We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go bring your hip waders”

South Padre Island Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our 18 hole championship golf course is located on the beautiful Laguna Madre Bay. Our golf course is considered one of the finest in the area. Enveloped by nature and removed from the traffic and busy pace of this modern age, the course at South Padre Island Golf Club is truly an oasis.
Laguna Vista, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you go bring your hip waders”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you go wear your hip waders because the water is lower in the Laguna than it is on the golf course.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Golf Resort? What?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've been to South Padre Island (SPI) a few times but never to Laguna Vista or SPI Golf Resort. It’s roughly 10 miles west of SPI itself. The facilities were built in 1997 and designed to give it the appearance of a resort and it has that appearance but very few services exist even though they advertise as such. We were disappointed when we discovered it was not as we were told.

Check in is at 4 PM. We arrived at 5:30 PM and no one was there to meet us. The pro shop was locked and no one at the guard station. We prepaid on their website and all these questions start coming into our minds. The waiter was in the dining room so we asked him for help. He kept repeating that this wasn’t his job and didn’t have anyone’s contact information. When we thought we were going to have to find a hotel he said you could try the guard shack and check to see if it’s locked. Apparently, the rental manager drops the keys off in the guard station before he leaves to give to the renters when they arrive. The problem was the guard was not there. We check the door as suggested and luckily our package with our name on it awaited us.

The next day we play our discounted round of golf. No one on the staff was overly rude but no one was overly friendly either. The facility looks run down and dated almost like it’s not operational but you go inside and employees are at their post. They have all these rules they like to tell the visitors about but they don't seem to apply to the members.

They have a big dining room but they only service lunch. I saw the golf pro eating a big plate of eggs and ask the waitress about it and she said he brings his own food and the cook prepares it for him, as she was sneezing in her hands and wiping them on her shirt. Strange!

The course looks like it needed tending but overall a good layout. Greens were also in good shape. Considering it’s the only course in the area, as well as touting itself as a resort, one would think it would have been better kept but overall not terrible. Use “GolfNow” so you can avoid paying full price.

The saving grace that boosted my rating from a 1 to a 2 was the townhome we rented. We rented a place listed on their website and it was better than we expected. (Once we were able to actually retain the keys). It is in a nice community across the street from the course. We were excited that it was well kept and decorated. We got excited and thought what it was cost to buy a condo in the area. It appears to be a depressed market in the SPI region unless you are on SP Island itself. Quick glace around and we saw a lot of for sale signs. A quick Zillow search showed that you can pick up a really nice place for under 100K in the Luguna Vista area. We were disappointed.

Overall we probably won't go back but if you do decide to rent a place be sure to bring all your food as the resort doesn't have much to choose from. Or we might stay on SP Island and drive over to play golf.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Grande L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Ne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quite Possibly the Best Course in the Valley”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The SPIGC is now under professional management and things have really changed. The bunkers, greens, tee boxes, and all general areas of maintenance have been stepped up 100% from one year ago and maybe over 200% better the two years ago. The management company is making SPIGC ‘the place’ for championship golf in the Rio Grand Valley. They offer "Stay and Play" packages that are great value and really nice accommodations.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NVI_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent layout; closest to SPI hotels”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The only day that we could play at South Padre Island Golf Club, the temps were in the low 60’s with winds gusting at 30+mph, somewhat unfriendly for golf. BTW, in Mass. we'd play when temps are above 50.

That day, the winds took down several flagsticks. The ones that were still standing curved and resisted as much as they could. Short putts were easy to miss because you just couldn't keep still enough.


The course weaves through what appears to be several different developments of medium size single family homes. I am generally not a fan of courses embedded among homes. However, on SPIGC, when you stand on the tee box or on most fairways, the view of the holes is seldom distracted by the homes. The effective use of ponds and layout, I think, created enough room so you never felt like you are playing in people’s backyards or in a fishbowl. I guess when my skills grow, and then I would welcome spectators, lots of them. Wishful.

Holes 3-7 were next to the lagoon that separate SPI from the mainland. Obviously, when we played under blustery conditions, the views of SPI were clouded and dim.

There was enough variety in the holes to keep up the challenge, vary club selection and to prevent interest from waning. Playing an empty golf course, we finished in less than 3 unhurried hours.

Course conditions, while don’t make for great pictures, were very playable. Greens were flat and speedy; fairways, generally fluffy with some weeds and bald areas. Par 3 bunkers had quality sand in them. As others noted, most others contained hard-packed dirt with very little sand.

On balance, would play here again as there were enough pluses overall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsFan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The course looks really bad.”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The golf course is run down and the cart paths are terrible. Make sure you book on golf now.com. Do not pay full price, you will be very disappointed. The pro shop had nothing on the shelves. The staff was very friendly. The ranger was very helpful. He talked to a pushy group behind us. We are a very fast twosome. It was the groups in front of us that were slow.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Padre Island Golf Club also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast

Been to South Padre Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing