We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven!”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for several nights with a friend. It was fabulous! Some reviews reflect that the property needs maintenance, and, if you look hard enough you will see some areas that may need a dash of paint and such. Overall, the property is extremely well maintained, particularly considering the punishment it receives on a daily basis from mother nature. The winds, sun, and salt air present challenges, I am sure.
The rooms are large and well equipped, although a coffee pot would have been very welcome in our room. Bathrooms are large and very clean! no mildew or odors which is fabulous! A balcony for sunset viewing, small refrigerator for water, etc, a safe, and a large closet. The beds were comfortable, but not plush. no problems with the air conditioning, another real bonus - especially in Tobago.
Absolute peace, quiet, beautiful surroundings, and the staff was pleasant and accomodating. On our first day everyone greeted us with "you must be the new arrival", on our second day we were greeted with, you are in room ## - welcome to breakfast!
I highly recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: rooms on the small 2 level wing to the right of reception have marvelous (and the best) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    78
    28
    34
    24
See reviews for
30
127
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This is a place with unique character but allows access to the facilities of the Beach Club so best of both worlds! Well kept, comfortable and great views the place is cleaned daily and has an infinity pool 'round the back' which though small has a luxurious feel. The hotel is located below Fort King George and backed by lush vegetation which hosts numerous (sometimes very noisy) birds - the chacalaca is an inimitable alarm. Veranda is luxuriously equipped with sofas.
Meals at Club Havana are high quality but can be pricey when you add on tax, service charge and tips.
Tobago is a tropical island so take an umbrella for the mix of glorious sun and downpours. Do take insect repellent and use the mosquito net,practical as well as romantic.
We loved the hotel particularly because we like to explore places and hire a car. The north and west of the island have some real gems -and the roads though bendy are well surfaced with occasional potholes. Englishman's Bay, Pirate's Bay, Tanty's at Charlotteville and Gemma's at Speyside..... the wonderful rainforest (the oldest preserved one in the world) great places to visit in a tropical paradise.
For the snorkelling,diving and kite surfing crowd there's scope all over the island including white sand Pigeon Point.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Apicius59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Spent one night at the Blue Haven Hotel after spending seven nights at Bacolet Beach Club, not a bad hotel, but after experiencing Bacolet Beach Club, it was immeasurable. More of an island feel, not as luxurious or modern, but definitely has a great view. Great place to stay if you’re looking to have an island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AMANDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked two rooms at this hotel to stay for 10 days from the 20th Dec. There were only a handful of other guests there at the time which I think is indicative of the standard of the hotel. It is listed as a 4* but by no stretch of the imagination does it match the rating. More of a reasonable 3* at best as confirmed by our tour rep.

We only stopped one night and asked to be moved to another hotel. It isn't all bad, the owner went out of his way to try and make us happy but it just wasn't possible. After a long flight we wanted a shower - no hot water. Apparently you only get hot water if the sun shines as it is an 'eco' hotel and is dependent on solar power. There had been no sun for 5 days. Not good enough.

Our rooms on the surface looked okay, the bed was comfortable but the rest of the room could only be described as rickety. Our boys found they couldn't open the old wooden drawers without a lot of jiggling then couldn't open the wardrobe because they couldn't get the drawers closed sufficiently to slide the door in front of them. The worst however was the old air conditioning which was so noisy you could only sleep with it turned off. In order to talk on the phone even it was necessary to turn it off. The bathroom is very large, clean but very, very basic. Outside on the terrace we looked on to vegetation that had been cut down and left to rot. Metal work was rusting, broken slats in the louvres and flaking paintwork. The final straw for us was the very basic choice of breakfast fayre, barely luke warm served in a rundown restaurant by surly staff. We asked for tea and coffee in the evening, waited an absolute age and was eventually served them in teapots without lids in the bar where you really needed a torch as most of lighting was not switched on. The cushions from the outdoor furniture was piled up in there too.

It was a shame as the beach is truly beautiful and if it was properly refurbished rather than superficially, could potential be a good place to stay for r & r. Overall, disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BUGZYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This place is truly a piece of paradise on the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel is very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and the whole property is a little nostalgic. Even though I visited during the low season I felt as if I were brought back into the time of the movie "Dirty Dancing" at the resort in that movie. Although there was no dance halls, there certainly is a beautiful pool and lounging area, Bacolet Bay is stunning, with the restaurant/bar there... A true slice of paradise indeed. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone visiting Tobago I will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emailgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel is just what the doctor ordered!! The staff is truly amazing, the hotel is well decorated, very clean, the rooms and bathrooms are spot less and all have an incredible view of the ocean and the beach is what you would dream off, a perfect beach with great food! This hotel is what the Caribbean is all about, the best place to relax with perfect views.
I have already re-booked:)
Thanks Jillian for all your help.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I spent 5 nights at this hotel. The staff was okay. The room was well-decorated and welcoming. It didnt look as modern as the pics on the website but it was still nice and clean. There is a great view of the coast line from the room's balcony. There were 2 pools...one right outside my room door, where my husband and i were always the only ones there. The other pool was located like 3 mins walk away, also nice but more crowded. There is also a private beach that is really nice, and not too crowded. The breakfast was great, our first night, we had breakfast in bed, and the food was GREAT. The other nights we went to the restaurant. However, I think the lunch and dinner was too expensive at the hotel. Overall, the experience was awesome, and i will recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalifa147389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
5.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel completely renovated & re-opened July 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Haven Hotel Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing