We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nanuya Island Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nanuya Island Paradise!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently travelled to Fiji for the first time. My fiance and I were getting married on the Coral Coast but we decided to head over a few days before hand to relax and unwind with our two best friends. Our first stop was Nanuya Island Resort. We arrived during a storm and the staff were so careful to bring our luggage in without it getting wet, and each of us were immediately handed umbrellas upon our arrival for the short distance between the shore and the main bure. We were greeting by a cheerful Alfie who provided delicious welcome drinks and hot coffee and gave us a the lowdown on the resort. We decided to wait out the rain with a few cocktails (which were VERY delicious and very reasonably priced). Then Alfie showed us up to our tree bures. There was a short hike up some stairs and we were greeted by the most amazing view of the treetops and ocean. The bed was amazingly comfy and each room was equipped with a small bar fridge (great to store duty free purchases). The bathroom was gorgeous with an outdoor type shower. The beach was the perfect temperature for swimming and we spent our days alternating between here and enjoying relaxing cocktails by the bar on the lounges, listening to a wonderful selection of music. I am completely obsessed with food - so I was determined to eat my way through the menu. The lunches were tasty, cheap and huge! The dinners were better than ANY of the meals that I have had at 5 star restaurants at home. I ended up eating fish every night as it was so succulent and tasty, and each night it was cooked in a completely different manner. Of course we also ate every dessert that was on offer - please please please try the banoffee pie - it was to die for! The staff are what really make this resort standout from any others. Nothing was too difficult for them. We asked if there was any chance that we could try fresh coconuts, the next minute there was a man climbing the palm tree at the front of the bar. 5 minutes later we were presented with freshly cut coconuts with a straw and a gorgeous flower! I had asked one of the staff if there was any chance of getting mud crab whilst we were there, but he said that it wasn't really the best time of year to catch them. To my suprise, the next night I was informed that they had caught some fresh crab and it was on the menu for dinner. We really did feel like celebrities at this resort...every staff member new our name, they even set up our own special table to eat at at mealtimes. We met some lovely other travellers whilst we were there and strongly urge ANYONE heading to Fiji to visit Alfie and the team at Nanuya. A special mention must also go out to Remi for organising an amazing village tour for us and to the boys who came over from the village to serenade us one night during our kava session. We really felt like we were in paradise! p.s. During our stay we actually contemplated moving our wedding to the resort, but it was too late to back out of where we had it booked!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hundi_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    88
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
47
390
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach-sarasota
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just back from 2nd visit...1st was around opening day in 2005-2006. While many newbies seem to think this is best in all Yasawas, I suspect it may be better for the "slightly more than budget backpacker crowd". The "all day" menu hasn't changed in six yearsand this was confirmed by another guest....there for the 20th visit! Dinners were pretty lame, and regulars seem afraid to complain. Westside watersports with similar ownership, moved here from original location, did not have much equipment for diving guests accustomed to renting theirs at other Fiji dive spots. Rumor has it that the place is for sale. Staff is OK, but doesn't match up with "fresh" attitude at other spots. For those complaining about airfare, the Yasawa Flyer is the INLY way to get to these resorts.

Room Tip: Two types....tree house is very basic, but unusual and cool views. Bures on ground are typical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here with 11 and 9 year old boys for 7 days.
A small laid back resort with excellent snorkelling and kayaking from the beach. The food was great and catered for all. We were there Christmas day and they put on an amazing buffet feast. They are always obliging if you require something otherwise the island is yours to enjoy. Would definitely recommend for those wanting the real Fiji family experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrazyChris279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here in September whilst on our honeymoon. As a honeymoon place it was fabulous. We stayed in the highly sought after Bure 11 which is a steep walk up the hill but well worth it for the view. We loved the bure - I'm not sure the shower can really be referred to as out side though - it has walls and a roof! It is lovely though as is the rest of the room. The only thing to point out is that it is amongst the trees so expect creepy crawlies - everyday we woke up there was a cockroach on the floor. Also, use the mosquito net - not just for the mosquitoes, but also for the occasional bit of gecko poo falling from the thatched roof. That makes it sound like it was horrible, but it wasn't - just a fact of life of being in a hot place on an isolated island.
The resort is beautiful - the reef just off the beach, and the area where new coral is being grown was like swimming in a fish tank, and you can just walk down the sea path if the tide is out.
The food - again very nice and the menus varied every night. We would have like a variation on the lunch menu, but all the food was fresh and tasty!
The bar is well stocked, and we were expecting it to be very expensive after hearing about how much everything was on the outlying islands of Fiji. On average though it was only about 1 or 2 Fijian dollars more than the main island.
Now - the staff - what can I say - nothing is too much trouble - we were there whilst the Rugby World Cup was on and Joyji was happy to lend his boat out, and took us to the village on the opposite island for one game. Now we are back in the world of flat screen TV's and pubs the experience of watching a game with the TV poking out someone's front door and a florescent tube hung up next to it, and the next day of being in Aunty Fanny's front room with two TV's with no reception, we really appreciate Sky! Alfie, Linda, Joyji and Remi were all fabulous and we had a real laugh with them - thank you!
If you go to Fiji wanting a TV, hair dryer, night club, lots of places to go and see etc this is not the place for you. But if you want beautiful surroundings and masses of relaxation then get into one of the many hammocks - but watch out for falling coconuts!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Nanuya felt tranquil from the moment I arrived. The water is gentle, barely a wave, as there are islands and reefs surrounding the "pond". Great snorkeling just offshore. There was the ubiquitous Cat Stevens playing and 3 resident egrets on the shore, which I could watch from sheltered daybeds or beach hammocks and lounges. I would have liked a communal table at breakfast and some tales of the South Pacific told at Happy Hour. After a week I understood Fiji time: things will always change, don't worry ahead of time.

Room Tip: The tree top bures each have an expansive view. Some are noisier than others due to proximity to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Situated right next door to Turtle Island - no roads - no TV - just bliss. Food was wonderful - how they ever managed to produce such delights from their small kitchen - even fresh baked muffins for breakfast.
Set up amongst the trees we had a wonderful view of the bay from our bungalow. Snorkelling was great. A variety of things to do and places to go were on offer or one could just relax in a hammock and read a book. We walked round the island which took a couple of hours - discovered a backpackers on the other side. A wonderfully relaxing time for the two of us without the screaming kids that you get in a largr resort. Definitely a place for couples.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank creen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Yasawas are beautiful, the Blue Lagoon is one of the best spots. This resort sits in front of it and gives wonderful views. The bungalows are excellent (especially the outside stone shower) and the whole resort is very well managed. The whole setting is very intimate and romantic (this place is meant for couples, some could find it too quiet). Walking around the island is a very nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMakkions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Property: Nanuya Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Lautoka, Nanuya, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya
Nanuya Island Resort Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing