We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views, charming host ”
Review of Pax Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pax Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Tunapuna B&B and Inns
Orlando
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, charming host ”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Perched on a mountainside overlooking Tunapuna and the campus of UWI St Augustine, this historic guest house exudes old West Indian charm. I had a number of very nice breakfasts and dinners there, too. The innkeeper, Gerard, goes out of his way to make guests feel welcome, and his knowledge of the monastery and Trinidad is second to none.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom of Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
28
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

A historic guest house, up above busy Tunapuna. It is blessedly quiet, surrounded by birds and cooled by the breezes. Access can be a challenge if you don't have a car, but taxis will gladly deliver you. Rooms are simple, monastic, clean. The management is incredibly kind and accommodating. Our five year old was able to help "walk" the owners' bunny and guinea pigs in the evening, while we joined the manager for tea in the garden. A very special place, that has housed incredibly important political and intellectual figures over its lifetime. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This guest house is several hundred feet up on the side of a hill with panoramic views. From the various balconies one can see many species of birds in the gardens and the valley below. The house is nearly 100 years old, is a listed building and has a lot of character and with it comes some issues if you are in the basic rooms on the first floor.

Good points- Gerard the owner and his staff are great and provide service with some style starting with a welcoming rum punch. The bedrooms are a reasonable size, are clean with a comfy bed. The food is excellent with good helpings of a selection of home cooked Trinidadian food. Lovely seating area and library of wildlife books in the entrance and various balconies to enjoy birds, views and sun. Wifi connection. Only 30 mins from airport.

Not so good. Quite a few of the rooms are not ensuite. This in itself is not too much of a problem as the toilets and showers are on same floor and provided you are not in a large party and all want to use the showers when you come back. Most of our showers were luke warm at best. The rooms have open ventilation at the top which along with the fan in the room keeps them a nice temperature. The downside is that the bedrooms are affected by light from the corridor and it can be very noisy in the night if someone is going to the toilet facilities with banging of doors. Your alarm call is at 6am with the bells of the Benedictine monastery ringing out over the area which is not too bad if you wish to go onto the balconies to see early morning birds.

Overall the good points probably just outweighed the others. Anyone in the superior rooms downstairs should have few issues. Well worth considering as a start or finish to your stay in Trinidad if going for bird watching.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ensuite(if available) . Will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianatcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Pax Guesthouse for four nights as part of a birdwatching holiday. On the plus side the building has historic charm and the situation, half way up a forested hill, is very pleasant. It also has 3 verandahs where you can view birds. It is clean and the food is acceptable.
However the sleeping accommodation is very poor. Most rooms are arranged on a long wooden-floored corridor on the first floor. We knew, before we arrived, that these were not en suite but were nevertheless disappointed that there were only two showers to serve all the women. The men’s facilities were equally limited, though I am told that one of their showers did not work properly. This meant that there were inevitable queues every day with the added incentive that the hot water ran out after the first couple of users. The bedrooms each had a clean but rather cracked sink but only cold water was supplied and no plug so my husband had real difficulties shaving.
We are seasoned travellers and could have put up with the simple washing options had we been able to sleep at night. The rooms are built as adjoining wooden cubicles but the wall adjacent to the corridor stops about 2 feet from the ceiling. This gap ensures that the room is never dark since you cannot block out the corridor lights but by far the worst problem is the noise. You hear everything that occurs in neighbouring rooms however quiet and considerate the other guests. Every conversation can be heard, along with snoring and each journey down the corridor to the toilet through the night. When guests leave very early for a plane it is as though the trundling luggage (at 4am) is adjacent to your bed, which I suppose it is. Our room had a large wardrobe (but no drawers) so unless you are used to hanging up your teeshirts and undies on coat-hangers you have to live out of your case. The mattress on the bed was comfortable but we were supplied with no blankets, just a solitary sheet. A very thin “blanket” was supplied on request.

I know that Pax features on many birdwatching itineraries presumably because of its pleasant location and verandahs but we did not see any birds at Pax which we did not see elsewhere. My advice is that if you have the choice - go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Only consider the odd few ground floor rooms which are quieter and have en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JILLYAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

A lovely place, simple, rustic with soul and charm. Comfortable and quiet you will be received with hospitality and will hear about the history of the place.
And if you're lucky you'll enjoy a rhum on the terrace and talk about life with the owner.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A year back I was on a university trip which took us to Trinidad. We traveled around the beautiful tropical island, stayed in several different locations and the Pax Guest House was by far the best place we stayed throughout the island.

This guest house is located ~30 minutes outside of Port of Spain, Trinidad's capital. It is part of a monastery complex built in the early 1900s and is situated ~300 metres up in the beautiful Northern Range.

Each night there we were greeted with great hospitality as well as fed some amazing Trinidadian food. Supper was made each night for us by the cooks who worked there and it was a buffet style meal. The rooms were well cleaned and very comfortable, albeit got a little hot sometimes, however keeping the window open allowed for the fresh mountain/jungle air to cool it down during the night (didn't have any problems with bugs doing this!).

The best place to chill and relax with a nice Carib Lager was on the back patio just off the dining room. Both evenings were spent here talking with the ever so friendly guest house manager about Trinidadian culture, as well as the natural fauna and flora. The songs from all the jungle birds just off in the proximal canopy was also quite a surreal touch!

All in all this accommodation was well worth the value and with such a beautiful setting was the perfect place to just relax and take in the natural beauty that Trinidad has to offer. The hosts also showed the classic Trinidadian hospitality that you don't forget!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Bet you didn't know. You can actually book a romantic breakfast for two, or a quiet family breakfast, without actually staying overnight.

Visited with the family in Aug 2013, as part of the stay-cation. The breakfast which consisted of a fruit plate (pawpaw, bananas, watermelon), followed by homemade bread (toasted), eggs, ham and salad, was served quickly and tasted great. Of course tea/coffee service and juice was also provided.

The service was excellent and the price extremely reasonable. Will do it again soon.

2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunapuna
10.0 mi away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
26.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Property: Pax Guest House
Address: Mount St. Benedict, Tunapuna, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Tunapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tunapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pax Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing