We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best position on the island”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best position on the island”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous ten days at the Blue Haven hotel. Our room had an amazing sea views. The beds and sofas were very comfortable and we were never troubled by mosquitoes as we were last year in Antigua. The staff were always helpful, welcoming and friendly. Lunch and drinks at the beach bar were wonderful with views across the beautiful sandy beach. It was always very quiet with a constant refreshing warm breeze. In the evening we sipped cocktails on the terrace watching the sunset followed by a delicious la carte meal at The Shutters. We hired a car for a few days and travelled the island but can honestly say that we found nowhere in as perfect a position as this lovely boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite which had a sitting area with views across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    79
    28
    34
    24
See reviews for
30
129
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I completely agree with Rupert Chapman's review. My wife and I have just returned (early Feb) from a week at Blue Haven that exceeded our expectations in every area. Yes, the hotel is past its best, but you won't find a more glorious position - or better facilities for this kind of money. Large bedrooms, with huge comfortable beds and balconies with fabulous views. Plumbing that works - with a good shower and bath - (even though not all the lights do). A swimming pool with a massaging waterfall feature. A perfect beach with its own beach bar. A sun deck hanging out over the ocean.

The hotel was renovated in 2000 to a very high standard, and a combination of Atlantic salt spray and a Tobagoan weakness when it comes to maintenance, means it really needs a total refit. But, as Rupert says, then most people wouldn't be able to afford it.

The rooms are clean, unless you look too closely, the food is OK - sometimes better than OK. But the service is simply wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is funny and friendly and helpful. Sometimes they might be out of stock of something, but they'll always be lovely about it. Food and drink aren't cheap, but we felt it was good value; very much on a par with other hotels on the island. And we didn't grudge them a TT of it.

I had felt we might have preferred the Caribbean coast. But having driven round the island and swum at the usual spots, we loved the surf and the cooling Atlantic breeze and the simplicity of the beach.

Tobago is wonderful - for its beaches, climate, rainforest - but most of all for its people.

We would definitely go back… again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarnabyDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Sally and I visited this lovely hotel in early December 2013. The location is stunning, on a low headland having the sea on three sides with steps down to a lovely sandy beach. The hotel has three wings and the accommodation is arranged so that all the rooms have a balcony or patio with good sea views. Being situated on the South East coast the hotel has a lovely cooling breeze, from the Tradewinds. It also means there are not the usual mosquito problems. We slept with the balcony windows open, and went to sleep listening to the waves on the beach below. No nets, no bites, marvellous.

We met the owner Karl, who filled us in on the history of the hotel. He and his staff were so helpful and kind and made us very welcome. The food was excellent with a large buffet breakfast, cooked or fruits or continental. We ate lunch at the beach bar daily, typically Catch of the day with rice and salad. All the food was fresh and freshly prepared. Dinner service was excellent and the Head Waiter Denison took great care of dietary requirements.

In some places, maintenance is needed, but the pool, bars and the bedrooms (we changed to a slightly larger one half way) were great. Tobago has so much to explore. We trekked in the rain forest to a waterfall and swam in crystal clear ice cold water beneath .. just the two of us accompanied by nature .. Perfect .. go there and enjoy ..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I opted for this hotel having been confused by conflicting reviews. This review attempts to clear things up.
To understand the experience of this hotel, you need to understand the context, which is Tobago. By far the most unspoilt (and inexpensive) island in the Carribean. You will not gain benefit coming here and staying at your hotel the whole week. The island is to be explored and enjoyed and the best way is by hire car. Right hand drive and petrol at £10 a tank!!!

There may be more luxurious hotels, but the island does not boast such experiences.

This hotel is in a perfect location, on a cliff top that enjoys amazing sunsets (complete with fireflies) walk down to the small beach which is public but effectively private to the hotel.

When you arrive you feel special because you are treated as a house guest by the staff and the Austrian owner Karl, who doubles as the. Austrian counsel.

We had a junior suite and inside the room we enjoyed spacious clean grandour, rather than modern luxury. The balcony had an unspoilt sea view, which was the perfect setting for the massage we ordered.

The only negative, which cannot be easily fixed was that sound travelled too easily between the rooms.

As the hotel was only about ten per cent full ( and this appeared the norm outside of Xmas and carnival week) this was not a major issue.

The restaurant did everything to please. It is as good as you will get on this simple island and we enjoyed every meal with the full flavours and extras that they brought outside of the order.

If you want fantastic food go to st Martin or Guadeloupe and expect a minimum of £50 per head.

It is difficult to look at this hotel and location and not wish it a multimillion pound makeover. However, were this to happen you would not stay at anywhere near the price that is on offer.

If you are the type to fall in love with the unspoilt simplicity of Tobago, then the Blue. Haven will add the character of your experience.

Personally, I find trip advisor reviews hard to guage, as you do not know the writers expectations.

The week before we stayed at this hotel, we stayed in the Savoy. The experience was different, but my memory will stay with a great experience at The Blue Haven.

However, if you arrive here looking to pick faults, then you won't be disappointed either.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Rupertchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel like no other in terms of levels of hospitality and service you would receive. It feels like you have come to visit your friend that has long awaited you.
The service and hospitality are sincere. It does not feel like people are doing a job, it feels like truly welcome you there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Blue Haven is in a great location and with very helpful staff but the hotel itself is dilapidated and run down. The fitness centre is closed, the pool is dirty and needs renewing. Many of the fixtures and fittings are broken and cracked. Rust is appearing on many aspects of the buildings. The water in our room was barely warm enough to have a shower and the tap fitting was extremely loose. The availability of food and drink from the restaurant, hotel bar and beach bar was random and limited in choice. The buffet breakfast was particularly poor. We never ate a meal in the hotel due to our concerns relating to food hygiene and safety. Blue Haven needs a significant injection of cash if it is to survive. It is the worst hotel we have stayed in during 20 years of worldwide travel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bacolet Bay hotels

West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perfect starry skies, intimate beach, rolling waves, and delicious food.

The staff and owners are incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to meet your needs.

Local breakfast buffet for the foodies who want to try something new. Dinner options fresh and well cooked. We tried the lamp chops and fresh red snapper. Both were solid dishes with great layers of taste.

Not my first time and it won't be my last.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelelalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
5.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel completely renovated & re-opened July 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Haven Hotel Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing