We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shock at the end of holliday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shock at the end of holliday!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you can't protect yours guests to avoid injuries make warnings!!!
The Most terrible that happened with as 15min before transfer to airport ! (see CCTV record at 18/11/2013 around 19:40) at the overall seeview balcony above restaurant. there is only one stair but it very long and curved! So you got two level in one big premise.
And in the night lights you can see this stair than you go up too the balcony, but its invisible than you go back to the lobby because same color and the lights are feeble! My wife stumbled and fall down, she got injured! Why you dont marked this TRAP by yelow line???
Also you have got other dangerous places: Ocean deck bar, hanged sign its on the level of my eyes (I not a tall 185 cm only), Floor at the entry in the west side lift (zero level) steep descent and slick tiles!
We are in trouble and shocked now.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    586
    315
    117
    108
See reviews for
343
847
98
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect! Directly on the beach, in the middle of Beau Vallon bay; An amazing place to watch the sub drop behind the horizon out to sea.
Considering that this is the Seychelles & nothing can be described as cheap, the hotel was good value, rooms are clean and functional and the hotel pool and grounds are well maintained. The hotels dining options are also good, particularly the Indian restaurant, breakfast however was fantastic; a buffet breakfast with a vast selection of hot and cold items, freshly baked pastries, fruits, juices, teas and coffee.

Within easy walking distance of the hotel, either along the beach or through lanes throughout Beau Vallon are a number of independent restaurants & shops.

The hotel staff, are fairly accomodating, and everyone is very pleasent, however i was a little dissapointed on check in, having paid a premium for a sea view room and recieving only a partial sea view (whilst on my tip toes). As I was diving everyday, I could live with this dissapointment.

Whilst this hotel may not be the most luxurious option in the Seychelles, it certainly has a fantastic location and offers a good standard of accommodation at a fair price.

It is also worth noting that the hotel does not have an on site dive centre. A number of nearby dive centres can be found throughout Beau Vallon. I used Underwater Divers

Room Tip: When booking the hotel there was an option to pay for a sea view room. When i checked in, from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UAE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just stayed there and if it wasn't for the beautiful beach I would have left the second day..
The breakfast - if you are not early you won't find anything, the lady who is cooking the eggs unfriendly to solo woman travelling
Cleanliness is a word they even don't know how to spell. During all the time I stayed there my washbasin was not cleaned under my soap which never got replaced anyhow. I dropped a bottle on the floor, guess what, in the evening it still was there. The glass door from the restaurant to the kitchen was not cleaned once during my stay. It was full of greasy finger prints.
The staff friendly, well may be to the Russian guests, not to anyone else. Never you were greeted by the staff in the corridors or lobby. The only friendly ones are the security guards.
You want a nice vacation, not there, better take a tent and stay at the beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GermanEgyptfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Thank you to all at the hotel for a great stay, lovely rooms, amazing service, the beach is - well stunning, the sunsets are like nothing I have ever seen anywhere in the world, there are some nice bars and restaurants very close and a vibrant market as well, close to Victoria and a great base for your stay on this truly stunning Island,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon-darcy-ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We read plenty of reviews on this site and decided to choose the hotel to experience for ourselves. Glad we took the decision we did. We realized during the trip that some people came with a mindset that they will use the negative reviews for their own benefit and how many people instead of trying to enjoy their holidays used the fact that they could write reviews to discriminate the hotel. Some determined to push the staff in getting all they could ... so sad when you think of the travelling time and the stretch of paradise and it beauty there for your enjoyment. The hotel is excellently situated, staff speaks various languages and are hospitable. The service ranges but we could see the improvement and the willingness in the employees to give their best. The greatest asset is the Front Office Manager, Anna - lovely girl - a bright smile and a presence everywhere and anytime. She passed by the pool, acknowledged her guests ... simply the best and possibly the manager who was always there and made us feel valued. Other staff worth mentioning for making our honeymoon exquisite are the 2 Kevins, Nelly, Mersia, Stan, Bernadine, Gina from reservations who helped us plan it all, Anastasia ... U r the best!

Room Tip: We all have our preferences. Just say what you would like and you can be accomodated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageurxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for just 3 nights early Nov, my room wasn't ready on arrival despite sending flight details and agreeing to pay extra. When I got into the room the bins hadn't been emptied, the floor was dirty and I questioned if the linen had been changed. The rooms are noisy, not from the bar but the neighbouring rooms tvs and you can clearly hear others walking around and talking. My room was also located opposite what I think was the cleaners store room so at 0630hrs every morning they started banging around and talking loudly!

The breakfast was aweful, the boiled eggs tasted off and although there was variety it didn't taste right. The evening buffet was pretty much the same and overpriced.

Service as a woman was poor, the staff would immediately attend to a man but would ignore women.

For the price of this hotel I'm sure there are others on the island with better standards and service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meljs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Location was awesome. You can easily walk both directions up the coast to visit other restaurants and enjoy the beach. Rooms were simple, (bed, open closet, safe, bathroom) but each room has a balcony.

The breakfast was basic - egg station, fresh fruit, breads, and a few buffet style items.

The outdoor restaurant had a great upper deck that was handy for sitting outside in the rain. They had live music nearly each night which could be heard from the room if you were facing the inside courtyard.

We had a bit of an issue with the booking as we only booked a room for 1 person when we were actually 2 of us. They would not let us check in unless we paid an extra 700 euros for the week. This was basically double the weekly rate we had originally booked which was obviously disappointing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DSmiph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing