We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of paradise!”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This must be on your list of places to stay in Fiji, it's a beautiful place with such friendly people who are so accommodating you won't want to leave! We were only there two nights but the staff enabled us to do all we wanted despite not fitting into the normal schedule, we can definitely recommend the manta ray snorkel trip and night snorkelling on the incredible reef just on the front of the resort. The food was gorgeous, just like at Blue Lagoon their linked resort, and offered plenty of activities in and out of the water. We would also recommend a sea plane transfer as the views are awesome with such contrast of the coral and mountains, you won't miss the longer boat transfer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    291
    73
    20
    20
See reviews for
283
591
131
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a well overdue review but better late than never. We stayed in a garden buru which we loved as soon as we saw it. Large room, beautiful bed and the outdoor bathroom was a nice extra! Our buru was right behind the restaurant however so was a bit noisy at breakfast and dinner but manageable. The grounds are kept very tidy and are beautifully tropical and make you feel far away from your neighbour. The pool, restaurant and bar areas are all amazing.

The food was far better than we thought. However, before I went I informed staff I did not eat seafood and was told that was fine. Despite this, every dinner has a set menu and from memory 3 out of 5 nights we were primarily seafood dishes and it was quite a hassle to get anything else- usually I just has to eat the limited non seafood food at the table. Other than that, food was amazing.

The boat ride there was about 3 hours late and as a result we missed out included lunch, however when we informed staff we ended up getting a free massage which was nice. They also took quite a bit off our drinks bill when we checked out.

We would definitely come back and are planning to next year. Next time, we would spend a bit extra money and get a beachfront buru as they looked even better than ours and were right on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nellabelle02
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have nothing bad to say about Octopus Resort! We stayed in one of the poppy rooms on the beach and it was a dream come true. The staff was AMAZING (especially Marione) and so incredibly friendly. We loved the food, happy hour cocktails at sunset and relaxing on the beach. We did a private hike up on the high mountain peak and it was so beautiful and gave us a chance to get to know one of the local villagers on the tour. We didn't do a lot of snorkeling here but it was decent. The party dance night on Sat was a blast and it was a good mix of couples, young travelers and older crowd. We would definitely go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellabelle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merewether
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just back from 5 nights at Octopus (after 5 nights at Blue Lagoon Resort - see other review) - 2 adults and 2 kids (Aged 2 and 4) and stayed in Point 4 which has to be one of the best spots on the beach - at one end so nice and private (does share one common wall) and with 2 private decks just steps from the ocean. Our girls enjoyed the kids club (complementary) which involved lots of movie options at night, and a few other activities good for preschoolers. Could not fault the food (well done Octopus kitchen team); all the staff here were wonderful - warm and genuine and went out of their way to help. We were not at all disappointed with the diving but I would point out the highlight was actually the reef right out front (my husband even did a solo night snorkel with his dive torch and saw great stuff); Also I really enjoyed a snorkel trip to swim with Manta Rays which they do once a week in season (June to Oct I think). I'd also say that the vibe here is great with choice of dining at communal tables (we met other Australians and Dutch, German, English, American and NZ people of varying ages) or own tables, and even a table for the kids to dine together a bit earlier than the normal dinner time, then you can drop them off at kids club while you eat. Pool is inviting, activities a plenty or just sit and relax on deckchairs / sun lounges / on the sandy beach. Spa delivers a lovely relaxing massage. Only things not perfect were some wasps who wanted to make outside our home their home (staff took care of this as soon as it was discovered) and cocktails were a bit hit and miss, but no biggie. The fantastic beach and views and the sound of the water as I drifted off to sleep are worth returning for....

Room Tip: Point 4 if you can afford is the best (has an extra veranda section compared to Point3 and furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights during an 11 night trip. There is a really great vibe here, we arrived on a Friday and there was a traditional dance that night before dinner. The Saturday night was a party night so there was music at the bar and then on Sunday was a movie night where they played a movie under the stars by the pool. They also have a happy hour for drinks which is good.

We stayed at three places in Fiji, the island we stayed at before this was really quiet and peaceful, mainly for couples, and the hotel on Denarau was a bit chaotic and mainly for families with children - I would say Octopus is a happy medium. There were some families, couples of all ages, groups of young people, solo travellers, a bit of everything. We met some great people.

I have read some reviews about kids being a problem, I guess this depends on when you travel but it certainly wasn't an issue for us. There were a few families but they didn't dominate the place, and the Fijian children were adorable and I never once saw them in the pool or misbehaving.

They have yoga on the beach and other activities. It is a very nice set up, the island is picturesque, crystal blue water and white sand, there are plenty of sun lounges to lay on the beach or around the pool. Snorkelling is amazing too.

The food was good, lunch menu is generally the same everyday aside from a curry special and a Fijian special. The buffet breakfast was great! they make eggs any way you like, the omelettes were really good, plenty of fruit, pastries, yogurts, pancakes, a variety of breads, some hot food like baked beans, sausages etc. Dinners change daily, I liked that they included Fijian food, I found some other places that we visited didn't do this as much.

The Fijian staff were such friendly, gracious people. Which was the case everywhere we went. We really really enjoyed our stay at Octopus, I recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room with a private outdoor bathroom, it was really spacious and lovely. no c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach_bumble_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in march 2014 in a 4 bed dorm room whilst travelling the Yasawas, absolutely beautiful resort and great value staying in a dorm room. Lovely food and good cocktails (with an afternoon happy hour) snorkelling is beautiful, comfy sun loungers and lovely pool to cool off in. Nothing bad to say about it - definitely make it one of your destinations in Fiji

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeaSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was married at Octopus Resort in January. We have traveled all over the world and this place is truly special. We chose it for its natural beauty... amazing snorkeling right off the beach and stunning island beauty. The staff - Kylie, Jojo and the whole team there - were wonderful and helped to pull off a truly remarkable wedding. We will remember this resort forever and hope to visit often. Don't miss this gem if you are in Fiji!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but remember it's the beach and scenery you will enjoy most so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reefloverKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
184 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
136 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Property: Octopus Resort
Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Octopus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing