We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$248
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
US$320
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
53
45
18
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
45
18
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelhalf moonjunior penthousebacolet beach clubbeach barblue crablower roomsrough edgesfirst morningfour postercafe havanafridgetaxistobagohoneymoongloriacobwebs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed at Half Moon Blue at first for one night and in a week or so for extra 4 nights. It was a great experience! If you have the chance, I would recommend the Superior Penthouse or Junior Penthouse - both have amazing views, and are quite spacious. The service was excellent - really friendly staff. The hotel is located close to Scarborough, I think it took us about 20 mins to walk to the centre (we walked quite slowly). There is also a very nice bar/restaurant called Havana Cafe that belongs to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed for five nights in January 2011 following a short business trip to Port of Spain. There was a free airport transfer (by Treveino Marcelle, a taxi driver and guide) to and from the hotel, and a great welcome from Tracey, who not only showed us up to our room but carried our bags as well! The room was large and clean, with a good shower, and a great terrace with comfy chairs. Tea and coffee, kettle and fridge were available, and you could get milk from the restaurant every day. The bed was a tad hard, but we slept well; the pillows were very comfortable. Good reading lights as well -- not all hotels recognise the need for those! TV with cable channels and remote-controlled aircon.

Breakfast was taken in the restaurant attached to the sister hotel -- Bacolet Beach Club --across the road. It was a plentiful buffet, varied and very good. Don't miss the bake and whatever -- either salt fish or fried fish. We had dinner there twice: the fried calamari was excellent, as were the burgers. They have a happy hour from 3 to 6, with half price cocktails, beer and wine.

We didn't try the small pool at Half Moon Blue, preferring to use the pool at the Bacolet Beach Club instead. Very comfortable pool chairs and towels. It was a steep climb down steps to the beach which we did only once. You can swim there, but it wasn't for us. We preferred to hire a jeep from the hotel ($65 a day) and drive to better beaches such as Pigeon Point.

The owner -- a former model -- was in residence at the time and was very friendly and welcoming. It's a pity that not all her restaurant staff -- the European ones especially -- were the same. Someone should tell them that a smile doesn't cost anything but goes a long way.

Overall, this was a lovely stay and we could have done with another week. We would certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The suite to which we were moved from Bacolet was wooden and much more in the traditional West Indian style. The room overlooked Bacolet and the sea. There was a small kitchen with a fridge. The bathroom had two washbasins and a great shower. The bedroom was much larger than Bacolet and the balcony could accomodate two fully reclining chairs. It was comfortable, cosy and felt like home. Breakfast at the restaurant (shared with Bacolet) is excellent: fcereal and fresh fruit to start and a choice of hot dishes. Lunch was good value but the dinner menu was expensive for what was offered. We had the pool to ourselves except for one occasion. We hired one of the hotel's 'jeeps' for three days. The island is worth seeing. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BASILVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I spent my honeymoon at this hotel. My duration was 7 nights. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room had a rustic finish, however it was very beautiful, clean and spacious, overlooking the sea and it's sister hotel Bacolet Beach Resort. We had a wonderful champagne breakfast on the first morning and it was excellent. The negatives we encountered at the hotel was few, like although we could have used the facilities at Bacolet we opt to using the one at our hotel which needed cleaning. There was an electricity problem at the hotel which resulted in my lap top being fried on the last night of our stay, and the blame was thrown on electricity company!!! All in all it was a great Honeymoon!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radicalrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Upon arrival at the Half Moon, I had been told that I was upgraded to the "Penthouse" free of charge! As you can expect I was quite pleased!! Well, the "Penthouse" turned out to be nothing of the sort. Out of the 3 days/2 nights I stayed there, the toilet only worked one of the days. One of the nights the shower only had scalding hot water! The management, to their credit, tried to help out as much as they could. But after fixing the toilet (a broken pump) it broke again the next day. The shower was never fixed. They were booked to capacity, due to the surge of visitors for Carnival, so they couldn't move us to another room. We just had to suffer through it. But judging from other "hotels" in the area I'm not certain if I would or would not stay here again. This maybe one of the better places unfortunately.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg70126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews