We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent with beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Blue Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent with beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at Half moon blue and found the accommodation to be just what we wanted.

The rooms are spacious and we had a large balcony with sea views.

The staff were always helpful whenever we asked for anything.

All in all a lovely experience. Thank you

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Willbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    42
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
17
69
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful fortnight in the Half Moon Blue. There are so many reasons we loved it, I'm not sure where to start. Helpful, friendly, relaxed staff. Simple but absolutely fine rooms. Delicious food. 2 brilliant pools. Fantastic hotel masseuse. One of the best beaches ever. A lovely beach bar. Great views. Good looking buildings. One needs to say it's not a standard package holiday hotel with all that entails, but that's why it's so good. If I had to make one suggestion, I'd say it lacks a good evening bar where guests can meet new people over a drink, and listen to some of the great island musicians, like Fya Empress.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tristan360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Since I got a great deal on-line, I should be kinder, but what can you say about a place that's missing smoke detectors, has no backup power generator OR torches in the rooms, has spotty reliability of both cable TV and WIFI, is undergoing construction, and above all, fails to THANK the guests for staying there? My longest interaction with reception involved whether or not I should pay for an airport transfer described on email as "free." good thing the pool and beach are good, otherwise I'd give only 1 star. My advice is to stay on the Caribbean side of the island until the much-needed reservations are completed. Let's hope they learn the Magic Word or they won't stay in business long....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Half Moon Blue Hotel is a great option with its quiet ambience and spacious rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and very accommodating. I received an upgrade to my room without asking! My only disappointment was the breakfast options which I think should be upgraded to more local cuisine. The building itself could do with some upgrades as the infrastructure seems a little old and dated but overall I had a good time... oh and the bathrooms need a door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shayna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Half Moon Blue in its own way is very unique, it has Eight Suites and every one is different. What was so great about this hotel apart from having two pools, it had a private beach which was amazing. If I do decide to visit Tobago again that's the place I am going just for the beach. However, I was a bit disappointed with the bathroom, it definitely needed an overhaul. If for some reason you want to sneak in the room while others are in the room forget about it because the squeaking floor will really "sell you out".

Room Tip: To really enjoy the hotel view make sure and get a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Half Moon Blue is a beautiful small hotel, well maintained and well managed. Its in Bacolet in Tobago and its a very quiet area even in the day, a totally relaxing atmosphere. The room was huge and very clean with a a surprising huge bathroom as well. Service was great, I had no problem, even with the room service.

Besides the pool at the hotel, you have access to the beach through the Bacolet Beach Club which provides you with the beach towels. A complimentary breakfast is offered at Cafe Havana, with a spread of different food and fruit. There are vehicles for rent on the premises, which is perfect and Airport Transfers, so you are totally covered.

We stayed in the Blue room and probably because of its location the wireless signal was not the greatest, but elsewhere it was perfect. Loved the stay and this hotel is high recommended, hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Stay in the high level room, will have a better view and wireless internet signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_V1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked two rooms at the Half Moon Blue Hotel on short notice.

This was the worst experience I ever had at a hotel. There were ants in the bathroom (toilet seat, sink, towel rack) in both rooms. I did receive ant spray from a helpful front desk clerk. However the following day after I returned from a day trip I discovered ants were in my clothing that was left on a chair in the room. I requested a manager and was told the manager was on holiday. A young lady arrived and informed me that I was in "the tropics" and that is why ants were all over the room. I informed her that I was from "the tropics" and visited many islands and I never had ants crawling in my clothing or all over the room. The young lady told me to contact the site I booked the room to request a refund. I was very disappointed in this hotel.

Pros:
Helpful staff
Mosquito nets over the bed
Nice taxi driver who is affiliated with the hotel

Cons:
Ants all over the room
Outdated hotel/hotel room
Lots of flies at hotel restaurant
Far from attractions (other beaches, shopping)
Too many steps to go to the beach
Strange odor around restaurant area and in the bathroom

Overall, I would never stay here and have considered taking action in requesting a refund. This hotel needs to be renovated and exterminated.

Room Tip: My only tip would be not to stay here. Hotel needs to be renovated and exterminated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachLover201069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.6 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Property: Half Moon Blue Hotel
Address: 73 Bacolet Street, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Blue Hotel Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing