We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at the Berjaya in June 09 for our honeymoon we were told when booking that we would be upgraded to the deluxe room as it was our honeymoon we was not and spent 8 nights in the main block. The corridoor leading to the room looks like a run down hospial corridoor luckly when you get in your room it is a bit brighter. The room we had was an ajoining room and you could hear everything the people were doing in the next room as if they were in the same room. Beach that the hotel is on is great but the watersports arr expensive food in hotel ok but again for a burger and chips its about 20 euro, weather was great very hot a few showers but there were welcome. To be honest we were a bit dissapointed with the seychelles alround its a pretty place but there is not a lot to do. We are glad we have been but woud not go back, please let ,me know if you want any further advise.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BognorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    483
    371
    161
    138
See reviews for
329
747
74
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We have just returned from our honeymoon in the Seychelles and spent our last 2 nights at the Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay. We decided to stay there as it was in a good loocation and a good price. I think we had been spoilt before as we were in a top hotel in Praslin and then stayed on Denis Island, so this was a bit of a step down.

When we booked the deluxe rooms had already sold out so we booked a standard. While the room was clean, there was no balcony and the corridors felt like being in a hospital. I would definitly tell anyone going to NOT book a standard room - as we were only there for 2 nights we made do, but had we been there for 2 weeks I would have had to change rooms or move hotels.

The public areas were ok - it kind of reminded me of a cheap European package holiday resort - it didn't feel like being in the Seychelles. We were on half board so didn't have to pay for dinners, but from what we saw it didn't seem that cheap. The Chinese restaurant is really good, but on half board you are restricted to just 2 set menus to choose from (luckily we liked the food on them so this was ok). We had the buffet the 2nd night in the parrott restaurant and this was suprisingly quite good with lots of choice. The breakfast wasn't great and lots of the food looked as though it had been sitting there for hours.

One good thing is they start continental breakfast at 5am for people leaving early, which we thought was great as our transfer was at 5:30am so it meant we could have some food before going to the airport - definitly worth knowing. Another thing to be aware of (as it seemed with everywhere else in the Seychelles) is that all prices do not include tax or service charge. So for all food and drink, you have to add 10% tax and 10% service charge, so prices are in fact 20% more expensive than you see on the menus. I don't mind paying 10% service charge if the staff are worthy of it, but I didn't find them overlly friendly or helpful - the bar staff definitly needed to cheer up a bit! The prices in this hotel were all in Seychelle rupees, which we were not expecting as the hotels on the smaller islands all seem to charge euros.

The hotel was right on Beau Vallon Beach so a really good location and lots of watersports to choose from. i would say not to sit right outside the hotel though, as I thought the beach there was really dirty with lots of cigatette buts and food wrappers etc... on the floor, but if you walk along a bit it's ok. Sunsets there are nice also. The other thing that upset us was they have a small enclosure at the front of the hotel with some giant tortises, but they have hardly any room to move about, didn't look like they had enough food and we thought they all looked really depressed. We had seen a number of tortoises on the other islands that seemed much happier. it's nice to have them there for the tourists, but not if they are un-happy. Finally beware of the free cocktail voucher they give you when you arrive - it doesn't include alcohol!!

Overall the hotel was ok if you're on a budget - quite standard and I think if this was the only hotel you went to in the Seycehlles you would be disappointed. Ok for a couple of nights, but then i would either move to a better hotel or go island hopping.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Stayed a week at Berjaya Vallon Beach. Based on earlier reviews here we booked a deluxe room, which was a good choice. The room was nice, with enough room, fridge, air-conditioning, balcony, safe and flat-screen tv. Hotel has four restaurants + bar. Japanese Teppanyaki was our favourite.

Pool was nice, but what I loved the most is the beach. It was great; white sand, warm & clear water, beautiful views & very clean.

Service at this hotel varies a lot and can be very slow and almost rude, but there are also some very nice, warm and firendly people working there. Hotel charges way too much for internet connection - there's a internet cafe just outside the hotel area, it's about 5-10 min walk.

Would recommend this hotel, it's good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bierland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We spent a week at this hotel at Mahe, and yes, this is a nice hotel for the price. An excellent location right on the beach - not as quiet as the Berjaya hotel on Praslin, but the accommodations were much nicer.

I agree with most of the others that the service is very friendly and helpful. But yes - it's service Seychelle-style :) The waitresses are very pleasant, but it's funny that they don't even know their own menu, but this is common throughout the islands, and it's easy just to laugh off.

The Sushi bar is one of the high points of the dining in the hotel. Well worth the 15 Euros or whatever - plenty of chow and the cook is a real pleasure to talk to, Apparently he loves his work and it shows.

The rest of the food (except breakfast which was included and the Pizzeria) was way over priced. Do yourself a favor and take a walk 800-1000 meters north on the beach. There is a Creole Buffet (Euro20) which is awesome, and another good Pizzeria.

We took a boat/snorkeling trip with Michael who has a table/desk on the beach. The entire family had a fantastic time and he's a great barbequer as well. Very professional and family owned.

We also took a snorkeling trip with the Mason's travel agency (they have a rep inthe hotel lobby). Freaking excellent. It was a guided hike through nature, and we met the boat in a bay where we snorkeled and ate. Well worth it.

All in all - it was a great trip. I want to go back :)

PS: Tip - the kayaks on the beach are FREE for hotel guests. The staff didn't mention this until we asked. Ahh, the Seychelles :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

I work for Air Seychelles and have had the privilege of visiting BeauVallon on business many times. This was the first leisure break and I have to say it was fantastic. The accomodation in the garden villas is spacious and very clean, and the room well equipped.

The restaruants are great value for money, especially the Pizzeria where you can buy a tasty pizza for less than £5 in local currency I might add. Drinks are well priced too.

You should be aware that there is the odd cracked tile around the pool and that service is in Seychellois style, slowish, but the staff are very friendly as long as you take the time to say hello and treat them as equals, which of course they are.

the beach is the best on Mahe and is never busy, with lots of space to lay out your towel or bask on your lounger. There are a few locals there who are happy to offer you boat trips, but it is never intrusive and done with a smile.

If you fancy it, there is a local shop just up the road from the hotel where you can buy snacks and a beer or two although it is not expensive to eat and drink in, if you've forgotten the sun creams I dare say you could get them in one of these places.

To sum up, Beau Vallon is a super property for location and value, if you have children you have two pools, one shallow and one for proper swimming and you can get around easily by hire car or bus.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

really nice value for money..the rooms are not the biggest or the nicest but very clean n nice hotel wid the best location if u r looking to enjoy the beach all day long..the tide doesnt seem to affect this beach and u can swim thru the day..
the inhouse restaurants are also very nice,,and enuf choice for vegetarians..or else thers quite a bit close by and its just 15 min to go downtown..
having been to a few other hotels in seychelles i thnk this one has the best location and if i have to go back this is the place to go...
this place being economical has quite a few young people and airline so if u lookin for complete privacy this is not the perfect place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — ran out of beach chairs too soon
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

The anticipation of the Seychelles was...well, lets just say we couldn't sleep for days before we left.

Upon arrival in Mahe, we were greeted at the airport by the local travel guides & taken through to our hotel in the North of Mahe.

Much of what we weren't expecting seemed to be available & much of what we were expecting wasnt available - funny that..

We had booked a deluxe room so those of you who may know the hotel, we were off thru the garden & into our room situated on the left hand side of the hotel.

The rooms are clean & have all the basics..the linen was ALWAYS clean (no sand in my linen). Everything was good & clean but i guess could do with an update. All the rooms are airconditioned & all rooms have safes for personal belongings etc which actually work. The daily room service girls were bubbly, friendly & always left our room with fresh flowers picked from the garden on our bed, next to the bed, in the bathroom. quite delightful.

Perhaps we were fussed over as the hotel staff where aware of our party arriving for our wedding, perhaps not. I got the feeling that the staff are always that friendly.

The wedding was catered for well. Apart from a miscommunication regarding the look of the cake, everything was good. We could not have asked for better service.

Beware, the hotel restaurants are expensive, especially the chinese/japanese restaurant. wow! the pizzeria is nothing to write home about but gets a job done & the staff are pleasant enough, apart from one evening.

The beach is clean & maintained. Lifeguards are on the beach everyday.

We miss the Seychelles everyday since our visit & long to return. We would probably not stay at the same hotel again, but not thru lack of service etc., but rather to get a better feel for other hotels, positions, beaches etc.

We recommend this hotel to anyone who is penny conscious but would still like to visit the Seychelles & have fun. We had a lovely time & would visit again in a heartbeat. Good luck.

  • Liked — the bubbly room service staff
  • Disliked — the high prices at the hotel restaurants
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ak0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
5.1 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
10.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles

Property: Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Address: P.O. Box 550, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island 550, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greeneries and crystal clear waters, wellness and serenity await at this resort. Situated on the northwest coast of Mahe Island, the largest island in Seychelles, discover the fulfillment of a vacation filled with excitement and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Hotel.de so you can book your Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Hotel Victoria
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort And Casino - Seychelles
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing