We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful group of people, in a wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful group of people, in a wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I spent a full week at Manta Lodge, and went diving with their dive shop every day I was there.

Note that anyone looking for a luxurious resort, or an active nightlife or obsequious staff won't find it here. Manta Lodge is a small, informal, family-run hotel. Speyside is quiet and relaxing. Trinis/Tobagians don't need to be ingratiating to tourists, as most of TT's revenue comes from Liquefied Natural Gas and Oil, not tourism.

However, if you are looking for genuinely friendly people, rest and relaxation and an undeveloped natural environment, Speyside and Manta Lodge are wonderful.

Rooms have AC; they don't have mini-bars or TVs. There is a TV, with Dish Satellite in the dining area. There is also wireless internet (us$5 per day) in the dining area which worked well.

I didn't rent a car for my trip. The staff handled airport transport for me, and there are some good restaurants available within walking distance. Other guests might want to rent a car to visit other local towns, or other natural sites.

In regards to the beach: Manta Lodge is across the road from a stony beach. The water there is clean and pleasant, and one could swim there with water shoes. One can walk or take a short drive to other, sandy beaches.

My room was spacious and clean, with a view and with sounds of the ocean. There were no electrical or plumbing problems during my visit, and the staff were attentive to my needs. The meals were local fare, filling and tasty. I am not a huge drinker, and found the selection of local beers to be adequate.

In regards to the diving: I am a new diver, and conveyed this to the dive shop staff. They were attentive and careful, and provided lots of guidance. The boat was adequate for us, and drinks/snacks were provided. The equipment I rented worked well. The area does have some currents, so that took a bit of getting used to. Dive sites are close to the dock and so a short boat ride away. The dives were spectacularly beautiful.

Not only am I recommending this to others, but I myself am trying to figure out how and when I can go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    50
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
42
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Driftwood, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

In spite of promising wireless internet, it was not available throughout our week-long stay. The coffee in the common area was hit and miss - some mornings it was the dregs of the previous day's coffee - cold and lifeless. Other mornings it was piping hot and accompanied by milk. The kitchen staff was unable to cook anything with cheese in it one day because the "cheese was locked in the office".

There is no swimming beach nearby, so this is really a diving lodge. If you rent a car you will have much more flexibility in visiting some beautiful beaches and seeing some really lovely countryside. Tobago is a very eye-catching destination.

The dive shop's gear leaves a great deal to be desired. If you're going diving, take or rent gear prior to going. We rented Manta Lodge gear for my partner, and gauge registered a depth of 5 feet the first day we dove. His regulator failed a couple of days later.

Overall, staff have a very very laissez-faire attitude, which could be charming if their infrastructure was in place and stable and they had some checklists designed for their kitchen staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qfactor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
270 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I traveled with friends to Tobago spending 5 nights at Manta Lodge. I'd have to say the best thing about this hotel is location and friendliness of staff. The dive shop owner Sean was very hospitable. Their food, although a bit on the pricy side for some of the dinners was exceptional, and actually very quick service compared to most every other place in Tobago. The town is small so you can walk everywhere, but do need a car if expect to go outside of town to water falls, other beaches, or Charlotteville. The rooms are large enough and all have a wonderful view of the ocean, as the hotel sits right up to it. The small balconies are nice as well. Rooms could have been a bit cleaner...seems like no one had cleaned in the corners and edges since the place was built, even though they did have daily housekeeping. The pool being right by the eating area was very nice. They have wi-fi available for a small charge and a small TV in main area that has full satellite. We were able to watch the NFL playoffs from that area, it was great! The dive shop staff and equipment was all top notch. Nice boats to dive from....still want to pack dramamine if get sea sick....gets a bit rough on the surface, even when coming to surface after dives. Great diving and tons of sea life....currents can be strong here....they say the best time to dive for clarity is around March, but January being the beginning of dry season was not bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Manta Lodge is a small establishment located a short walk from several restaurants and across the street from the ocean (not right on the ocean or beach). The rooms are adequate nothing fancy. Our room had some issues: hot water in shower was minimal for two people to shower without keeing the water at a trickle, there were bats that hung over our deck leaving their quano outside our patio door each morning. Sometimes the hotel staff would clean it up and other times it was ignored when they cleaned the room. The food in the restaurant was
ok - as soon as most of the other restaurants - but was priced slightly higher than the other restaurants. The bar was not well stocked. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We also dived with the operation located at the hotel. The staff was disorganized and not well-directed. Our group used the larger of the two dive boats and it was at capacity with our group. Their boat needs maintenance badly just like the hotel. The pier is not at the hotel so the equipment and people must be loaded into pickup trucks and transported to the pier but its only a 5 minute drive. All in all, I couldn't rate this higher than an average - for the hotel, the dive operation, the food and the location. There really isn't much to do in Speyside during the day or evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

Manta is one of the few places where I and many others have walked in and felt like we are home..Sean is probably the best Dive Master in the Caribbean and Clyde the most gentle man I have ever met. It does not get better than this folks..the diving is superb and atmosphere is just right. Can't wait to return. James

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesthebiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

poor resort and diving staff.. started with hard bed to squeeky bed. Charged for safe deposit box, nickle and dime operation. Food was fair at best with not enough for the group. Diving staff not safe with short fills and no communication between diver and group leader. Gear not taken care of and found fins on cameras. No rinse tanks for equipment. Boats poorly maintained with engines not working. Not enough staff to run dives safely.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdbdlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Manta Lodge is very disorganized. They actually entered rooms in the middle of the night to see which were occupied while they were trying to check in new guests. They took as long as 90 minutes to serve breakfasts of scrambled eggs and toast. I'd seen the place described as a luxury inn, but the rooms are really quite plain, though typical for a dive destination. In several rooms, there was a large mirror outside the bathroom, and a light switch for using the mirror, but no lights. Nor did it look like there ever had been a light. ???

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
0.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Ranking Guesthouse
Top Ranking Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Lodge

Property: Manta Lodge
Address: Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy 22 room property may be small, but it still features a number of 'big' amenities - the Green Moray Bar & Restaurant, soft sand beach, full service dive shop, freshwater swimming pool, reading nook with a multi-lingual lending library, endless hiking trails and plenty of room to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Manta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing