We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good guesthouse near Piarco airport”
Review of Pax Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pax Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Tunapuna B&B and Inns
California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good guesthouse near Piarco airport”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed one night at Pax, only about 20 minutes from the airport. It is a guesthouse once associated with the adjacent Mount St Benedict Monastery, and thus is on a steep hillside overlooking the main valley. It has about 20 rooms, most with private baths but the upstairs rooms have only a sink with bathrooms just a few steps away. My room was small but adequate; good bed, wardrobe, sink, small table and a superb view out the large windows. It serves three meals, not just breakfast. Dinner is served outdoors on a really nice verandah, other meals in an adjacent dining room. Food was quite good.

For visiting birders, this is an excellent choice for first and last days near the airport. We saw and heard several birds which we missed on our nine day guided birding tour. The verandah has hummingbird feeders, there is a view over a wooded valley, and the proprietor is a good birder. There is a trail which can be taken through the woods, and one can walk around the various levels around the monastery.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
28
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This beautiful facility is nestled in the mountains overlooking Port of Spain. The propreitors are caring wonderful folks that provide excellent service and support. The food they served was xcellent with sufficient proportions. I stayed here for eleven nights. I would recommend it without any reservations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed at PAX guesthouse for 2 nights, best memories - high ceilings, open veranda, birds at the feeder, spicy soup, attentive waitresses, walking in the forest and passers by giving us lifts up and down the hill! Also, Father Christopher, Oda and her lovely hubby. Thanks for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: We had a room with shared bathroom - makes things more interesting, you never know who you'll me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueOborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakebay, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stumbled on this fantastic place while looking for a place to stay overnight for an early flight out of Trinidad. (There appears to be lots of ignorance among the local websites and other proprietors about where to stay near the airport.) The hotel is only 20 minutes away, so transit travelers should consider this instead of the dreary airport places.

More importantly, they should consider Pax as a major part of their stay as the hotel is a safe, comfortable and well-run establishment that can arrange trips to many of Trinidad's attractions. Birders especially will love this place. The back tiled terrace looks out over a jungle hillside, and the other side looks out over the central plains. Meals were good - request the "meal plan" to save a bit on dinners.

We made a last-minute request for Oda to arrange a trip to see the scarlet ibis spectacle at the Coroni Swamp which turned out great - just 35 minutes or so away. She and Gerard keep a number of taxi drivers on a short leash and we found all trips efficient and affordable and billed to the room. No cost surprises.

This place has lots of the sort of character we look for on trips. Do request an en-suite room on the first floor if you want that and AC (about $105). While the place may strike some as old and creaky, everything worked fine and we found it a very relaxing stay. The "austerity" is part of the charm - you are at a monastery after all! Highly recommended - consider Pax as an affordable alternative to Asa Wright (with better view), then just tour Asa as a day trip.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms share bathrooms and no AC, but nice and lots cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mjolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Spent a week at Pax as part of a Habitat for Humanity group. If you are looking for a modern, high class, B&B then you should look elsewhere. You’re not going to get ”fancy” for the economical price that they charge. Pax was established in 1916 and therefore does not have the most modern conveniences. All upstairs rooms are not air conditioned although I was surprised to find the overhead fan along with the mountain breeze kept me comfortable. Older plumbing means that you sometimes have to flush twice or wait for hot water after many people shower in the hall bathroom. What you are going to get is a lovely quiet (aside from the 6am mission bells and local roosters) setting in the mountains, with beautiful birds flying to the many bird feeders around the property. Our fellow guests were biologists and hikers, some returning for their second or third visit. I found Oda and Gerard to be especially friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Others have mentioned the food. It was delicious local Trini food with a variety of seasonings. There were staples like meat, rice, beans, vegetables, plantains, and salad that were cooked differently each night along with tasty homemade soup and dessert. Breakfasts included freshly baked bread and jams. One suggestion, Girard, with such delicious bread please serve butter instead of margarine. I’d definitely recommend Pax and would return there on my next visit to Trinidad.

Room Tip: If you need air conditioning ask for the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed at the Pax Guest house for graduation this year and it was a wonderful stay. At first the aged infrastructure may seem slightly disconcerting for t hose who expected posh accommodations. However, for the price they are quite reasonable and the excellent and friendly service more than makes up for any deficiencies. Upon signing in we were greeted with a complimentary welcome drink, the staff are very friendly, meals are wonderful and the environment is very quiet and relaxing; and the price is quite reasonable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others...cheers

Room Tip: Go for one of the superior rooms, they are definitely worth the few added dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlo_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banksia Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Comfortable clean bed and good meals. Views are great - close to Port of Spain but a great geat away and you get back to POS in 30 mins. Meals were good and unfortunatleu it was raining while we were there - so just had to relax...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thehorrorthehorror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunapuna
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,060 reviews
26.2 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amazon Lodge B&B
The Amazon Lodge B&B
#1 of 3 in Tunapuna
71 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tony's Guest House
Tony's Guest House
#11 of 42 in Port of Spain
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Property: Pax Guest House
Address: Mount St. Benedict, Tunapuna, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Tunapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tunapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pax Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing