We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Fiji!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I went to Nanuya Island Resort for a seven day Fijian retreat. We chose wisely. This is a great place. The staff is excellent! Besides being extremely nice, fun, helpful and courteous, they run the place with efficiency and grace.

Alfie the manager does an excellent job running this place. The whole vibe there is one of relaxation and calm. This is a great place to chill.

We stayed in bure #2. This is the deluxe in-suite bure. The room is VERY nice and just steps to the water. The beds are comfortable and the showers are nice. Plenty of hot water and the water pressure is good.

The snorkeling is great! It’s like being in an aquarium. It’s a beautiful coral garden.
You can also arrange for a special snorkel trip. You’ll be taken to an outer reef. We did this. It was great. There’s so much life. We saw fish, octopus, eels, lion fish, sea snakes and spotted sting rays.

We also did the excursion to the limestone cave. Definitely do this! It’s an amazing experience. You actually swim in the cave. Bring a wetsuit if you have one. The water is cold in the cave. VERY fun!

You can also take a walk on a trail to go across the island to a local village. The people are welcoming and very nice. I did this and really enjoyed the experience. If you do this, bring much water because it’s hot walking in the sun. You can also get to this village by walking on the beach if it’s low tide. Doing this will be cooler, but it’ll take a little longer.

They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. They food is very good. Food starts at 8am. There is an all day menu until 6pm. Then the menu changes for dinner. Dinner is 6 to 9pm. VERY good food.

Fresh fish is brought in by local fisherman very often. So, the fish there is very fresh and delicious. Much of the fish they serve is called Walu. This is also known as Spanish Mackrel. It’s a very light fish and just yummy. They serve it many different ways. They try to be creative every night with the cuisine. So, you won’t get bored with the food.

We went during August. This is winter in Fiji. This is a great time of year. It’s their dry season. The temperature is also much milder. The water is still warm and there’s much less mosquitos. However, I did bring my wetsuit and my own snorkel gear. I’m glad that I did. It makes snorkeling much more comfortable.

There are many hammocks to relax in and the lounge area by the restaurant is also a nice place to sit and chill. Each bure has a nice porch. Just sitting on your porch looking at the beautiful water is very nice to do too.

Again, the staff does an excellent job taking care of everyone and making sure that everyone has a great time. They work very hard to accommodate all of your needs and requests.

We’re so glad that we chose the Yasawa islands to go to. There islands are not as populated and much less touristy.

You will have a great time if you choose this resort to stay in.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a deluxe in-suite bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nectarphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome at this resort. We got off the Yasawa Flyer and were welcomed by a shell necklace, cold facewasher and drink on arrival. The location is amazing. Pristine beach. Relaxing.
We had a bure on the top of the hill with an amazing view. I'm sure some people complain about walking up the hill to their room - did they see the view? Its really not that bad walking once in a while. The rooms were great. I love the shower! The only downer was that I think the kettle needs replacing (there's a bit of a build up of white stuff on the base which is off-putting).
So, the bad side. The food was very average. Service was average in the restaurant too. Stop serving the mayonnaise! Lunch was either heavy burgers and chips or fried fish or a light salad lacking flavour. The vegetarian dinner I tried was unloved. I'm sure they're doing what they can with what they have on a relatively isolated island but...
The masseuse is excellent! Had the 1/2 hour but should have gone the full hour. Great.
Overall it was a great experience. Loved the location and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This property is amazing as well as the food and staff. Sadly the snorkeling is not as good as other resorts. The coral died from a predator that has been eradicated and they are now working on rejuvenating it. There are lots of fish to see though. This is a small resort with fabulous bures, some on the beach and others up a hill. The food is high quality with lots of choices and good portions. All the staff are friendly and will help you with any request.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpollock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

At a reasonable price, with great service, friendly staff and a small intimate resort, its hard to go past Nanuya Island resort.

Fantastic beach, great food and no battle to get a beach lounge or access to equipment.

Go fishing with George the barman, see the beautiful sunset from your Bure, eat fish, fish and more fish because its fresh and beautifully cooked.

We loved Nanuya Island Resort and wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I’m so lucky to choice Nanuya Island Resort for the end of our journey of Yasawa Islands.

We stayed there for 2 nights, the relaxing & peaceful atmosphere we never found before.

Beautiful reef just outside the beach and we can snorkel every time and the tide was not impact the snorkeling.

The seafood is delicious!!

Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from 5 blissful nights at Nanuya Island Resort and loved our time on the island. This is not for those seeking bright lights and bells and whistles but will satisfy anyone wanting a true Fijian island escape in comfort with good food and hospitality. We had a beachfront bure which I would highly recommend for the extra room but the tree top bures are fine for a couple (although they are compact). Food was very good and well priced with huge portions. Staff were all accommodating and the location is wonderful with some very good snorkelling just off the beach down on the point where the blue lagoon boats tie up. The cave trip is great as is the school visit. Nanuya is a really lovely small resort that fits in nicely between the backpackers and fairly pricey 5 star resorts in the Yasawas. Keep up the good work and thank you Alfie, Lilly, Jioji, Moses, Sam, Remy and everyone else for such a wonderful break.

Room Tip: go beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelproNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

In the northern Yasawas, Nanuya resort is an experience you will keep returning to. The staff are as friendly and helpful as any you will meet anywhere in the world. The kitchen serves food as fresh and as good as any 5 star restaurant in an unparalleled setting. Great to stay at such an eco friendly resort that keeps recovering so well no matter what cyclones hit Fiji. The snorkelling is still great. This was our second time to Nanuya and it won't be the last.

Room Tip: There is not much to choose between the Burres. They are fairly basic but more than adequate and eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 707CJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya Lailai Island
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
782 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,455 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
108 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
306 reviews
17.3 mi away
Botaira Resort
Botaira Resort
#1 of 1 in Naviti Island
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Address: 1 Waterfront Road | Blue Lagoon, Nanuya Lailai Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya Lailai Island
Price Range: £156 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya
Nanuya Island Resort Fiji/Nanuya Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing