We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Private retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Footprints Eco Resort
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have been coming to footprints for 10 years,Its a very special place. Not for everyone but very safe and Beautiful we stay at the Monarch with a private pool the people in the village are the nicest people you will ever meet, I am now a Godmother to one little boy from the village, very cultural experience. Beautiful snorkaling the best I have seen. Tell the owner's you would like to walk to the village and meet the local people they will tell you the way. Always something to do or just relax in a outside swing Bed so peaceful, swinging outdoors We have gone with Adults and Then we took the children know we can not go with out them they love it. Highly recommend this vacation. The Kazanovicz

Room Tip: The Monarch its a private Villa
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaz047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Footprints Eco Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

I planned a surprise vacation for my boyfriend and I to visit Footprints. I booked the Sweetheart package at Villa Monarch over the weekend.
The website was so promising I could barely wait to hike and kayak and just have some alone time in this green setting.
The villa was unbelievably romantic and private with its own pool and jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. Our wooden deck was fitted with a swinging chair which we spent our mornings in just watching the sunrise. We were surrounded by trees and within that short stay spotted heron, tree frogs, squirrels, cocoricos (Tobago's native bird), and butterflies.
We were treated to beautiful dinners by their excellent Chef Cheryl-Ann one at the cocoa house restaurant and one at our room by candle light.
The walk down to the bay was a beautiful short stroll through the various trees, plants and flowers. The bay was gorgeous and from the lookout you can see the many schools of fish it shelters. Excellent for light snorkeling and kayaking.
The hotel also booked us a romantic sunset sailing off Pigeon Point with return transfers.
The staff were friendly and excellent in their dealings. The trip is absolutely worth every cent and I would recommend nature lovers and couples. I am already planning to visit again!

Room Tip: The Villa Monarch I find convenient with pool and jacuzzi right outside, no distraction, no neighbou...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Urvashi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

i absolutely loved my stay at footprints eco resort, the service was great,staff friendly and the food was out of this world...i think i put on a few pounds lol.
this was actually my second trip to footprints and believe me, it wont be my last!!!!
i would recommend footprints to anyone, its a great location away from everything and everyone, just you and that special person (if you go as couple) with lots of privacy in pvt pools and jacuczi. and the garden rooms are comfartable with a perfect view of the cocoa house resturant,the best view of the garden to relax with the sound of birds and the waves, the scent of fresh air, and the most amazing butterflies and birds that welcome you everyday
its the perfect getaway..........perfect!!!!

Room Tip: garden room has a gr8 view of the cocoa house resturant with pvt pool and patio
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lutchman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had been recommended by our good friends to check out Footprints Eco Resort in Tobago and shortly after seeing photos and stories of the place, my boyfriend and I jumped at the opportunity as soon as we both finally were able to book our long awaited time off. Travelling what was relatively a short distance from Canada we landed in Trinidad and took another, even shorter flight to Tobago where we were instantly hit with a wall of heat. (Travelling in October from Canada to Tobago requires some weather appropriate attire!) But really that was the only thing we could complain about our trip.
The lush greenery within winding roads up cliff sides were like real life photos out of a well known geographic magazine. Instant visual satisfaction!
All we really needed was a getaway from the usual suspects - no big hotels or over-sized pools near the most impressive beach or crowded city streets - so this trip proved to be everything we had hoped it would be.
The view from our room was (picture this) within a short distance the ocean water within large fruit trees, lots of greenery/flowers and a little road leading to the main dining area. Our room was simple and most welcoming, cozy and refreshing all at the same time. The staff were shy at first but by the evening it felt like we were with extended family.
Funny to think we might lose some weight on our trip seeing that it's so hot/humid in Tobago but quite the opposite, we were really impressed with the delicious food and drink offered at the Resort - we recommend trying the Native/Local breakfast, very fresh and tasty! Also try the LLB drink. They will explain what it is. My FAVOURITE.
Overall stay was absolutely relaxing and a great romantic getaway for those couples looking for the quiet away from the city life or the group of friends looking to make some amazing memories!
We highly recommend Footprints Eco Resort to anyone looking for an amazing relaxation oasis as well as we already have to all of our friends and family.
We will be returning to Footprints Eco Resort soon, this time with some more and new friends.

Room Tip: Book your room in advance if you have a preference of privacy. Villas are separated and fully furnis...
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiromiichida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hi,

I went to Footprints with my girlfriend. We rented the Tobago Monarch Villa for 3 nights. We arrived late night so It was difficult to figure out how was our villa. The manager took us up at the airport and drove us to the villa. All were welcoming.

We've just discovered the wonderful view the very next morning : just imagine the beautiful turquoise pool with 2 stages (regular + jacuzzi) in the front and in the background the ocean and the reef ! fabulous ! we enjoyed the pool and relaxing in the hanging bed outside so that we can admire the sightseeing from it.

We loved the privacy of our villa. We could not see the occupants of the other villas.

The 1st day someone from Footprints Resort recommended that we drive to the north of the island. We stopped at almost all the sightseeing, the view were wonderful, it was a nice trip. After this long day drive, we ate in the dining room under the stars. We pre-ordered a specialty from Trinidad and Tobago, I can't remember the name but it was a pork marinated with macaroni pie and red beans, the perfect amount of spiciness ! delicious !!! Everything was home made even the ice cream (peanut ... hummm)

The second day we rented the resort's jeep (brand new !). The help of the receptionist was really helpful/encouraging with the direction. Passed the first minutes when I had to learn driving on the left (I'm French) We drove to Argyle falls which I recommend ... a lot of fun.

The 3rd we rented equipments for scuba diving.

We enjoyed every moment, this is definitively a must I recommend !

Seb

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The "resort" is 45 minutes drive from the airport through poorly lit (no streetlights for long stretches) and very narrow (can't fit 2 cars side by side) roads. On the very brief positive side, the rep was accomodating in that he waited for our delayed flight then took us to the resort. He also made a trip into town for us to purchase ice. The "villas" themselves would be nice if they were ever maintained. They do not appear to be cleaned regularly. The bathroom curtains were mouldy, the entire place was dusty and grimy and there were many cobwebs. The bedsheets were dusty and dirty. The decorative cloth running along the roof and walls is stained and full of trapped bugs, both dead and alive. The bathroom smelled horribly. We saw huge roaches and a mouse INDOORS. Many of the lights were not working and the fan that was supposed to service one of the beds was not working. With the exception of one of the two bedrooms in the villa, it was very, very hot. There were not enough/powerful fans and there was no air conditioning to service the main area. The small air-conditioning unit to service the loft bedroom is not adequate and makes no sense since the lofts are not closed off. There is no privacy in the lofts either. The pools were dirty. The sides of the pools were slimy and they were full of bugs. A frog even jumped into one of them which shows that they aren't properly chemically treated. The ladder for the pool was not safe at all, it looked like it would fall apart at any moment. The jacuzzi was not working in one of the villas and the television wasn't working in the other. On top of all of this, the villas sway precariously with the slightest breeze. The narrow poles which form their base do not appear to be safe at all. There is no lighting on the roadway or path between the villas. At night, it is impossible to see without the aid of a powerful torchlight.

There is no visible security presence which is a major concern. There is no security booth at the entrance to the resort. There was an incident where people drove straight in up to our villa and asked us if this was the resort...

We did not expect a 5 star luxury resort, but hoped that it would at least be clean and relatively comfortable. It was neither. You are much better off finding accomodation elsewhere and arranging a tour to one of the many wonderful natural sights that Tobago can be proud of.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

When we were looking for a vacation spot in Tobago we were seeking some quiet and a place to unwind from the long transatlantic trip. Footprints fits that bill completely. The staff were waiting at the airport to take us to the resort on a drive through rural Tobago that is the equivalent of driving back through time. We rented the King of the Woods Villa which is very private and has its own pool and jacuzzi. The staff were very helpful and the manageress, Mia, very friendly. We also had an excellent and knowledgeable driver who was willing to take us wherever we wanted to go.
The food was excellent and sourced locally.
We understand that the resort is under new management and there is work being done on the resort. This does not interfere with the enjoyment of the facilities.
There are a few things that you need to note when booking this hotel/resort.
1. Don't expect 4 star or 5 star hotel facilities. This is a rural Toba go experience.
2. Be aware that there is refurbishment taking place and plan accordingly. The King of the Woods Villa is in need of some refurbishment to the bathrooms and the fixtures need updating. It added to the rustic nature of the place for us but some might find it off-putting. In fact I would say that the bathrooms could do with a complete refit.
3. There is set menu. Do not expect a wide range of dishes to choose from. The food is delicious, authentic and filling.
4. It is secluded and far from the major town and tourist hotspots. If you are looking for seclusion, you found it. If you are looking for hustle and bustle and excitement, look elsewhere.
All in all we found this experience very enjoyable. We liked the privacy and seclusion and the closeness to nature a lot. We plan to return in the future to see how things have developed and wish them success in their venture and hope they pursue the eco theme.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank awhhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culloden Bay
6.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
2.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
8.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
15.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
626 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Eco Resort

Address: Golden Lane | Colloden Bay Rd, Culloden Bay, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Culloden Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Culloden Bay
Price Range: £70 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Footprints Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footprints Eco-resort comprises 62 acres on Culloden Bay, home to the most pristine reef in Tobago. Accommodations include villas, rooms, suites and a Lovers Retreat all air-conditioned with jacuzzis and pools. The gardens and trails are home to numerous butterflies and birds. There is a sea front promenade with decks, salt-water pools and Jacuzzi. The newly built "The Tree of Life Spa" offers a full range of treatments. The Cocoa House Restaurant features a retracting roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Footprints Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Eco Hotel Culloden Bay
Footprints Eco Resort Tobago/Culloden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing