We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay & GREAT diving!”
Review of Manta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
huntington beach CA
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay & GREAT diving!”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The Manta Lodge is the perfect place for a diving vacation. Restaurant and pool are directly across the street from the beach. Great views and beach access. The diving? Incredible. The dive team at Manta Lodge is superb! The dive spots are full of life and beautiful corals. More fish than I've ever seen - amazing colors. Super friendly and accommodating staff in restaurant, hotel and dive center. I'd go back in a heartbeat. Plan for lots of dives and a few days to visit the rest of the island including the rain forest and waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaosuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    50
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
42
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Thanks to a great diving staff. They were patient when teaching us to dive and provided great instruction and guided dives. The variety of dives available here is just stunning....we got to dive several locations on reefs, but also rockier adventure dives at Giles, London Bridge and Sisters that were totally different. All were beautiful, but the best overall memory will be the night dive at Spiny Point with my younger son, Lucas...where he came to the surface, he said...'That was an amazing dive!"

Thanks to everyone --from dive instructors to hotel staff --from all of us for the fun, cameraderie, and memories.

Room Tip: Ask for pool and ocean view if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtL_pos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

If your looking for the Hilton, this aint it. It is a nice family run lodge thats great for divers. The other reviews about cleanliness are accurate, but if you have traveled in the Caribbean, you should expect things like dirt in the corners, bugs and bats. The hotel is in the same area as a bird sanctuary, so be prepared to hear the birds at all hours. The hotel is right on the street so expect some traffic noise, but it is not unbearable. The seating area in the lodge is limited, the only real place to sit if you have a group is around the pool or in the dining area. If its raining, your limited to the dining area. They have WiFi available if you need it. There are no TVs in the rooms, but there is a small TV in the Bar area that is conected to a Direct TV dish, so you can keep up on current events.
The rooms are adequate, beds varied between really hard and really soft. Rooms have A/C and the usual hotel furniture. Our first room had an A/C and water leak problem, but the staff had no problem getting us changed to a new room. Bathroom was average for a hotel room. Cleanliness was an issue though.
The food was really good. the cook staff did a great job for us. The coffee was an issue, coffee was usually made once and reheated until it was empty ( it was obvious when it was so concentrated and burnt the owner had the staff change it)
The dive operation was above average. The dive masters / instructors were attentive, and went out of their way to take us where we wanted to go. I have dove with many dive operations, and feel that they were among the best, safe and professional. Boats were adequate and their captains safe and helpful. We dove with Sean, Tigger and Marvin and had a good time. The diving here is advanced due to the unpredictable current so be prepared.
Not much of a beach, the hotel is located across the street from a sand / pebble beach, because of the current use caution swimming. There is a small stream / pond opposite the hotel that was a breeding ground for KILLER Mosquitos, bring the deet!
Speyside is a small fishing town, not much in the way of nightlife or bars, but most people come here to dive. There are a bunch of great local places to eat. Highly recommend trying them all, I highly recommend Jemmas and Bird Watchers.
If you want to see the rest of the Island, you will need to rent a car. We used a rental company from Speyside ( Top Ranking Auto Rental) and got screwed, the van had no breaks and when they finally went out we waited 2 hours for them to be fixed at a local shop on the other side of the island, then the transmission died on the trip back to the Hotel. Company offered no compensation and actually blew me off when I asked to speak to the owner. I wouldnt use them unless you have no option. I recommend test driving the car before you accept it. This was not the Hotels fault though.
Overall this is a nice Hotel / Lodge that has a good dive shop, good food and a decent friendly staff. Could be a real gem with just a little atention to detaIL by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I spent a full week at Manta Lodge, and went diving with their dive shop every day I was there.

Note that anyone looking for a luxurious resort, or an active nightlife or obsequious staff won't find it here. Manta Lodge is a small, informal, family-run hotel. Speyside is quiet and relaxing. Trinis/Tobagians don't need to be ingratiating to tourists, as most of TT's revenue comes from Liquefied Natural Gas and Oil, not tourism.

However, if you are looking for genuinely friendly people, rest and relaxation and an undeveloped natural environment, Speyside and Manta Lodge are wonderful.

Rooms have AC; they don't have mini-bars or TVs. There is a TV, with Dish Satellite in the dining area. There is also wireless internet (us$5 per day) in the dining area which worked well.

I didn't rent a car for my trip. The staff handled airport transport for me, and there are some good restaurants available within walking distance. Other guests might want to rent a car to visit other local towns, or other natural sites.

In regards to the beach: Manta Lodge is across the road from a stony beach. The water there is clean and pleasant, and one could swim there with water shoes. One can walk or take a short drive to other, sandy beaches.

My room was spacious and clean, with a view and with sounds of the ocean. There were no electrical or plumbing problems during my visit, and the staff were attentive to my needs. The meals were local fare, filling and tasty. I am not a huge drinker, and found the selection of local beers to be adequate.

In regards to the diving: I am a new diver, and conveyed this to the dive shop staff. They were attentive and careful, and provided lots of guidance. The boat was adequate for us, and drinks/snacks were provided. The equipment I rented worked well. The area does have some currents, so that took a bit of getting used to. Dive sites are close to the dock and so a short boat ride away. The dives were spectacularly beautiful.

Not only am I recommending this to others, but I myself am trying to figure out how and when I can go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

In spite of promising wireless internet, it was not available throughout our week-long stay. The coffee in the common area was hit and miss - some mornings it was the dregs of the previous day's coffee - cold and lifeless. Other mornings it was piping hot and accompanied by milk. The kitchen staff was unable to cook anything with cheese in it one day because the "cheese was locked in the office".

There is no swimming beach nearby, so this is really a diving lodge. If you rent a car you will have much more flexibility in visiting some beautiful beaches and seeing some really lovely countryside. Tobago is a very eye-catching destination.

The dive shop's gear leaves a great deal to be desired. If you're going diving, take or rent gear prior to going. We rented Manta Lodge gear for my partner, and gauge registered a depth of 5 feet the first day we dove. His regulator failed a couple of days later.

Overall, staff have a very very laissez-faire attitude, which could be charming if their infrastructure was in place and stable and they had some checklists designed for their kitchen staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qfactor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I traveled with friends to Tobago spending 5 nights at Manta Lodge. I'd have to say the best thing about this hotel is location and friendliness of staff. The dive shop owner Sean was very hospitable. Their food, although a bit on the pricy side for some of the dinners was exceptional, and actually very quick service compared to most every other place in Tobago. The town is small so you can walk everywhere, but do need a car if expect to go outside of town to water falls, other beaches, or Charlotteville. The rooms are large enough and all have a wonderful view of the ocean, as the hotel sits right up to it. The small balconies are nice as well. Rooms could have been a bit cleaner...seems like no one had cleaned in the corners and edges since the place was built, even though they did have daily housekeeping. The pool being right by the eating area was very nice. They have wi-fi available for a small charge and a small TV in main area that has full satellite. We were able to watch the NFL playoffs from that area, it was great! The dive shop staff and equipment was all top notch. Nice boats to dive from....still want to pack dramamine if get sea sick....gets a bit rough on the surface, even when coming to surface after dives. Great diving and tons of sea life....currents can be strong here....they say the best time to dive for clarity is around March, but January being the beginning of dry season was not bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Manta Lodge is a small establishment located a short walk from several restaurants and across the street from the ocean (not right on the ocean or beach). The rooms are adequate nothing fancy. Our room had some issues: hot water in shower was minimal for two people to shower without keeing the water at a trickle, there were bats that hung over our deck leaving their quano outside our patio door each morning. Sometimes the hotel staff would clean it up and other times it was ignored when they cleaned the room. The food in the restaurant was
ok - as soon as most of the other restaurants - but was priced slightly higher than the other restaurants. The bar was not well stocked. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We also dived with the operation located at the hotel. The staff was disorganized and not well-directed. Our group used the larger of the two dive boats and it was at capacity with our group. Their boat needs maintenance badly just like the hotel. The pier is not at the hotel so the equipment and people must be loaded into pickup trucks and transported to the pier but its only a 5 minute drive. All in all, I couldn't rate this higher than an average - for the hotel, the dive operation, the food and the location. There really isn't much to do in Speyside during the day or evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
7.8 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Lodge

Property: Manta Lodge
Address: Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy 22 room property may be small, but it still features a number of 'big' amenities - the Green Moray Bar & Restaurant, soft sand beach, full service dive shop, freshwater swimming pool, reading nook with a multi-lingual lending library, endless hiking trails and plenty of room to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Manta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Hotel Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing