We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of solace”
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acajou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little slice of solace”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The room (individual cabin) was beautiful, clean and well maintained, compact but as big as needed, with a roomy deck for relaxing. It was perfectly located with a view of the ocean and nothing to be heard but the the sounds of wildlife and the ocean. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, all were eager to assist in any way and were happy to organise tours or get permits. The location is perfect for turtle watching and having a quiet relaxed break, although Grande Rivere is a few hours out of the way it is well worth the trip. There is a restaurant on site, as in most places if you're vegetrian your choice is limited, but all fresh ingredients. Breakfasting with a view of the ocean is fantastic, and they make great homemade breads. If you're looking for a peaceful break in an amazing location, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgainelefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
92
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We went for lunch after visiting the nearby beach. What a horrible experience. We sat down and glasses of warm water were brought to the table, ice? The bleeping microwave didn't sound promising. It continued to bleep several times over. They had no red rum - in Trinidad? Caribbean spice rubbed chicken with couscous and pineapple and papaya salsa? No...rubber chicken with rancid couscous and a bit of chopped pineapple.
Grilled tuna steak with bean salad? No... a slab of something rubbery and raw with tasteless, cold pinto beans. Both were inedible. It was a mercy they didn't bother with any garnish.
The bill was wrong. When corrected, you could have still fed a family of 4 for a week elsewhere.
Minor but off-putting details - caged birds on the floor in the dining area, a waste bin for the bar tied to the deck railing in full view, rubbish under the decking. I could go on, but just don't go there. Makes me feel ill thinking about it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank tajocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Normally, we only serve guests that has made a reservation, especially during slow season as it is difficult and costly to maintain sufficient stock of everything to accommodate drop in guests as yourselves at such a remote location. The waiter that was serving you was on training, in fact, his very first day on the job. He did not know where we kept the cold water and the ice, neither did he know that red and dark rum are the same thing (nobody refers to it as red rum in the area). I do apologize for this.

The couscous was prepared the same morning, perhaps you did not like the taste of the celery vinegar? The salsa that was served with the chicken had everything but papaya (tomato, chives, pepper and pineapple). Papaya spoils very fast and we usually don’t keep it in stock unless we have in-house guests. You should have been informed about this when you ordered, for this I am truly sorry.

Grilled tuna steak with bean salad is a sashimi grade tuna served with a cold kidney bean salad and herbal vinaigrette dressing. The tuna is grilled over very high heat, very fast, leaving it raw in the centre. I realize that for many, this is an acquired taste. We did take the tuna back and cooked it over for you. I will make sure to explain it better in the menu as you brought it to my attention.

I am sorry that you got put-off by the 3 budgerigars we had in a cage. They were rescued from a small cage on the bottom of a shelf in a ware house in Trincity. We are building a aviary for them and they will be moving in shortly.

The bin that is tied to the back of the bar is not a rubbish bin, but a recycling container for aluminum. We are one of the few establishments in Trinidad trying to minimize our environmental footprint by recycling. I never saw it as unappealing as, for me, it symbolizes something good. However, we have taken in consideration your opinion and are building an enclosure for it. Thank you for pointing it out for us.

The “rubbish” under the decking was my 3,5-year old daughter’s finger paintings drying on a piece of plywood. Maybe not works of art for everyone, but they surely are in the eyes of a proud mother.

I am very sorry that you had a bad lunch experience with us. We will take in consideration everything said and do our best to improve.

Best Regards,
Malin Charles
Owner, Acajou Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Acajou Hotel is very beautiful.The perfect place for a romantic getaway. My only complaint; there was a female employee with dreadlocks which was not very courteous. All in all, I would highly recommend Acajou Hotel to anyone looking to enjoy a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is fantastic when you want to combine three things: boutique hotel (consists of only 5 houses of very good quality by T&T standard), being in nature (rainforest nearby and turtles nesting on the beach) and a beach in walking distance (albeit not as clean as we expected). Prices, also for food, are not a bargain, but a great experience. Mosquitos are a big issue there though (especially during the rain season)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

First of all we had no electricity when we arrived, about 10 min into our arrival electricity went and came back about 10 pm. We were promised a discount for our inconvinience, we recieved 100 on one room and 50 on the other room.
We were the only guest there.
Dinner experience was terriable:- menu offered Grill fish with rice and grapefruit salsa.
When i got my meal all i got was fish and rice with patchoi minus grapefruit salsa. or any salsa. When i asked the kitchen staff about the salsa. The answer was politely, sorry we dont have any. One of the guest that was with us got a button in their vegetables. My friend had to wait another half hour to get a new plate of food. which consisted of fish and rice with some spinach. No sauce or salsa.

Now if this was not enough in bad food experience. Breakfast was incl. in the price.
Breakfast arrived with a few day old bread and butter and 2 table spoon of jam for 6 of us.
margerine, juice, and coffee. With the price of the huts that were very simple and cheep to maintain, compared to the price we had to pay. Breakfast was a disappointment. We even had back up food in case of the unavailability of food, which unfortunately was destroyed due to the electricity being out.

After reading about the hotell it gave the impression that they had some class . To our amasement this was not the case. I do not recomend this hotell at all.

If you want to spend a lot of money and

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Guest.

We are terribly sorry that your stay with us wasn’t satisfactory.
It is important to us to maintain a high standard, and learning that your experience was less than perfect is very disappointing. Mishaps happens to the best of people and businesses, but there are no excuses and it is very unfortunate that it affected you in this way. I hope it didn’t cast a shadow over your remaining holiday.

I wish that you would consider visiting us again someday, giving us a chance to show you how truly amazing this place really is.

Best regards,
Malin Charles,
Owner, Acajou Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights to watch the turtles and do some hiking. The cottages are beautiful but they are not directly at the beach (this is about a 5 minute walk). They do have a view over the river. No airco in the cottages (but they have a ceiling fan).
Breakfast is good; dinner is pretty expensive and not that special. Location is (apart from not being directly at the beach) perfect. They have other hotels directly at the beach, but I would go to this one for the location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Beautiful, romantic very relaxing with most friendly staff. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere
21.7 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,063 reviews
33.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
25.5 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
33.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Property: Acajou Hotel
Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing