can make is the food at all the restaurant of the hotel was bad and expensive.. especially the breakfast was really poor...On the other hand I think it has the best location being on the very beautiful beach beau vallon...I heard from other people that even Banyan tree do not have such nice beach, and the sea there is very rough there..
also hotel is very close to other restaurants such as Boathouse , al mare, La Perle Noire which are worth trying...also the restaurant La scala which was at bel ombre was very good...
i don't think i would go seychelles again as there are lots of places to see but would definetely recommend it...

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dariaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Fact: The Berjaya is on one of the best stretches of beach anywhere close to Victoria. Fact: The Berjaya's room rates are reasonable. I can even say that my room was quite nice. Maybe all that is enough, but I have a hunch that the resort doesn't have many guests who stay more than once by choice. The lobby is dark and depressing, and begging for a face lift, as are most public spaces of the hotel. The gym is poor. The dinner buffet is a complete ripoff, even for the Seychelles (but a la carte dishes at the two other restaurants are reasonable).

I hope I do not have to stay there again, but there are few other affordable options - and on the plus side, it is only a short walk to the Meridien Fisherman's Cove for a drink or meal. But I would look for a guesthouse in the area next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwidePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Me and my wife spent part of our honeymoon at this hotel (after a week at the Black Parrot Suite on Pralin). I must say that we were quite disappointed when we arrived, it looked more like an old muncipality building than a cosy resort. However we got our room and it overlooked the CARPARK! The rooms and corridors in the main building reminded us of long gone times in Eastern Europe.

We decided to upgrade to one of the new Chalets which was wise. They are spread out in the garden (closer to the beach) and are spacious and have nice balconies. I find it difficult that a resort has two so different product one without any standards what so ever and then something this nice!

Restaurants: Food is OK and service not bad. However you can notice that there is no innovation going at all. The breakfast was quite boring considering the tropical setting. Same story with the bar, has probably looked the same and served the same drinks for the last 15 years.

Me and my wife are still joking about one thing. We had a gala dinner included as part of the package and though that it would be a good idea to choose the Italian bistro style restaurant for our special evening. Now to the fun part, Gala dinner meant that we got a tablecloth (wow) and a lit candle (WOW) on our table. That was it, same food as everybody else, no welcome drink etc. At least we could laugh about it.

Beach: Certainly a nice beach. Would be perfect if it would not be for the "u wanna change money" guys. Also a pitty that there is a lack of sun loungers etc

Diving: Nice PADI dive center, very professional place with friendly service. Yes you thought right, it is not operated by the hotel.

Casino: Would be OK if it was located in Rwanda.... The only purpose of this government run Casino is to take badly needed foreign currency of the tourists. You are not allowed to use the local currency here.

My overall advise would be that this resort would be OK for an active
holiday if you can get a decent rate. Do book a Chalet (they are actually worth the supplement) and do not expect any gourmet experiences. Do go diving, snorkling and fishing! This resort has got the potential to become first class but they would need some really pro-active management and a nice budget for some improvents to the infrastructure

  • Liked — The dive centre
  • Disliked — The poor facilites,the pricing, terrible food
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

....or I would dreaded arriving! I will say that my family and I had a really special time in The Seychelles and have many wonderful memories - the beaches, the wildlife, the weather - all first class. As a destination I would rate it as magical.
However.....it has to be said that I agree with many of the comments given by the majority of reviewees on this site regarding the Berjaya Beau Vallon. I booked this hotel fully aware of it's 3-star status and was prepared to accept it's mid-range standing. Yes it certainly is old and tired, but I found that the room and amenities added up to pretty much what I'd envisaged. It wouldn't have taken much effort to improve the image of the main lobby area by repairing or removing aged table football and pool tables with "out of order" signs on them. The on-site restaurants were pricey and utterly lacking in atmosphere, but once familiar with the lie of the land these were easily ignored in favour of others within a short stroll of the hotel. The Boat House for example was everything you'd expect from a resort eaterie - great food, local charm, a lively atmosphere an very friendly people.
By contrast, what I wasn't prepared for at the Berjaya was the quality of service of many of the hotel staff (mainly waiting and bar staff) which could be described at best as adequate, and at worst distracted and vacant and sometimes downright slovenly. From this I would absolve the Creole Tours rep and hire car guy who were both friendly and very helpful - it may be no coincidence that they were not hotel employees.
Now The Seychelles are not a cheap destination - even in 3-star accomodation - so I believe the minimum to be expected from somewhere which is so dependent on its tourism is a bit of civility and competence.
The hotel experience did not spoil my holiday, I simply learnt to ignore the parts of it that annoyed me. I bought my beer and water from the local shop rather than patronise the lacklustre poolside bar and ate out locally for a fraction of the price and with a lot more fun. I would love to return to the islands at some point in the future but despite it's fabulous beach front location I would have to pass on the Berjaya Beau Vallon and consider the extra expense of staying at a 4-star hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Goalhanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
1.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles

Property: Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Address: P.O. Box 550, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island 550, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greeneries and crystal clear waters, wellness and serenity await at this resort. Situated on the northwest coast of Mahe Island, the largest island in Seychelles, discover the fulfillment of a vacation filled with excitement and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort And Casino - Seychelles
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Hotel Victoria
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing