We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casual Resort for Couples or Families”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 day stay in the depths of winter. Mostly warm with some clouds and some sun. Very good food, good selection of activities though the water was too choppy to snorkel for us. We took the strenuous guided hike to the top of the island for amazing views. Our beachfront bure was simple, not fancy. A hermit crab greeted us under our bed. Lovely swimming pool to hang out at. Children are welcome and the staff seemed to enjoy interacting with them. Drinks at the bar were good, not spectacular, and rather pricey. All in all a very relaxing place that supports the local village in an impressive way.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LeoTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Octopus was the last of our stops after a long (but not long enough) week and half travelling the Yasawas and Viti Levu (the mainland). And a hot tip, make sure you put Octopus at the end of your journey if you are going elsewhere because it will not disappoint. It was absolutely amazing!

We stayed 3 nights at Octopus and wish we had longer (like a whole week longer). You seriously could stay here night after night after night and not get sick of it. The whole atmosphere is fantastic, and you'll be greeted like royalty. Ravi (who we think was the manager) always had a cheeky smile to offer us for our whole time there and any questions we had, the amazing team of staff were happy to assist and help.

The Garden Bungalow we stayed in was lovely with enough room for a wardrobe, bedside tables and a great little balcony, but be aware there are shared toilet facilities.

The beach at Octopus is absolutely amazing! A long beach with white sand and a great reef right off the beach is amazing for snorkeling for both beginners and the more advanced, it was definitely well maintained and the abundance and variety of fish were amazing. There is plenty of space to spread out, and you can easily take a nice walk along the beach for the amazing sunset! My now fiance proposed to me along those beaches at sunset so I might be a little biased ;)

The bare foot sandy restaurant produces amazing food with an amazing atmosphere, and the coconut bar right on the beach offers great cocktails and a stunning view out to the water (and sunset). If you don't like to socialise, there are tables for two available, but you need to be quick to snatch these up, but talking to people from different corners of the world about their travels makes for some great conversations!

Plenty of activities for anyone to keep you busy, and plenty of sunbeds to keep those more beach inclined happy.

If you are visiting the Yasawas and you want to treat yourself, this is the place to do it! I recommend a minimum 3 night stay, and to go here towards the end of the trip, saving the best for last!

Room Tip: The Garden Bungalows are great with you're own little deck, but toilets are shared, so if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

After reading a lot of reviews before we got there I had high expectations of the Octopus Resort. And it didn't disappoint!!! Wow!!! As you pull up in the boat it looks amazing. You are welcomed with open arms when the skiff touches the beach. The rooms were great and well maintained. The reef just off the beach was awesome!!! Great for everyone to access. There were a heap of activities to go on. It would help to check the daily activities before you get there as they book out quickly!! Definitely one that you have to check in at if you are visiting the Yasawas.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Braxi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Octopus resort for 3 days in a garden bungalow room which was absolutely stunning! A great private balcony surrounded by tropical plants and a nice small room. The shared bathrooms were fine. The beach which the resort is situated is small but lovely with very good snorkelling right out front. Not to be missed! Spent hours out there and saw beautiful coral and lots of different fish. There is a bar overlooking the ocean, which at sunset is magical. Make sure to check your bill though! As I was leaving and on checking found that bottles of wine I didn't drink were charged to my room and the receipt showed someone else's name. I actually had to insist checking the bill another time and found another charge that wasn't mine. That was the only down side though. The resort is very pretty. Seemed to be mostly families with young children. Not many couples or younger people so not much opportunity to meet people. From what I saw the other accommodation was beautiful. I'd recommend visiting the village and attending the church service on Sunday was a highlight. The pool area is great too and perfect for reading on the lounges. Really enjoyed this place and the food was good with a few choices. The Fijian staff were all lovely. Really nice genuine people.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Rubisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having been to Octopus resort three times before, we returned for our fourth visit (for a whole 14 nights) thinking we might work it out of our system. Alas, no I still didn't want to leave, and will return again to enjoy this fantastic little resort. The key things that make you want to return are the amazing food, the lovely community of local staff and other guests, and the beautiful reef just off the beach. We always return home with new friends and look forward to catching up with the locals when we return. The food and rooms have only improved since our first visit - keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned after an eight night stay at Octopus Resort (followed by a six night stay at Paradise Cove, see a separate review). We loved this place!

We initially stayed at Point 4 (a premium beachfront unit), this was just magic, wonderful rooms and our own private deck with loungers and hammock. This unit is at the southern end of the resort so it is very private and quiet. Although it is attached to another unit and this was noisy when the occupants decide to party! These units have air conditioning and a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Our final night was in a Garden Bure, and whilst these initially look and feel quaint we did not enjoy our stay here. They were small and had no facilities for storing or making drinks. Whilst each unit had a hammock they were often over a patch of dirt so not so inspiring.

All staff at the resort were just delightful, they were so friendly and welcoming. Nothing was a problem, and they were very happy to share information on their culture with us. The resort is on an island with the Nalauwaki village, and a lot of staff live in the village. This provided us with a great opportunity to discover more about Fiji. However, it also restricts movement on the island as the village elders have requested that people staying at the resort only enter the village on a guided visit. This is understandable and given the warmth of the people it is easy to respect. We did a village visit, and worth it to visit the local clans.

Meals at the resort were good and varied with curry nights, traditional fijian meals, and more european styled options. One word of warning the espresso coffee was terrible!

The location of the resort is just beautiful and gives the opportunity to watch the most amazing sunsets. The coral reef can be accessed by walking off the beach was just stunning and very vibrant. Due to the exposed coast line on this part of the island at times the currents on the beach and reef meant that staff closed the beach for water activities due to safety.
Given the location and limited access to other areas around the island on the two days that we couldn't get into the water we found we did get restless.

I can not speak highly enough of the kids club, the staff (Tocksy and Api) were just fabulous. They were great with the kids and kept them well entertained with both inside and outside activities. They also provided the children with cultural experiences and helped them to understand life in Fiji.

Overall, this was a beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: Beachfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pbtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our 8th trip to Octopus Resort. As usual, it was the perfect getaway from winter in New Zealand. We had a great time and will book again for next year. One of the great things is the fact that local people from Nalauwaki Village (over the hill) work here and are an integral part of the resort. Ravi and Jimmy continue to provide excellent service.

Room Tip: The noise level would depend on which bure you are in and whether your neighbours have children or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
745 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
193 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Mantaray Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Nanuya Lailai Island
623 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range: £33 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Octopus Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing