We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we heard”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not as good as we heard”
Reviewed 9 February 2009

After all the hype about Octopus we were disappointed. I think they are living on their reputation. We had a half hearted welcome song but only from back in the shade. The entertainments guy (Dutch?) welcomed us when we arrived but never spoke to us again. Internet access was $12 for 30 mins and as there was only one access you needed to book. Snorkelling was only good. There is a pool table but it seemed only for staff use.If you have a garden bure or are in a dorm you have to join the morning 'get my towel on a sunbed' or it is lying on the sand for you. It is now very expensive and finally the staff were not especially friendly (but Mantaray set a high standard).
Having said all that: The food was excellent with a good choice and you do not have to be there at a set time. The beach was great. The swimming pool made a great difference to our stay. The bures were really excellent, roomy and clean.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    291
    73
    20
    20
See reviews for
283
591
131
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We arrived at the tail end of the floods so there were not too many people there. We stayed in the Point which was absolutely beautiful. very private, clean and comfortable. The hosts are delightful and helpful at all times. As there were so few people there, they gave our boys, who were sharing with us, a garden bure for no extra charge. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the food was superb and the activities were varied and interesting. The beach was lovely despite the aftermath of the severe storms they had had - I can only imagine how pristine the area normally is. The trip to the village was most worthwhile. The sunsets were spectacular. Poppy's Cottage also looks nice but not as private or as breezy as the Point. Get there if you can!

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — saying goodbye
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumofharryandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I stayed at Octopus in July 08 with my husband and our two children (6 and 3yrs) We stayed in a premium beachfront bure for 5 nights and had a great time.

The resort is situated in a beautiful spot with a wonderful beach and great snorkeling for the whole family. The food was great, the best we had while in Fiji.

The resort caters well for families traveling with children. They have early meals for the children and movies at night around the pool so parents can have a drink at the bar before dinner. You can also arrange babysitters for about $4? Fijian per hour

There were a couple of things which weren't great, but still didn't spoil our trip.

Firstly, we were disappointed with the rats in our bure, which resulted in several sleepless nights. When we told the manager he arranged for a glue trap to be left in the bure overnight. The trap consisted a a plate of glue which was left under the wardrobe at night. The rat came down in the middle of the night and got stuck in the glue and we then we had to listen to it slowly dying, by wearing itself out trying to escape.!!! Eventually my husband got up and killed it.

The resort staff obviously knew that there were rats in the bures. You could clearly see the trail left where they were coming and going up the side of the internal wall. I think they could have tried catching them more regularly or while the bures were unoccupied. I suggested that there may be better ways to get rid of rats in the rooms, not sure if the manager listened.

Also, Octopus charges out it's rooms in American $, yet everything you purchase at the resort is in Fijian $ . At the time we visited the New Zealand $ was quite strong against the US, but it was still really expensive compared to other resorts in Fiji. (We also stayed at The Sheraton Denarau Villas and the Westin - which worked out cheaper for us, but not as nice as Octopus).

Apart from the few sleepless nights, we did have a great time and I would recommend you visit Octopus Resort. The staff were lovely and I really enjoyed the visit to the village on Sunday to listen to the Church Choir.

  • Liked — views from bure
  • Disliked — rats in room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nzfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

After having read other reviews on Trip Advisor I must say that we expected the place to be just a little bit better than it was. We had a great time there and spent most of it snorkelling (spotting mantas, sharks and lots of other exciting things!!!), but the resort itself was a bit of a disappointment. The staff are all super friendly and the food is ok, but for us honeymooners this whole idea of eating around big tables together with lots of other guests just wasn't ideal. We sat around smaller tables outside the main restaurant area in the end, which worked those nights when it wasn't table buffets being served.

The standard is not what you expect from the price. I don't think we will go back to Fiji, but I have heard that you can get better value in other locations. I tried to do my research, but I can see that I failed here, for sure. It's a lovely place and our beach bure was really, really nice, it just wasn't worth the money we were paying!

  • Liked — The temperature of the water and our friendly cleaning lady.
  • Disliked — That we had to sit around a table with lots of loud American youths talking about what they were going to do after their gap year...
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We actually went to Fiji for a beach holiday becuase of this place, due to the great reputation it has and the reviews it's been getting. I have to say when we arrived we weren't disapointed, the place looks incredible, both naturally and the resort development but gradully the cracks started to appear. We had a premium beachfront Bure overlooking the sea, which was lovely but after a couple of hours of rain during the night it started to leak, all over the table which our camera and I-pods were on. This was the only place where it happened so we just put up with it. Then later in our stay (we took the 7 night package) they decided to demolish and rebuild the Bure adjacent to ours. A chainsaw, shouting and banging makes it hard to relax and shatters the serenity which you've spent thousands on trying to capture. Some of the staff are great (Dutchy and the office staff in particular) but like the other reviewers, we felt that many of them were unfriendly, particularly the bar staff. The food was good and they accommodate vegetarians pretty well, although more variety would be nice. Our main issue is with the price they charge for the accommodation which is extortionate considering what you get. There were rat/mice droppings all over the Bure and the fan was offset from the bed, defeating its purpose somewhat. None of this usually bothers me as its all part of the experience, but you usually don't have to pay a kings ransom for the priviledge. This place could easily be so much better.
We would return, but either stay in the Point, or just one of the Bungalows with shared facilities, as other than the open air shower, they didn't amount to much for the extra cost. All in all it's a world class beach with brilliant snorkelling, in one of the worlds most beautifull places. Just don't stay in a Bure.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishsponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Myself, my wife and 2 kids (Aged 5 & 8) stayed in Octopus in June 2008 for 2 weeks. Sufficed to say, we had a fantastic 2 weeks..actually one with life-long memories, however a few 'bumps' along the way. For a start, the setting is magic. Yes, the roof leaked in our Bures the day it rained, and the manager finally made it to us with a tarp for the roof..not a great day out of 14, but we laugh about it now. The food was excellent, however we did get a dodgy tummy for a day or so..and others did too, but not all at the same time, so to be honest it was a tummy bug, not food poisoning as someone has suggested. I can't fault the food given that you are on an island, and the chef does pretty well considering. The manager Chris is an evasive, Basil Fawlty type character, and knows how to keep a few balls in the air...a bit frustrating to deal with. You end up laughing at him, rather than with him.
The beach is magical, the staff actually were really friendly, not in your face (we don't like to be 'swarmed' by staff always looking for tips and Octopus is not that kind of place). Our kids disappeared for 2 weeks playing with other kids from all over the world, and they still say it was their favourite place on our 3-month round-the-world trip. Now thats saying something. If you wanted peace & quiet, the beach is long enough that you can take your towel, your book and walk far enough away. In summary, there are rough edges to Octopus, but if you set out with a realisation that you are not getting 5-star, but going for the location, and a bit of fun well, its for you. If you are used to pampering and no wildlife, well head somewhere else! We met people from around the world, and made some new friends which is something we really enjoyed about our stay.
We'd recommend it, but for realists!

PS-The diving was actually quite good, if a bit repetitive...I dived the GBR (outer reef) on an expedition and some of the reefs around Octopus are better than those I saw in Oz!!

  • Liked — Views unbeatable in beach-side accomodation
  • Disliked — When it rains, the roof leaks!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GearoidFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Waya is a beautiful Fijian island and the beach that Octopus is on is picture perfect however this resort is simply not worth paying top wack for. There are plenty of other beautiful beaches where you wont get ripped off!

There were several things we felt annoyed about eg the leaking roof, the unfriendly bar staff, the vastly over priced bar drinks and snacks, the ineptitude of the scuba shop and crap dives they took us on, the frustratingly slow internet (although i expected that), the Octopus transfer boat which can't be safe...... it goes on but i dont have all day

The staff put on a friendly face in front of an audience but dont expect a repeat on a one to one basis

Octopus has good potential but they charge way too much for a resort that is really mediocre. If you want value for money steer clear.

  • Liked — Outdoor shower
  • Disliked — the leaking roof
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Marsbar1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
184 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
136 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Property: Octopus Resort
Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Octopus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing