We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beyond Belief”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Reviewed 11 July 2014

BLUE Brilliant bright light, blue sky canopy patrolled by floating frigate birds above a
sparkling and bejewelled sea surrounding a tropical paradise. Beautiful beyond
belief, beguiling breezes tenderly tease the subtly swaying coconut palms
fringing the soft sands.

HAVEN Home to the hawk and the humming bird. A sanctuary of peace, rest and
relaxation, but also a place of fun, happiness and laughter driven by the
sensational sounds of Soca music and the pulsating rhythms of life caught
up in the dance - "Dollar, Dollar, Dollar."

HOTEL Here it is. The hub of this corner of Tobago. The most beautiful hotel perched
like a crown on the cliff top, set in idyllic gardens, with stunning views over the beach
across the bay. Fabulous, friendly, fun loving, helpful, "nothing is too much trouble"
management and staff, Wonderful food in the super "Shutters" Restaurant and at, that
little gem, the "No Problem" Beach Bar. Cocktails on the Terrace at sunset. Who could
ask for more?

TOBAGO This tiny island treasure, a priceless jewel of the Caribbean. Beaches from paradise,
precipitous cliffs, incredible reefs, a profusion of wildlife in and around the sea,
countless birds in the forest vastness, a kaliedoscope of colours everywhere. Truly
wonderful people in harmony with the very rhythm of life.

I have never experienced anything as good as The Blue Haven Hotel, Tobago

Room Tip: In my opinion all of the rooms are lovely. I've been to the hotel 8 times and have been in diffe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Blue Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a very relaxing week at this hotel in early June, just at the start of the rainy season! Our room was very comfortable, the staff were very comfortable and the food of a very good standard.. We walked into Scarborough on a couple of occasions. taxis were easily arranged by the hotel staff if needed.

For us this hotel provided the ideal location: not too isolated but in peaceful secluded surroundings.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It was a pleasure to discover Blue Haven. The staff was unbelievably accommodating and kind. The view was spectacular, the grounds well-maintained, the rooms pleasant, the bathrooms large, the food tasty, and the service top-notch. A few rough edges (a little peeling paint or a cracked tile) did little to distract from the overall charm and peaceful ambiance of the place. Vandra and Esiason were terrific! Everyone was friendly and helpful. The modest entrance to the hotel grounds hides a calming oasis that was appreciated by our little group of travelers - and we recommend the place highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is definitely past its sell by date. It`s a pity because a lick of paint and some t l c could do wonders. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and have more character than your usual "popular" Caribbean hotels. The view from the balcony was beautiful although the balcony itself would benefit from some upgrading. I was on the ground floor and you could walk along all the other balconies!
The food is good. Breakfast is the usual fare but enhanced by the friendly attentive care of George (one of the waiters). Lunch is served in the Beach Bar which is down a long winding path with lots of steps. The fish& chips was excellent. Dinner in Shutters restaurant was usually good too.
The owner needs to spend some money on this property because the staff were so friendly and helpful. It`s actually a quirky hotel in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for a better view and more security.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribAnn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wow talk about a hidden gemstone in Tobago...Beautiful ocean view, private beach. Great hangout decks where my fiance and I just laid and soaked up the sun and view...amazing hospitality....Ask for Vandra...she got things done...and was a great help on setting up amazing excursions for dirt CHEAP. I remember going to the beach and there was no one else but us and the hotel sent someone to watch us...that made such a difference and made us felt real secured and safe....Thanks Blue Haven

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinidoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A hotel with character; yes, it is a bit old and has seen better days but the location, the friendly staff and the overall atmosphere make this a hotel we would revisit. We were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost, a lovely large room with wood panelled floor and a very comfortable bed. Large bathroom with complementary toiletries, snowy white towels, TV, safe, fridge etc. The view was amazing, we were awoken each morning by the sound of the waves and birdsong. The hotel's location on a headland above a beautiful small bay was idyllic, yes there were steps down to the beach, but not far and well worth the walk for the excellent food in the beach bar, ok the service did take a while but does it matter when you can sit under swaying palms and watch the world go by.
The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was also excellent, nothing was too much trouble for the staff we were made to feel special. This was our first trip to Tobago, but it will not be the last; the island is much less touristy than other Caribbean islands - don't go there if you want a squeaky-clean generic hotel that could be anywhere in the world - but if you want a taste of real Caribbean life and to meet people who really do mean it when they say have a nice day then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view, ask for an upgrade to a junior suite you may be lucky
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marley100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Blue Haven is definitely shabby, a bit dusty and not for the luxury loving traveller. But the bed was comfortable, the room was pleasant and if like us you are not too bothered about 'posh' but love wonderful views, perfect beaches, friendly staff and things to be a bit quirky, the Blue Haven maybe for you.
We weren't expecting a luxury hotel, having read previous tripadvisor reviews, so weren't surprised when we arrived at the hotel. We got there fairly late and after finding a few little problems with our room overnight I spoke to the reception staff and by the afternoon we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. This had a lovely view toward Scarborough and a balcony to watch the sunset. It wasn't perfect but it was spacious and very comfortable.
In the morning we went down to the beach, a fairly easy walk down a concrete walkway. We were delighted by this lovely little bay, David was on hand to give us sunbeds and have chat. Pelicans flew to and fro from the rocks, the beach was golden sand, there was plenty of natural shade, the sea was warm but a bit wavy, very invigorating and lots of fun. Whilst we were there the beach was never busy and the little beach restaurant served cold beers and pleasant food (daytime only).
From the Blue Haven it is relatively easy to get to other places on the island, taxi's were reasonably priced and the drivers friendly and helpful. Especially Alvin!
Breakfast at the hotel was served in the restaurant, again a bit shabby but with nicely set tables, wonderful fresh fruit, great omelettes and a variety of interesting bread. The breakfast room staff could not have been more helpful, cheerful and friendly.
Personally, I would much rather stay in this atmospheric and charming place than a luxurious 'could be anywhere' palace. We felt relaxed and at peace here. What more could you want!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neesh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Price Range: £109 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel completely renovated & re-opened July 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Haven Hotel Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing