We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so charming....loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so charming....loved it”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed only one night - it was 5 minutes cab from the ferry, we were worn out and we smiled the second we saw it, funky unexpected decor, fantastic staff. It is on a steep hill across the 12 foot road from the elegant sister hotel and at the bottom is a little cove beach. Our room was at the top (J2), kitchen, mammoth bathroom that was so fun, canopied bed with romantic mesh and flowers yet flat screen My favorite was the huge covered veranda that was bigger than my living room and the view was ocean. Infinitiy pool few feet away and can use 24/7. Many charming public areas, bar, ping pong,, the Havana Cafe is the restaurant which is okay. Breakfast is British. Open air, Fun beach and beach bar furniture. Can rent car and book trips. I was mentally quitting job and redoing kitchen as I was ready to retire to this room. Great residential area. Downsides....not on the white extended pristine north side beaches. I really fell so good here, this is an incredible gem. ! No spider webs but an lizard welcomed us on the front door, Room and bath were Immaculate

Room Tip: good base for people who want to explore the island, are in bed by 11. Really charming and like ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welchiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    44
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Tobago is a very beautiful small island with many beautiful highlights in the north, so to make the most of this very good hotel - hire a car / bring an umbrella for the tropical storms and strong sun!
Hotel rooms lovely with breeze kissed veranda, comfortable 4 poster with mosquito net (needed at times) wonderful large shower abundant hot water, modern yet possessing considerable traditional character. Rooms back on to lush vegetation so expect the Cocrico to act as a reliable alarm (once heard not easily forgotten). Kettle, tea n coffee topped up daily, electrics abundant plus hairdryer good. Setting romantic and idyllic with two small infinity pools and a beach. (Use of Bacolet Beach Club facilities a huge advantage).
Service/cleaning first rate.
Locality? Pleasant, but if you only visited Scarborough and Bacolet you might be slightly disappointed. Island's population 52k and capital has fews sites of interest.
Food? Hotel food at Club Havana is high quality but can be pricey once you add in govt tax, service charge AND tip. Best to eat out some of the time. Breakfast came with our deal and was pretty good - varied with lots of local specials.
Eating out? Tanty's Fish n Chips in Charlotteville are superb (chips made from breadfruit and spiced) Gemma's at Speyside is wonderful for lunch or dinner.
Beaches? Englishman's Bay, Pirate's Bay for secluded tropical paradise, Pigeon Point for the watersport scene.
Culture? Plymouth point is particularly impressive if you know some of the history, museum at Fort King George really worthwhile. Driving? Roads twisty but good once you get used to the rules. No need for 4wd, 2 wd with high clearance got us around very well. 4 star not 5 only if you don't get around the island / otherwise 5.
Nb The insects do bite...even paradise has a down side

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apicius59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Personal is very nice, room with wood floor, BFast very good, Wonderful swiming pools, with an access to the beach.
Very close to Scarborough, but the location is very quiet.
A nice place to stay.
The restaurant is a bit expensive for dinner, but very good.
You can rent a car from the hotel, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaiaiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Huge room next to the pool with 4 poster bed and flower petals everywhere. Clean & comfortable. Easy walk to secluded inlet (provided you don't mind a few steps). Lovely setting - especially for couples. Very helpful staff. Located in a residential area so very quite but also a bit of a hike to town center/restaurants, etc. Stuck going to hotel's restaurant which has descent food but is overpriced. Would recommend and would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Booked three nights three days at HMB only stayed one night. The room was dusty and had spiderwebs which was a big turnoff. My wife and I arrived around 8:30pm checked out the next morning. It can be a nice place but it needs updating and renovating. The staff were extremely pleasant, no complaints in this area at all and as soon as we came out of the airport their driver was wating for us with his sign with our names, I thought that was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

On my way from Antigua to Suriname, I've had to stay for one and half days in Tobago to catch a connecting flight and went to the Half Moon Blue Hotel ...... and I had a very pleasant stay. I got a Junior Suite for the night. The room itself was spacious and extremely clean with high ceiling and a balcony outside, with a great view. The staff members were always very friendly and attentive.

The hotel provides all of the basic amenities. In the room you have A/C; cable TV; free wireless Internet access; an electric kattle to prepare coffee or tea and a; small refrigerator with complimentary bottled cold water); they also a rich breakfast (inclusive with room) and they have a very small but quiet private beach. Nice to relax

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed @ hmb for two weeks 5th to 19th July. It was really lovely, we had the pool to ourselfs and got upgraded to junior sweet for the last week which was very cool. I prefer the privacy of the hmb rather than over the road at the bacolet the sister hotel. But some may prefer the bacolet for a bit mote of a modern feel. Hmb is rustic, but clean and nice. Worth getting the upstarts rooms if in your buget. All the staff were really nice and gave some great advice for beaches and snorkeling. Overall had a fab time. Tobago is a pretty chilled place, and felt safe. Have to hire a car or get taxis as the Havana can be a bit pricy every night, but maybe all inclusive or half board would be cheaper. Breakfast included was really good every day. Overall relaxing and lush :) ps all rooms have fridges so you can always have cold drinks ect.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms lovely but cheaper options also ok, and easy acces to the pool all with big balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.6 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Property: Half Moon Blue Hotel
Address: Bacolet Street 73, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Blue Hotel Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing