We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value on a beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Certificate of Excellence
Sabie, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value on a beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Excellent location on the beach at Beau Vallon Bay. Good food – we stayed on half board basis – including a full buffet breakfast. Lovely swimmimg pool. Tea and coffee station in the room, and a tiny fridge (no ice compartment). A no-nonsense budget hotel with pleasant staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Major_S_12, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear “FuzzySalt”

Thank you for your kind feedback on our resort during your recent visit.

I would like to firstly thank you for your valuable feedback, as such feedback helps us to improve both our services as well as our product. We were pleased to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.

We have noted your generous comments in regards to our accommodation standard, the good breakfast, the hotel idyllic location and its picturesque beach. Such kind feedback serves as an additional inspiration for our team.

“FuzzySalt” I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again.

Warmest regards
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    562
    300
    115
    106
See reviews for
326
808
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel and found the facilities to be very adequate. There is nothing about this hotel that will get you writing home but the beach and location it is on are fantastic. There is one of the most famous dive schools in the Seychelles attached to the hotel and I had the pleasure of joining with then for the annual Whale Shark survey. This became one of the most memorable moments of my life when we went on the boat trip, with microlite spotters relaying the locations of the Whale Sharks (and Mantas) to the boats and we sped off to find them (two dips two sharks, Fantastic!!!). This whole jaunt only cost the price of a dive (please check current prices). I will upload my photos and underwater video from this trip, but it became the trip of a lifetime for myself and my wife. We went on a special for our wedding anniversary (October), booking through Expedia (sorry TA) and located our own hotels and flights/transfers etc. We did flight to Mahe, internal flight to Praslin Island, ferry to La Digue (best beaches in the world, bar none) see my photos, (I could write for hours on this, Giant Tortoises etc, etc), we spent three days there B&B, then ferry back to Praslin, four days B&B (Special hotel, out of this world), then flight back (twenty mins) to Mahe for last week and Whales shark conservation, one day trip to Bird Island and snorkelling and a few dives. To cap a short review, the coral Island Hotel was basic three star (UK) with no frills, except that the pool, outside bar at night and beach were totally Seychelles, so hey, the room is only for sleeping, the hotel restaraunt was very good, for the price, we went out for a couple of meals downtown, Al La Carte available in hotel, Indian, lots of places downtown, very nice rstnts, lots of choice. Room service was good. no complaints at all. There are more luxurious hotels down the beach and over the island but but very expensive. We had a great time there, the staff were brilliant. The dive school attached was nothing short of world class (regards to all) please do the October Whale Shark Observation/Conservation trip from the Hotel, help save these fabulous but endangered species, please do hire a car, and do the "round Mahe in a day" trip. The coast road is fantastic and go throught the clouds and rain coming back over the top of the island through the tea plantation past the BBC World Service Transmitter. As I stated earlier, I could ramble for hours over the whole trip but Coral Island hotel was a great base for our last week in this beautiful locataion, do not miss La Digue (Bounty Adverts!!!!), we have dreamt of this trip since coming back and are now going Maldives for next Anniversary this October, on the Yasawa Princess, so will compare. Anybody wants further info on diving or the other Islands,I will write something up for them and load photos etc. Have a PDF of the dive locations for Mahe and other stuff if anyone is interested please mail me. Would go again tomorrow, but dont let the hotels rule your holidays, accept that unless you pay a lot of money, you cants g'tee quality but if its basic you are going to have to suffer (without seeing the Maldives)in the best place in the world it could happen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Mr Jim4502,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our staff has met your expectation. They work exceptionally hard to give each guest a personalise service. Thank you also for your feedback on our restaurants and the quality of the hotels.

Apart from the hotel, we can see that you felt in love with our small island. Indeed Seychelles is a gem with a fauna and flora simply outstanding.

In closing, we thank you once again for sharing your valuable feedback with us here on this forum and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Coral Strand is located at the beautiful Anse Beau Valon beach and is a good place to stay. It is still under construction and has had recent soft opening (with good discount!). But the rooms are good and comfortable.

The hotel has a good Indian restaurant (Mahek) but book your seats in advance even if you are a hotel guest. Don’t even try the regular restaurant for dinner. Better walk 400m down the road and there are a few very good restaurants.

The staffs are well-behaved, though we did have some issues in getting a room initially even though we were checking-in at 5:00 PM.

Overall a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Heads-up: Don’t look for ocean facing rooms – none of the rooms is actually “ocean facing”. But it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Traveller Foody,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel and in particular our Hotel the beach, the room and our Indian restaurant. This fabulous feedback has been shared with our team in the meantime and will motivate in order to better serve and satisfy our guests.

Further to your reviews on our main restaurant, we regret that it has not met your expectation however we would like to reassure you that we putting all emphasis to propose a quality service to our guests in our main restaurant.

“Traveller Foody”, we do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
313 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

After reading reviews, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is going through a renovation, which is currently not impacting most of the rooms. I believe the renovation will be completed in September, but I’m guessing longer. The satellite TV was not working nor was the room phones. The hotel was offering a 50% discount on rooms from May to July, I assume due to the renovation and low travel season. This made it a great deal for the Seychelles.

The hotel is situated right on Beau Vallon, one of the nicer beaches in Mahe. I recommend getting an ocean view room. The room was clean and comfortable. I had a great view of the pool area, beach and ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool, bar and restaurants are right on the beach area. There are three restaurants, a nice Indian restaurant, a café style restaurant and a buffet restaurant. All three were good. In addition, there are a few restaurants a short walk along the beach. My favorites were the Fish House and La Plage, both less than a 5-minute walk along the beach. The beach area has all sorts of water sport options and is popular with locals on the weekend. The sunsets are spectacular.

The hotel does not have concierge service, but they call a travel agent to arrange tours. There are two main tour companies, Creole and Mason’s. Check their websites for the tour that suits you. I would highly recommend a day tour to Praslin and La Digne, and a trip to St Anne Marine Park. The hotel is about a 15-minute ride from Victoria. There is a local bus that picks up near the hotel, or a taxi ride is 200 rupees each way. The airport taxi is 500 rupees each way. Wi-fi is available and free.

Room Tip: ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear “SolarT”

Thank you very much for your gracious feedback during your recent stay to the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

We have noted your generous comments in regards to our accommodation, the hotel location, the beaches and the cheerful surroundings of the hotel. Such kind feedback serves as an additional inspiration for our team.

We regret all disturbances caused by the construction on-site together with no TV and no phone in the room. We would like to reassure you that we are putting all of our efforts to complete all the renovation which expected to finish by the end of September 2012.

We glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you for an another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is described as "Smart Choice" hotel, which I would interpret as what do you want out of your hotel? Bottom line is that it's an average hotel in a beautiful location, so it comes down to what you want to pay. Because they were on "soft opening" with a lot of construction, we paid half price (for a single room King Bed 90Euro per night.) For that price you get a nice, clean, small room with a beautiful view.

Positives:
1. Location: Right on the beach, nice pool, fantastic views.
2. Pool bar with live music until 2230. Family friendly unless a visiting military ship is in port.
3. Indian restaurant on premises was excellent
4. Buffet breakfast...selection was good and decent quality, included in the price.
5. Room was clean, updated, and adequate. Make sure to be careful with the shower doors...if you don't "crack them inward" a little the water pours out onto the bathroom floor.

Negatives:
1. Soft opening, so phone and TV didn't work. Unlike others in our group I did have a working room safe. Construction still starts at 0800 everyday, although this should be winding down by the end of July. The part of the hotel where guests stay is generally functional, and not impacted by any of it other than the noise. If you're a late sleeper it may be annoying but otherwise OK.
2. Service: Most front desk staff seem indifferent. No concierge service of any kind, basically your front desk reception staff are also your local information sources (several of whom are foreigners that just started working there and know nothing of the Islands).
3. Internet: While it is free wireless, it is ridiculously slow. I'd rather pay a little extra for quality internet. Others in our group walked next door to the neighboring hotels to pay $8/hr for high speed internet to Skype, etc.

We were definitely happy for the price we paid. The hotel is trying, and is clearly looking to establish itself as a nice but cheaper option in Beau Vallon. Not sure what the prices will be after the construction is complete....for 90-100Euro per night it is a fantastic deal, but if I were paying 200Euro per night or more, I'd recommend staying at the Berjaya, Le Meridian, or Hilton as you will get so much more for your money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear “dulacdoc’,

Thank you for your positive feedback which we will be very constructive in the future for our staff. Indeed your definition of “Smart Choice Hotel” is correct as our main is to provide modern, comfortable rooms and all at an attractive and affordable price to our guests. Overall we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Allow us to reply you regarding the negative points.

We are still under soft opening with renovation work under progress. Rest assured that we are doing all our best to complete all work as soon as possible. We are expected to complete all work by the end of September 2012. I believe after all these renovations, there will not be any issue regarding the shower cubicle, the TV and the phone. Just to keep you updated, the TV in almost 75% of our rooms is operational. For the lack of information of our front office staff, the Management has scheduled Customer Service and Customer Service Excellence training which shall begin this week for all staff. We believe with such training we can give a highly informative and personalise service to each of our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Warm regards
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

DISCLAIMER :To be fair to the hotel , I visited this hotel while on work and not on vacation and this is clearly not a business hotel.
The hotel is set on the beau vallon beach and the view is outstanding. There is a outdoor bar and restaurant and a couple of regular restaurants. The check in process was a little slow but that was due to some issues with processing credit cards for payment. The rooms are quite nice with a sit out facing the sea and the pool. I did have a problem with shower causing a minor flooding due to what seemed like a choked plumbing. Another colleague faced the same problem in another room and we both couldn't get it resolved. Service on the rooms seemed well meaning and friendly but not effective is resolving issues. The internet was quite a pain to get to work - the friendly advise was to go to the open air bar as the quality was better. Noted but not satisfied .
Breakfast spread was good and the restaurant also has a great view . The service was friendly and professional. We tried both restaurants and the experiences were good.
There is construction work happening all around but did not bother me in anyway.
Overall , i felt that the location and view more than compensated for minor niggles .

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear “Sundarar”

Thank you very much for your gracious feedback during your recent trip to the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

We have noted your generous comments in regards to our high accommodation standard, the hotel idyllic location and its picturesque beach. Such kind feedback serves as an additional inspiration for our team.

I have shared your feedback with our chief engineer in regards to the flooding in the shower cublicle and corrective measures have been put in place to avoid future occurrence.

In closing, I thank you once again for sharing your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the coral strand for 9 nights we had the family room number 301. The room consisted of two rooms. All renovated clean and modern. The first night they made the beds up but only gave us one extra bed although we have two children. We told them the problem, went to dinner and came back to find a extra bed added to the room.

We were told there would still be building work going on as the hotel is not completely finished. The car park is a building site but as it is at the front of the hotel we were not disturbed by it at all. They are also building a lift shaft that was very near our room. We were woken by banging the first morning but apart from that it didn't disturb us at all.
The reception area has been renovated looks modern and there was some one constantly cleaning the floor, it was spotless.

The pool area is right on the edge of the best beach in the Seychelles. The pool is a little tired with some of the paint peeling off under the water but the area around it is all spotless. A couple of evenings they had a live band and a staff party but the music finished by 10pm and never disturbed us even though our room was right opposite the bar on the second floor.

We had breakfast every day and ate at the pool bar for lunch a few times as well as having dinner in the restaurant. All the food was really tasty and compared to some other restaurants in the area was good value.

Overall the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for you. It was spotlessly clean and the building work did not effect us at all.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing