We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”
Review of Pax Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pax Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Tunapuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Pax Guesthouse for four nights as part of a birdwatching holiday. On the plus side the building has historic charm and the situation, half way up a forested hill, is very pleasant. It also has 3 verandahs where you can view birds. It is clean and the food is acceptable.
However the sleeping accommodation is very poor. Most rooms are arranged on a long wooden-floored corridor on the first floor. We knew, before we arrived, that these were not en suite but were nevertheless disappointed that there were only two showers to serve all the women. The men’s facilities were equally limited, though I am told that one of their showers did not work properly. This meant that there were inevitable queues every day with the added incentive that the hot water ran out after the first couple of users. The bedrooms each had a clean but rather cracked sink but only cold water was supplied and no plug so my husband had real difficulties shaving.
We are seasoned travellers and could have put up with the simple washing options had we been able to sleep at night. The rooms are built as adjoining wooden cubicles but the wall adjacent to the corridor stops about 2 feet from the ceiling. This gap ensures that the room is never dark since you cannot block out the corridor lights but by far the worst problem is the noise. You hear everything that occurs in neighbouring rooms however quiet and considerate the other guests. Every conversation can be heard, along with snoring and each journey down the corridor to the toilet through the night. When guests leave very early for a plane it is as though the trundling luggage (at 4am) is adjacent to your bed, which I suppose it is. Our room had a large wardrobe (but no drawers) so unless you are used to hanging up your teeshirts and undies on coat-hangers you have to live out of your case. The mattress on the bed was comfortable but we were supplied with no blankets, just a solitary sheet. A very thin “blanket” was supplied on request.

I know that Pax features on many birdwatching itineraries presumably because of its pleasant location and verandahs but we did not see any birds at Pax which we did not see elsewhere. My advice is that if you have the choice - go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Only consider the odd few ground floor rooms which are quieter and have en suite facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JILLYAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Pax Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

A lovely place, simple, rustic with soul and charm. Comfortable and quiet you will be received with hospitality and will hear about the history of the place.
And if you're lucky you'll enjoy a rhum on the terrace and talk about life with the owner.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A year back I was on a university trip which took us to Trinidad. We traveled around the beautiful tropical island, stayed in several different locations and the Pax Guest House was by far the best place we stayed throughout the island.

This guest house is located ~30 minutes outside of Port of Spain, Trinidad's capital. It is part of a monastery complex built in the early 1900s and is situated ~300 metres up in the beautiful Northern Range.

Each night there we were greeted with great hospitality as well as fed some amazing Trinidadian food. Supper was made each night for us by the cooks who worked there and it was a buffet style meal. The rooms were well cleaned and very comfortable, albeit got a little hot sometimes, however keeping the window open allowed for the fresh mountain/jungle air to cool it down during the night (didn't have any problems with bugs doing this!).

The best place to chill and relax with a nice Carib Lager was on the back patio just off the dining room. Both evenings were spent here talking with the ever so friendly guest house manager about Trinidadian culture, as well as the natural fauna and flora. The songs from all the jungle birds just off in the proximal canopy was also quite a surreal touch!

All in all this accommodation was well worth the value and with such a beautiful setting was the perfect place to just relax and take in the natural beauty that Trinidad has to offer. The hosts also showed the classic Trinidadian hospitality that you don't forget!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Bet you didn't know. You can actually book a romantic breakfast for two, or a quiet family breakfast, without actually staying overnight.

Visited with the family in Aug 2013, as part of the stay-cation. The breakfast which consisted of a fruit plate (pawpaw, bananas, watermelon), followed by homemade bread (toasted), eggs, ham and salad, was served quickly and tasted great. Of course tea/coffee service and juice was also provided.

The service was excellent and the price extremely reasonable. Will do it again soon.

2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here on our way out of Trinidad, and it was a peaceful way to unwind and relax before hopping on a plane. (it's surprisingly near the airport). The building and rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable, and staff are very professional. It was a step up from the very simple guesthouses where we had been staying and was a real treat. Not a lot to do there, but that was fine with us. The food was tasty (though we were hungry at lunchtime - few options). We enjoyed exploring the area around the church and along the hillside.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in Pax Guest house, Trinidad, on a birding trip in late April. Pax was once part of an old monastery and the calm, beauty and serenity of this location was just what we needed after a long flight. The views from the guest house are stunning. The guest house is well located in the foothills of the northern range of Trinidad, and is an excellent location for birding, airport stopover, business, or just to chill . We stayed in an en suite room with spectacular view across lower slope of the mountains to Tunapuna below.

The management and staff were exceptionally warm and friendly and did everything to make us feel as welcome and comfortable as they could and the food and service were excellent. The guest house is run by Gerard (an expert birder) and his wife Oda, who were happy to help with contacting the local guides and drivers for us. The gardens have been planted with flowers, shrubs and trees, chosen to encourage the birds. The outside and dining area is delightful with views up into the mountains and hummingbird feeders bringing a dazzling array of birds into the adjacent trees.

One of the best things about Pax is that it has three verandas with beautiful views, where you can sit outside whatever the weather, so despite an unseasonal storm, we had a very productive stay, watching many species from the feeders and plants in the garden. The sweeping vistas outside the front of the guest house proved to be a great place to see many other species thermalling above the spectacular views.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying at Pax again and hope one day to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firecrestphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Pax is perfect for unwinding and recharging yourself. The church,which is a 5 min. walk up the hill is absolutely incredible. If you are into nature and looking for a breathless view of Trinidad esp. at night Pa is perfect. The two storey house has approx. 15 rooms and is probably 100 years old, the furniture is antique, the floor is wooden and the dining area is spacious and you can enjoy the chirping of the birds and view them within meters. The house is very well kept (kudos to the staff who pride their job not swayed by management. The staff at Pax are very friendly and provide an excellent service except the manager who is a little bit rough around the edges to locals (i noticed and was part of a little unfriendly unreasonable treatment being a local) . However the staff made up for the shortcomings. All in all I will highly recommend Pax.

Room Tip: Any room located to the east of the two storey house.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunita1479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunapuna
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,149 reviews
26.2 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
26.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
896 reviews
7.0 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
8.4 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 22 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Address: Mount St. Benedict, Tunapuna, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Tunapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tunapuna
Price Range: £59 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pax Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing