We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Coral strand,not a smart choice...eh??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Well where to start to from..Me and my Husband spent unfortunately 6 nights there,from 31st Jan to 6th Feb.We had requested for early check in through Booking.com, as well as transportation to and from airport...Transportation was there upon arrival, even though i had to call several times before our trip to ask for acknowledgement and confirmation via email(which never happened.)When we arrived i was shocked.The reception was so small, dirty, unprofessional,inoperative, the decoration was ugly.We had to wait 2 hrs for checking in, with no update from any of the staff, including the manager who was busy to plug a tablet in his desk..After that,we entered the room.Welcome to prison..Small,humid,,no drawers,cheap,chipped walls and wardrobe full of bugs running around.The garden view,was the huge parking that the hotel had, and some lovely cars standing there.What a view?the A.C was terribly noisy,licking, the tab was clogged and if you wanted to wash your face you had to pray for the water not to come out and flood the room.After taking our first shower, we saw that the room was flooded because the drainage system is not working at all.The staff was tottaly unprofessional, and unfriendly . We asked from the hotel to rent a car and they called,their colleague Julio who takes us to the parking, gives us a daihatsu, there was no option to choose for us, smth like take it or leave it.My husband started taking photos of the car, where it was damaged, and then he started it and we saw that the fuel tank was empty.I said"sir why is the fuel empty?" he started shouting at me in front of my husband, saying that people rent the car full fuel and then return it empty.we fulled the car and went around for 2 days,the fuel cost was 40 euro so on day of returning the car i asked from Julio to refund us the fuel money,since the fuel was still full.He started again shouting and talking really bad,and when i complained to the reception No one apologized, no one asked from their partner a solution, and nothing was done.All the elevators were out of order,and on 24 JAN there was a reply from the manager to another customer saying that the problem was fixed..l...The room was cleaned daily upon request, nothing was replenished correctly, sometimes we were missing cups of coffee,spoons,,towels,soap was never replenished,sheets where never changed.The quality of food was just bad, we went for break fast one morning and there was a bird flying and sitting on the pastries and cornflakes, where no staff tried to take it out,so we ended up eating croissant wth bird pooh,the floor was full of wheat flour and it was white and slippery and the staff was just laughing about it,the only elevator working was used to transport garbage and then people where taking it to go to their rooms, the floor was full of garbage and the smell was just awful.Internet, in 2014 was not free, and even though we paid for a daily use, the signal was not strong enough all around the hotel and in the room.The staff was always unhappy no one smiled at you while walking around, no one was talking to you in a professional manner.The hotel claims that has 3 different restaurants, but the truth is that it is only one haul with awful chairs and tables,dirty and you cannot understand any difference between the "restaurants".We met different groups checking in and for each group there a different service.The lucky ones got wet towels to clean their hands, others just juice, and others just NOTHING.There were many Chinese that time and staff was talking bad for them to us saying that Chinese people are stupid and they don't speak English.Professional way to talk about your customers.Thank god, we went to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove for drinks and food, since they did not have any room for us to stay in.There is a huge huge difference between these two hotels.and they have just one star difference.(????!!!!) and Internet is free there.for everyone.Residents or Not.As well as the perfect customer service from reception,restaurant,staff. If you don't have the budget to stay in Le Meridien or similar 5 star Hotels, it is better to go camping on the beach, instead of choosing The Coral Strand...
Keep up the hard work.
PS:A few words about us: We have traveled in more than 42 countries and stayed in several hotels all over the world, we are members of Le Club Accor Hotels and we will never come back or suggest the Coral strand.Please check the pics we uploaded under name Nandiab

Room Tip: simply do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NandiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

I spent 9 days in Coral Strand Hotel and I can say that it was great choice! Coral Strand is located by the ocean and has direct access to the Beau Vallon beach. It is about 20 minutes to the capital city Victoria and harbour. There are a lot of grocery stores and places to eat lunch or dinner or just rent a car around. Breakfast is qute varied, you can eat fruits, yoghurts, omlettes, eggs and a lot of other different products.
All rooms have ocean view. Unfortunately Wi-Fi internet has been additionally charged (and was expensive) and allowed to use only one device same time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamilBd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel have a nice bar with great fruit juices and cocktails. The view from the bar is great and relaxing facing the beach in front. I loved their fish curry and also their pizzas. A nice place to stay, eat, drink and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed 7 days in January and found the hotel's location, beach and Créole food to be very good. However the whole time we were there the lifts in the hotel were out of order. It's an issue if your room is not on the ground or first floor especially as we had a baby. It doesn't help that the smooth tiled floors get mopped every morning making them a slip and trip hazard. The rooms are on the small side especially as our infant son wasn't able to go on the balcony as the space between the railing was too large. Condensation from the air conditioner would leave a puddle on the floor and the ventilation smelt stale. I would avoid the pool as it's over chlorinated. Finally the service at the hotel varies from good to poor. Is it value for money? Maybe just.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, I recommend a room on the ground or first floor as the lifts are seldom wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Linda

Thank you for your review, it is always appreciated to get our guests feedback. Happy to read about the location, beach and the type of cuisine served. Regards to the lift been out of service we experienced a problem relating to the mother board which needed replacing. This part unfortunately had to be imported which delayed the repair. We have also purchased additional spare parts to prevent such problems in the future. The tiled flooring was specifically chosen from a hygienic point, we are sourcing new cleaning detergent that offers a "non slip" element. Generally our swimming pool ph is at a constant level 7 and is monitored twice a day. Any chlorine or acid required is topped up at midnight. The air conditioning is a priority to find a solution as it does create problems at times purely due to the humidity we experience on the island. We are having experts flown in to help on this case and to carry out maintenance.

I would like to thank you though for choosing the Coral Strand Hotel and welcome you back in the new future.

Regards Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 8 nights at the end of December and we booked a Deluxe Ocean View (number 408) very spacious but our room was obscured by the trees so no ocean view from our balcony although we didn’t spend too much time in our room because the hotel is right on the beautiful beach of beau Vallon ….the best location in Seychelles
In terms of services, the breakfast was Ok, the room was cleaned well and all the staff are helpful and friendly (there are some exception ….Mr Kevin and few people at the breakfast)
The fare for WIFI connection is expensive and some nights the people in the pool bar is very noisy

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor because you would hear everybody passing. Be careful about the ocean ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuisT1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Luis

Thank you for your feedback. Yes the hotel is regarded to offer the best location and proximity to the beach - 0 meters and right in the middle. Regarding the view you experienced, not all rooms can offer the full ocean view as they can be obscured by trees, i.e. the Takamaka indigenous trees which by law cannot be pruned. For the few palm trees around the swimming pool the majority of our guests feel it creates a nice ambiance. Can I suggest that next time you opt for the Silhouette rooms, these rooms are positioned over the beach with complete 100% uninterrupted ocean views

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Nice deluxe rooms,super location.A little disorganized staf at the beach bar. Friendliy reception,clean.. Nice concierge.Great restorans nearby-La plage,Perle noir.They yust need to bee organized at the pool-beach bar.It belongs now to Savoy built nearby and opend in march-so be fast and enjoy unil the beach Will prbably be too crowded. We had a nice stay(4th time on the Seyshells):

Room Tip: High positin deluxe rooms with sea wiew are excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Robert

Thank you very much for the review.
4th time!, nice.

December did prove to be a bit challenging on some days with 100% occupancy and 400 guests in house. The pool bar overlooking the ocean is a popular place to relax for our guests and a few "outsiders" that drop by. The F&B department acknowledges the service expectation and so have looked to employ additional staffing to help out during our busy times.

Look forward to see you back in Seychelles for the 5th time.

Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited in December which is the rainy season but because you are essentially on the equator the rain doesn't last for long and it is always steamy.

The hotel is in the location of Beau Vallon - the busiest tourist spot on Mahe with a host of beech bars and restaurants to try.

Coral Strand is comfortable and clean and is located on a postcard-white stretch of coral beach with turquoise seas.

We loved every minute. Breakfast is great value and well presented. We didn't have the evening buffet but preferred to try local restaurants however we did eat the pool bar a number of times which is a real gem.

For those gentlemen who appreciate a good pint my husband almost had a heart-attack when he got his first beer at the pool bar. The glass consisted of 3/4 beer with the remainder being a frothing head. Just insist that they pour to the pint level when you order your next beer.

On Wednesday the locals head down to the market on the promenade on the road beside the hotel and this is great for trying out local food and eating on the beach!

The beach at Coral Strand is lovely, we walked all the way to both ends, great views and really peaceful and relaxing. You can also walk to a couple of local supermarkets if you need to top up on supplies which is a bonus.

We had a bit of an issue with one member of staff when it came to organising excursions. He clearly had his preferred suppliers and activities and would not assist us with some of our ideas. He said organising a boat trip for snorkelling wasn't an option at this time of year however we managed to organise this ourselves and had an absolutely amazing day.

(You can walk to Teds boat tours on the beach and they take you out for a day on the boat.)


We also walked to the Boat House for drinks and got a taxi to La Scala Restaurant for dinner which was amazing and we would highly recommend.

Getting a taxi to Victoria is also easy and worth a visit, but don't expect the capital city to keep you occupied all day as it is really small!

There are also a couple of restaurants outside the hotel entrance which looked nice however we ran out of time to try everything. Finally hiring a car is a must we drove around the island and got to explore loads of lovely beaches. A wonderful holiday, Seychelles is a pricey island and for those seeking value with the beauty included then the Coral Strand and Beau Vallon is a must.

Room Tip: As for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danielle_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Danielle

Thank you for the review posted.
I am pleased to hear the hotel lived up to your expectations. The location of the hotel is definitely a great selling point as is close to numerous shops and restaurants nearby with an extensive selection to choose from. And the beach too is not bad :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to the island.

regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beau Vallon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beau Vallon
Price Range: £147 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing