We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel as compared to others when a price is concerned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Reviewed 9 March 2014

When I was selecting a hotel for my mahe trip my concerns were that the hotel should not be isolated like small properties, should be in the center and on the beach. Although it's not four star as it says but it was good as compared to others if price is a concern. Breakfast was just ok, room and washrooms were like clean and were with everything which was required.

Room Tip: Request for a ocean view in the middle building
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Agha

Thank you for your review. To coin a cliché The Coral Strand hotel is what it says on the tin. Location great, in the middle of the beach, close to the shops and other restaurants in the area. Although our food standard and service is certainly of 4 star quality, we are continuously striving to improve.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
There are newer reviews for Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Coral Strand when we were running the Eco-Friendly Seychelles half marathon and 10km races. Before departing for Seychelles I went onto Trip Advisor to see various comments on the hotel. I cannot understand some of the negative comments that were posted as we were very impressed by the hotel. We had an ocean view standard room which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There is entertainment on the terrace every night so if you don’t want to join in or you want a peaceful night then you should opt for the mountain view rooms. The food – we only had bed and breakfast – was plentiful and well presented. Speaking to some of the many international guests who had full board, they also said they were impressed with the standard of the hotel and the catering. I don’t know what people expect from a 3 star hotel but we have travelled extensively throughout Europe and found the hotel to be comparable to some of the 4 star European hotels. Seychelles is a very expensive holiday destination so you must be prepared to pay a lot more for basics such as beer and soft drinks – unless you buy them from the local supermarkets. In Rand terms a draft beer was equal to between R75 – R110 (US Dollars 6.5 to 9.2). A basic pizza was between R100 and R200. The Beau Vallon area is a tourist destination and the local restaurants price their meals accordingly. The beach along the bay was very clean with soft sand and not much in the way of coral chips to cut your feet.
We had a small problem during our stay and the staff and management of the hotel went out of their way to get it sorted – well done. One of the Trip Advisor comments was that the staff were rude and unhelpful – not true. I think it also depends on your attitude – treat people with civility and you will get the same response. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Dianna

Thank you for your comments. If I recall correctly I met you and you husband one evening in our Mahek Indian Restaurant. (Your husband came 17th in the marathon).It is refreshing to receive your good comments about the rooms, service, food and especially our staff. It stands to reason that people sometimes prefer to complain, we are all conditioned that way. As a hotel that is incredible busy running most of the time at 100%, (161 bedrooms) we are bound I suppose to get the odd negative review now and then even though we try as hard as we can to please everyone.Would be nice if the other 99% of guests post the good comments like yourself :)

Look forward to having back next year if running the marathon again, maybe next this time a full marathon?

Regards Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The View was honestly one of the best I've ever seen. To accompany this was the water sports near by. Having a large breakfast buffet near whilst basically on the beach was amazing. The service and friendliness of staff was also spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Charlotte

Thank you for your review. A few changes since you stayed with us in October. Our sushi concept is now up and running and getting great reviews. A few changes to the drinks and food menus and also an expanded activity program. Maybe you need to come back?

Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Best location on Beau Vallon beach! The food in the ocean bar was good but the service was slow and unorganized. The breakfast buffet was very good, dinner buffet we did not like. The price of the hotel should have included WiFi. The reception desk also is in a need of better organization - it did not meet our expectations. Very nice and clean pool area, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mmyS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Tommy

Thank you for your comments. Regards to the food available at our hotel, we have the Ocean Bar which serves A la carte meal, Mahek our authentic Indian Restaurant and then Island Trader which might be the restaurant you make mention of as not to your liking for the dinner. This restaurant offers a variety of themed buffet dishes that changes every night. You also have the option of ordering off the A la carte menu. Internet is expensive on the island in general but we reviewing the charges for the WIFI and looking at ways to improve on this. I do apologies for the service delivery not meeting your expectation from our reception, a busy place that can become crowed at times.
Hope to see you back soon
Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Coral Strand is the worst ever hotel I have stayed in. Will not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel, The service is extremely poor to say the least. The staff is unfriendly and cold. They practice double standard for different clients. The management is totally incompetent. The hotel rooms are dirty, food awful, drinks....better to buy soft drink in nearby supermarket. The barmaid was almost unhappy to serve customers, the reception not helpful at all. Without any hesitation the worst. Don't spoil your holiday or business trip by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teddysoobrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankalp K, Director of Sales at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Teddysoobrama

Thank you for your comments posted. I do apologies that you felt the hotel did not live up to your expectation on all accounts. Sometimes the hotel one chooses for a vacation or business trip just does not meet with ones approval. We have many guests who have felt just the opposite and are very happy with the hotel offering by way of rooms, food and service from our staff. We are though always looking at ways to improve on our delivery and so I would welcome the opportunity to address with you directly the problems you encountered. Please feel free to make contact to discuss further.
Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for one night before a cruise and were planning to stay two additional nights after the cruise. We arrived early in the morning and were told that checkout was at noon and that our room would be ready at 2. The staff put our luggage away but we just had to wait around until our room was ready. We did enjoy the beach after we finally got to our room and were able to change clothes. We also enjoyed a Valentine's Day buffet at the restaurant. The next morning we were awakened by a call saying that checkout was at 10! We were expecting a lovely morning at the beach. Instead we had to rush to checkout and then sit around until 2 when our taxi took us to the port. So, we decided to cancel our reservation for the two days after our cruise. Then we were told that we could only cancel online or be subject to a cancellation fee of one night's stay.

We made new reservations ar the Hotel Berjaya that is just down the beach. I will submit a new review about it. However, I can say that is much nicer than the Coral Strand.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Well where to start to from..Me and my Husband spent unfortunately 6 nights there,from 31st Jan to 6th Feb.We had requested for early check in through Booking.com, as well as transportation to and from airport...Transportation was there upon arrival, even though i had to call several times before our trip to ask for acknowledgement and confirmation via email(which never happened.)When we arrived i was shocked.The reception was so small, dirty, unprofessional,inoperative, the decoration was ugly.We had to wait 2 hrs for checking in, with no update from any of the staff, including the manager who was busy to plug a tablet in his desk..After that,we entered the room.Welcome to prison..Small,humid,,no drawers,cheap,chipped walls and wardrobe full of bugs running around.The garden view,was the huge parking that the hotel had, and some lovely cars standing there.What a view?the A.C was terribly noisy,licking, the tab was clogged and if you wanted to wash your face you had to pray for the water not to come out and flood the room.After taking our first shower, we saw that the room was flooded because the drainage system is not working at all.The staff was tottaly unprofessional, and unfriendly . We asked from the hotel to rent a car and they called,their colleague Julio who takes us to the parking, gives us a daihatsu, there was no option to choose for us, smth like take it or leave it.My husband started taking photos of the car, where it was damaged, and then he started it and we saw that the fuel tank was empty.I said"sir why is the fuel empty?" he started shouting at me in front of my husband, saying that people rent the car full fuel and then return it empty.we fulled the car and went around for 2 days,the fuel cost was 40 euro so on day of returning the car i asked from Julio to refund us the fuel money,since the fuel was still full.He started again shouting and talking really bad,and when i complained to the reception No one apologized, no one asked from their partner a solution, and nothing was done.All the elevators were out of order,and on 24 JAN there was a reply from the manager to another customer saying that the problem was fixed..l...The room was cleaned daily upon request, nothing was replenished correctly, sometimes we were missing cups of coffee,spoons,,towels,soap was never replenished,sheets where never changed.The quality of food was just bad, we went for break fast one morning and there was a bird flying and sitting on the pastries and cornflakes, where no staff tried to take it out,so we ended up eating croissant wth bird pooh,the floor was full of wheat flour and it was white and slippery and the staff was just laughing about it,the only elevator working was used to transport garbage and then people where taking it to go to their rooms, the floor was full of garbage and the smell was just awful.Internet, in 2014 was not free, and even though we paid for a daily use, the signal was not strong enough all around the hotel and in the room.The staff was always unhappy no one smiled at you while walking around, no one was talking to you in a professional manner.The hotel claims that has 3 different restaurants, but the truth is that it is only one haul with awful chairs and tables,dirty and you cannot understand any difference between the "restaurants".We met different groups checking in and for each group there a different service.The lucky ones got wet towels to clean their hands, others just juice, and others just NOTHING.There were many Chinese that time and staff was talking bad for them to us saying that Chinese people are stupid and they don't speak English.Professional way to talk about your customers.Thank god, we went to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove for drinks and food, since they did not have any room for us to stay in.There is a huge huge difference between these two hotels.and they have just one star difference.(????!!!!) and Internet is free there.for everyone.Residents or Not.As well as the perfect customer service from reception,restaurant,staff. If you don't have the budget to stay in Le Meridien or similar 5 star Hotels, it is better to go camping on the beach, instead of choosing The Coral Strand...
Keep up the hard work.
PS:A few words about us: We have traveled in more than 42 countries and stayed in several hotels all over the world, we are members of Le Club Accor Hotels and we will never come back or suggest the Coral strand.Please check the pics we uploaded under name Nandiab

Room Tip: simply do not go there
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NandiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
350 reviews
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range: £135 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing