We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
229
20
12
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
20
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar michelin restaurantboutique hoteljohn doryfabulous propertyrose petalsgrounds are immaculatecomplimentary bottledirect accessbeautiful algarvelounge chairsheated poolsmall hotelprivate beachrestaurant staff arewelcome drinkspa areagerman family
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We did a 17-day tour of Portugal, and it was mostly go go go. The four nights we spent at Vila Joya were my FAVORITE because we just relaxed and soaked in the beauty. Beautiful gardens, trees, pool, beach, food, hotel grounds... everything lived up to our expectations. We really only left the hotel a few times when we were in Albufeira: for dinner twice, and once for an afternoon to check out the downtown area. There is no good reason to leave this paradise!

We stayed in a Double room. I wish SO MUCH that we had splurged and stayed in one of the suites - they look incredible. Our room was kind of small and cramped, and the bathroom was kind of dark - but overall it was definitely adequate. We had our own patio area with lounge chairs and a view of the pool and sea, and that was definitely top notch. Relaxing in the sun with a glass of wine was heaven.

The pool was also spectacular. We spent a lot of time there. It's surrounded with GORGEOUS foliage, flowers, and trees, and there's a path down to the beach. Accessible bathrooms and a nice pool bar as well.

I loved the brunch every morning. The buffet-style food was so good! And the tables overlooking the water were just incredible. A great way to start each day in paradise.

The restaurant is beyond words. We went to three Michelin-star restaurants in Portugal, and this one was the best. The tasting menu is to die for, and do not skip the wine pairings. Worth the money, trust me. The ambiance is also fantastic, and it was fun to get dressed up.

Overall, I'd go back to Vila Joya in a heartbeat. It was the highlight of our Portuguese tour. Great service (we were given drinks when we arrived, and the staff were so nice). Beautiful property, inside and out. The sky just seems bluer in Albufeira. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Everything about this restaurant was amazing. The view from every table is simply spectacular, which sets the tone for what a fantastic evening you will have dining at Vila Joya. Then there's the staff; the hostess who was warm and welcoming, the service staff who were attentive without being intrusive, but remarkably perfect in their timing with presenting the many dishes that were served throughout our meal. Speaking of many dishes, there were a lot. And every single one was incredibly unique and delicious. Besides the regular courses we exepected to be served, we were delighted with the unexpected Chef's surprises presented in the beginning of the meal which were all crazy good! I wish I could remember one that stood out to share, but they were all so fabulous it'd be impossible to list them. This restaurant is top notch dining and certainly worth trying when visiting the Algarve, as you will not be disappointed. I can't wait for my next trip to Portugal just to go back to this place. Five stars doesn't do it justice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We were able to book a table for lunch for (family of) 6 at relatively short notice. Had dined at Villa Joya several times 14-14 yrs ago and impressive to see this hotel/restaurant is still operating at top level.
We had the full lunch menu with several pre-course appetizers followed by john dory, entrecote and apricot / almond dessert. All dishes were delicious and well balanced creations by clearly a creative chef! Wine pairings of portugese white and red were also excellent. Service professional and attentive.

Clearly 'worth the journey' at 2 michelin stars and again compliments for running a top establishment for such a long time!

Only comments would be aperitif prices for champagne and aperol spritz - at 27.5 euro!! These prices are well beyond reasonable limits even for a 5 star hotel and 2 star restaurant and give a bad inpression.

Also, service would have been (even) more attentive if the team serving us would have been there to thank us at departure - none was in sight ...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

even 5 stars is not enough
we spend 2 wonderful nights in this Paradise
it s not an hotel it s your home
all is simple , comfortable , soft , peace
the food is exceptional
the team os a dream team
the location is ......go and see you ll understand
thanks thanks !

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank ksarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Fabulous boutique hotel where you are treated like royalty
For our wedding we stayed over and married on the balcony of our room overlooking the gardens and ocean
We had such a magical experience and it was the very best place for this special,day
Now we go there for lunch once a year to celebrate in style
Check,out their Michelin two star restaurant taster menu and be wowed by the flavours , incredible amuse bouche, and delicious food inventively presented and served by truly knowledgable staff
The paired wine offer was ,according to my husband , an adventure with previously unknown Quintas from Portuguese sources
Evenings here are super too as the terrrace overlooking the sea is a lovely location for when the sun goes down and the fishing boat lights appear like fireflies in the deep dark waters

Room Tip: The best room in the main house has a lounge area,walk in wardrobe ,huge bath and specious private terrace with loungers and dining area
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebbyB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews